We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and basic gesthouse”
Review of OldHouse Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
OldHouse Hostel
Ranked #2 of 42 Tallinn B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We slept 2 days with my wife in the OldHouse Gesthouse on the beginning of March. The location is ideal in the heart of the old town. The Gesthouse is binded with the homonymous hostel, where the single help desk is located, 100 m away. So there is no help desk at the Gesthouse, what is a little disappointing for a gesthouse.

Concerning the rooms, they are firmly old fashion, as well as the WC and the 2 shower stalls in the same washroom... The kitchen is nice, the heating is ok, and the shared space is very clean, which is a good point when there is much snow outside.

At last, the twin rooms are very little. But the price is very competitive for this location. The hostel is not much more expensive (2€ more), and might be better.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a private room, take the hostel rather than the gesthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nobeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 192 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a perfect place for those who don't spend a lot of time in bed, want to live in the center and still travel on budget. 5 min. walk to the main square and supermarket, 10 min. walk to the train station and 15 min. to the ferry terminal.
Friendly staff, clean toilet/shower rooms, free coffee and tea, good kitchen.

If you need complete silence at night - do not stay here!

Room Tip: Beware that twin rooms on the ground floor face the cobblestone street with car and people traffic a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aleksey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed in a double room for 5 nights for 150 euros approx. The room was large and very warm. We got given an electric oil heater which we could use at our own discretion. The room was clean and bed linen was changed every 3 days approx. The only problem with this room is that it is next to the lounge where the communal area is. There have been no major problems with noise during our stay but I can foresee the problems this room can have on light sleepers, especially during peak season with younger guests about. Apart from that I cannot fault the room. The toilets are very clean and are cleaned by the staff every 1-2 hours. The staff are friendly and approachable.

You have to leave your key at reception on your way out of the hostel. The reception is 24 hours and so we found no problems in getting into the hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazzarini007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you value independence and privacy, these apartments are wonderful. We stayed in Vene 21. Our guide took us there from the reception, showing us several of the local attractions we may wish to visit. She booked us into a restaurant when we asked her to, booked us a taxi to the airport, and arranged a visit into the closed Town Hall for us. The apartment had an en-suite bathroom with hot shower, a large open plan living area with a comfortable sofa and all the kitchen appliances we could need, and a large bedroom with a comfortable bed and clean linen. The heating worked well and kept a comfortable atmosphere. The wallpaper was flowery and the place would not be to everyone's taste, but it was a home away from home, a base for us to see the city from and be comfortable in. The cleaner came in and cleaned and changed towels and linen. Old House knew we were onhoneymoon, and left us a gift and their congratulations, which we thought was wonderfully personal service. We were greeted and made to feel valued throughout our whole trip, nothing was too much to ask for. However, if you are looking for a sparkly white travelodge style hotel, this is not the place for you. It is ideal for people who like B&B's and staying in apartments. Also the whole trip only cost us £160 for 2 of us for 5 days, very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hostel is OK but you have to keep it in mind that reception is not 24 or 27 hours continually.
When I came back to the hostel to get my baggage before heading for bus terminal, there was no person in the hostel and I have waited outside about 25 mins to get my baggage. Eventually I couldn NOT make it to the bus terminal so I had to buy another bus ticket, I had to pay double... because I had no idea the door would be closed so I could not change time or anything. and I had to wait for another bus later the evening so I had to wait more and will arrive in Riga very late... The bus ticket fee would not be refundable, nor the hostel will pay for me.
I trusted the hotel, or reception was 24 hours. If the receptioinist may go out for some time, I hope they would not say out loud about 24 hours reception service so that I could let them know when I would arrive to take my baggage.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hiroko523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in July as part of a big trip we did while we were living in Germany. The people at the reception were friendly and the reception area was very nice. We thought that our room was in this particular building (we had seen it on Ghost Hunters International), and I was very excited...until we were walked back down a street we had already gone on and to this big gate in the wall. She opened all the doors (two to get into the apartment, and one through the big gate) and took us in to where we were staying. It was nice and big and I liked the layout, which included a kitchen that had everything you needed if you wanted to make lunch and dinner for yourself. The bed was comfortable, as well as the furniture. We thoroughly enjoyed the location of the apartment because we were a short walk from everything and the area we were in was not noisy.

That's about it for the good stuff. The room was very old, and the shower was kind of moldy. The whole apartment smelled musty, and when we got home we had to wash everything we had brought with us in our luggage because the smell of the apartment seeped into it. The gate actually never locked, and I had a lot of problems opening the doors. My husband, however, did not. The courtyard you walk through to get to the apartment is old and kind of creepy, so I didn't feel comfortable while outside of the room and in that area. We liked the fact it was cheap after the prices we were paying at other hotels we had stayed at on our trip, but we were very disappointed because we were expecting a place that was romantic and looked like the pictures on their website. If you are looking for a romantic spot, it is not in their apartments, that's for sure.

Overall, the place where we laid our heads down at night was okay. We enjoyed the city and Tallinn has become one of our favorite European cities we have been to. Stay here if you don't really care much about the room itself and its not a part of the destination if that makes sense. Even though I can't rate this hotel as among the best out there, I can definitely say that about Tallinn.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building. Maybe those rooms are better because we would have liked to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dms200912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I sayed there in mid August for 2 nights, the room no. 3 on the ground floor was tiny, with two low beds, with narrow passage between, small table, chair and a stand, no wardrobe or anything like whatsoever, the windows were looking directly to the street, so opening it without people peeping in - impossible. Kitchen was clean and ok. there were two toilets with showers for 6 rooms. Nice and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#16 of 86 in Tallinn
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tabinoya
Tabinoya
#1 of 42 in Tallinn
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OldHouse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OldHouse Hostel

Address: Uus 26, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tallinn
Price Range: $11 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — OldHouse Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OldHouse hostel lies in Tallinn's Old Town and provides lodgings for very welcome visitors of all ages. The hostel suits travellers of all ages and people on business trips looking for economical lodgings. The hostel has a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable common-room with a TV, a computer room, parking and free wireless internet connection. The hostel has 12 rooms, which all together accommodate 35 people. The hostel has two floors and on both of them there are two shower rooms with separate entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your OldHouse Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldhouse Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing