We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of OldHouse Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
OldHouse Hostel
Ranked #3 of 42 Tallinn B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great location right in the centre of the city.
The beds were fairly comfortable and the room was warm and clean.
Helpful and friendly staff,
Its not anything fancy but its good value for money and meets all basic needs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoddersGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 199 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were group of 15 and rested 3 flats with the same entrance. The flats were clean with all the necessary tools. One of the flats had a sauna & jacuzzi. Location was in the center of center. Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included. Would highly recommend the place.

Room Tip: If you are a group of people Kinga 4,5 and 6 have a same entrance and the whole group can enjoy as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pirjo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the dorm for 1 night. The location is great - very walkable to virugate and old town - town hall square.
Staff decent - answer all questions and help u with stuff - but couldn't give me tips on good places to eat :(
It is very affordable too
I stayed in the dorms and they have squeezed six tiny twin size beds into one room
No lockers - that's the first time ever :( - except u can leave ur valuables at the front desk
The double rooms - though tiny look nice and comfortable - I just saw one
Definitely give the dorm a miss

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed in a two private with shared bath with my friend. The location was great, walking distance to everything. The staff worked 24 hrs and had to let you in front door every time, which made me wonder a little about safety. Breakfast was extra so we didn't get it. Wifi was free and worked great on 1st floor, not so great in our room on 2nd, better in hallway on 2nd. No activities planned to meet other travelers. I asked a few questions about sights an the staff wasn't well informed. All in all ok place to stay but probably better if you had a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gijadenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in two different apartments with two bedrooms, first was comfortable contemporary well equipped, second was old fashioned, very warm and very noisy at night.
Breakfeast was excellent as was Dinner in the Restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cluainti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I LOVED this hostel and would visit again and again. If you're a no-fuss traveler, its absolutely perfect with very helpful, cleanly staff on-hand 24 hours a day, everything you need in the kitchen, cozy and comfortable rooms and convenient location to everything in Old Town and the sea port. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags, just ask for a convenient room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lrcarey_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A lot of things about this hostel were really great - the location was central to the ferry terminals, the center of Tallin's Old Town and to the major shopping centers. The decorations were nice and homey (I can't help but like a place with William Morris wallpaper) and the rooms were clean. The staff were also very friendly and someone was on duty 24 hours to answer the door.
I do think that it could have used a couple more bathrooms. There were only two toilet/shower rooms on each floor, so you might have to wait a while if two people are taking a shower. (Maybe some of the private rooms had their own bathrooms, I'm not sure.) I also felt as though the dorm could have used a bit more privacy for each bed. There was no lock on the door and the beds were just next to each other in the room. This would have been fine except that I was the only woman in the room for a few nights and it felt a little awkward.
Overall I had a nice experience and it was very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a few friends I'd say just go for a private room and split the cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Isobel206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#16 of 86 in Tallinn
769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tabinoya
Tabinoya
#1 of 42 in Tallinn
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Monk's Bunk
The Monk's Bunk
#1 of 119 in Tallinn
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knight House
Knight House
#2 of 119 in Tallinn
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
16eur Old Town Munkenhof Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OldHouse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OldHouse Hostel

Address: Uus 26, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tallinn
Price Range: $12 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — OldHouse Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OldHouse hostel lies in Tallinn's Old Town and provides lodgings for very welcome visitors of all ages. The hostel suits travellers of all ages and people on business trips looking for economical lodgings. The hostel has a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable common-room with a TV, a computer room, parking and free wireless internet connection. The hostel has 12 rooms, which all together accommodate 35 people. The hostel has two floors and on both of them there are two shower rooms with separate entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your OldHouse Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldhouse Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing