We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go near it!!”
Review of Olevi Residents

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olevi Residents
Ranked #62 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed August 22, 2011

First impressions of hotel was very good, olde worldly and quaint but don't judge this review on this first sentence!!. When we arrived at 11pm we were offered two rooms but also asked if we would like to look at the suite which would be suitable for all 4 of us. That sounded great as I had emailed to ask if it was possible to have adjoining rooms or at least rooms that were very close. We are 4 ladies in our early 60's and I made it very clear that our request was for twin rooms. When we went to the suite it was rather quaint! that word again! They were offering us this room for all 4 but there was only 3 beds, certainly they were doubles!! . The receptionist insisted it was suitable for 4 people till I said would you like your mother to have to share a bed with another woman!!! Anyway there was only three of everything in the room, towels etc. So we decided we better look at the other rooms on offer. After descending a narrow spiral staircase with our luggage we walked through the service area of the restaurant, which had a dirty threadbare carpet on the floor. We arrive at the room that I had the key for and it wasn't too bad, it had two windows which went out on to a corridor and a fan. That fan was an definately essential (I am sure I read some where that it had aircon. NO definately not!)and we had it on at all times and of course we never saw day light. We were only there for 2 nights so thought OK! My other 2 friends went to their room which was at least one floor down underground into the basement. Blimey when they opened the door they thought they had a key to a monks cell, the room was very small and had NO windows. This room was all of our worst nightmare. Back up to the reception desk and asked the girl for another room. She informed us that the hotel was fully book and it was impossible! So we suggested that we got the use of the suite for 2 of us. That was impossible as they needed it for a family. This was strange as it was midnight and we had been offered the room. After a lot of wrangling and cajoling Natalie, the night receptionist gave in but they would have to move in the morning Ok. We accepted and in the morning they did have to move but were given a fairly pleasant room which surely was available the night before. We never saw Natalie again so hope she didn't lose her job because she gave in to us, she certainly seemed very worried what her boss would say. Met her boss the next morning very unpleasant woman in fact, not one of the staff could raise a smile.
Anyone with mobility issues would not be able to get about this hotel.
Only plus point was that the breakfasts were quite good.
I know their are some people that think these reports are not genuine but I can assure you this one is and as far as I am concerned this hotel was awful but fortunately we were only there for 2 nights

Room Tip: I am sure any request would just be ignored
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lipneylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 362 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

We had booked a room a month or two in advance on booking.com. When we arrived at the hotel the bored woman at reception claimed we did not have a reservation. When we asked her to look at the reservations again, she sighed and said again that our name is not to be found. When then asked to asked to get a computer to show her our confirmation. To our big surprise there was an e-mail sent the day before, that we had not read, that our booking had been cancelled due to some problems with the credit card. We know that there is nothing wrong with our card. The unfriendly woman behind the counter claimed that they did not have any avalaible rooms.

We then got help from a friendly woman at Booking Estonia to find another, she told us that this happens often with the same hotel. They sell cheaper rooms on the internet and if they notice that they can sell the same room later for a higher price to somebody else, they cancel the cheaper booking for some made up reason. The woman at Booking Estonia said that they had had somebody there the very same day, that had also said that Olev had cancelled their booking a couple of days before because they claimed there was something wrong with the credit card. She also showed us that on the internet Olevi Hotel said the had available rooms (though the woman at the hotel claimed they were full), but the same room that we had booked now cost more than the double.

So please, avoid this hotel! Seems to be run by dishonest and unfriendly people.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank flounder01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Beware! This place is a wolf in sheeps clothes. From the outside it looks quaint and cosy. It still is when you get to the the front desk. But then you make your decent into the lower levels where we stayed. We were not told up front about the ' the bunker area' . And of course the hotel was 'fully booked'. So no other rooms in the hotel.

Visualize this! A closed off room about 30 feet underground, no windows, no airco, no fan. Only a narrow air shaftt that fortunately kept on pumping oxygen into our room. I kept listening to it as I tried to sleep, which was not easy for the temperature kept going up as the night crept by. Did Dante stay here when he wrote inferno?

But here is the real kicker. My wife, during that ominous night , started wondering about our chances of surviving a fire in this dungeon. I tried to comfort her telling her about the fire exit only a 10 yards down the corridor. When she asked whether it was open I laughed and went to show her that off course it was. What hotel would lock it's emergency exit. Guess what. IT WAS LOCKED!!! This is one of these places you see on CNN after the scorched bodies are removed.

I must admit, they did unlock the door when we demanded for them to do so.

Do your selves a favor folks. When you see this place...Think of Dionne Warwick and just...'Walk on by'.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MichelWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This little gem is in the most perfect position in a quiet part of the old town with no traffic allowed - ideal for walking and sightseeing - I took my 90 year old mother and we managed with no transport. Family run and full of antiques and old and quirky. We were given a uite with sitting room!! Very reasonable and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

With my partner I visited Tallinn in June 2011. A reservation was made and confirmed by Olevi Residents for our stay, back in January 2011. They informed us 2 weeks before our trip to Tallinn that we could not stay because of "reconstruction work" and did not help with alternative accommodation. While in Tallinn we went to look at this place...which was open for business as usual and had no reconstruction work underway. On enquiry they offered accommodation for 2 people at a higher price than had originally been quoted to us.We certainly would not recommend this place to other visitors to Tallinn.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yorkshiretraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We booked a double room for period 6 -13 June 2011 back in January at a price of 70 Euros per night. We received confirmation e mail telling us our booking was OK. Then 3 weeks beore we were due to arrive, we received a very curt e mail telling us our bookng was cancelled due to 'reconstructon work.' We were given no advice or assistance in booking alternative accommodation. We eventually booked altenative accommodation at L'Ermitage Hotel. Out of curiosity, we visited Olevi Residents on 9 June . There was no sign of any reconstruction work whatsoever. We then asked if there were rooms available and were told that double rooms were available at 103 Euros. We strongly suspect that Olevi Residents did not honour our original booking because they decided to re-sell our room at a higher price. This is shabby and deceitful behaviour of the worst kind. I strongly advise potential visitors to think again before booking with Olevi Residents.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank paulholtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Staying here at this very moment, and keen to let fellow travellers know what this place is all about...dissappointing.
Booked this place using the Lonely Planet, the description given in the guide book couldn't have been further from the truth. Dated, 1980's throw back decor and fittings. Threadbare, stained carpet, in a room on the 6th floor (no lift or fire escape), with a velux sklight with a very pleasant view. However, no curtains or black out blind which is crucial here at this time of the year - very long days!!! Had to drape a navy blue bedspread across the sklight. What with the dodgy put you beds for the kids that were provided (one broke and the other we couldn't use), the room ended up looking like a squat or dingey bedsit. Breakfast was ok, but nothing to write home about.
All in all, Tallinn is a beautiful place, but skip this little hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mushermadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#42 of 86 in Tallinn
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Olav Hotel
St Olav Hotel
#75 of 86 in Tallinn
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#56 of 86 in Tallinn
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#35 of 86 in Tallinn
664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#34 of 86 in Tallinn
995 reviews
0.7 mi away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#77 of 86 in Tallinn
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olevi Residents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olevi Residents

Address: Olevimaegi 4, Tallinn 10123, Estonia (Formerly Rixwell Olevi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: $48 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olevi Residents 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Olevi Hotel is located in the heart of Old Tallinn, in walking range of the legendary church of St. Oleviste, Town Hall Square, Maritime Museum and much more valuable city sightseeing places. The location of the hotel is very suitable for travellers – the Passenger Port and the Railway station are close to the hotel. The building is a great example of 14th-century architecture; its unique design is the best choice for those who are thrilled to sense history in the centre of modern city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Olevi Residents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olevi Residents Tallinn
Olevi Residents Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing