We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in authentic building”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olevi Residents

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olevi Residents
Ranked #55 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in authentic building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

Olevi residents is located right in the center of Old Tallinn. It hosts old romantic building and rooms are decorated to emphasize this. Breakfast was quite ok, but nothing extraordinary. Staff is polite and heedful of your needs. Prices are small. Generally I can recommend this hotel for visiting, but it should also be taken into account that there are a lot of other good hotels in Tallinn which play up the same old times theme.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tellivais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    87
    85
    49
    46
See reviews for
61
131
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

Good rooms. Odd decor but that seems the norm in Tallinn to be honest. Comfy beds. Lots of noise at night though if you are in the front rooms. The back rooms however have no wifi.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_in_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

Very conveniently situated for Old Town Square and surrounding area. Room and bathroom very nicely decorated and clean but had no windows. Reception at ground level, dining room and bedrooms are downstairs, several flights to our room, and there is no lift. Food good. Staff very surly.
I would recommend this hotel but with reservations.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank mah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

Chose the hotel because of excellent situation to the old town and an interesting website but that was about all. The room was small and pokey in the basement down what seemed like hundreds of stairs. There was no room for any luggage so in the end we put our bags on the window ledge. A reasonanble bathroom with shower but no shower curtain, not concerned about modesty but just to stop anything you brought in with you getting wet. No where to put a typical tourists rubbish and we even came back one evening to find the room hadn't been serviced at all.

The hotel advertised friendly reception staff but the for one we dealt with even a simple question was too much effort. We supposed it was too hard to break off from the internet. We grudgingly admit that Wi Fi was good.

Food was a typical buffet of hot ( which weren't!)and cold items but bland and tasteless.

Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WearyTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

We stated at this hotel for two nights June 7-8. We had to lug up our luggage ourselves for five flights. The hotel has no elevator and busboy help is now and then. The beds are soft twins. The rooms are plain, but quite. The breakfast buffet has cereals hot and cold and hard boiled and scrambled eggs. Most of the rest of the food was not what an American would be used to. Tallin is beautiful with many charming outdoor restaurants. Visit the Art Museum it is well worth it. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

We had read the other reviews in advance, so we knew about rooms being located in the basement - anyway, we hoped for the best and a window to the courtyard...
As it turned out, our room was located not one, but two stairs down and had no windows. Room standard was quite good, but still it felt like a cave-like dungeon. The fire exit signs were a joke leading you through a couple of corridors until you faced a sign pointing the way you just came!
Sure, we could have asked for another room upstairs, but the prospect of moving the bagage up 4-5 stairs on a narrow spiral staircase wasn't inviting either. Besides, it was only for two nights.
We've stayed on budget hotels all over Europe - including some tattered fire traps, but never did we encounter a room without windows. It should not be sold without a very clear description of the conditions, especially if the hotel pretends to be 3 or 4 even star standard.
Except for the missing windows, our room was OK, although a fridge and a boiler would have been welcome. TV set carried 80+ channels including BBC World, CNN & Eurosport. And the bathroom had a nice big tub. Breakfast was very good too (although one morning it was delayed for 1 hour 15 min).
On the plus side the hotel definitely benefits from it's location in the old city - just 200 meters from the old town square and within walking distance of most major attractions.

  • Liked — The location in the middle of old town is excellent
  • Disliked — The room was a dungeon without windows
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnFrode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

I agree with al reviews that the staff are generally unfriendly. There was one exception. But it could be a cultural thing as most Estonians are like this. It doesn't bother me.

The stairs bit is true but this hotel is in teh old town. If you want to stay in the old town, the choices are not many and the hotels are made up of converted medieval houses. Putting a lift in is not an option. I was down only a couple of flights so it didn't bother me.

The room is a step up from a hostel (I booked this on hostelbookers) with a decent TV and large bathroom. The TV actually ahd a good choice of channels. No storage though and no fridge. But it was cheap and the location couldn't be better,


If coming from the airport, it's only 100EEK by cab so well worth it.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Staff and rom facilities
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Hemingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#46 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#39 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Olav Hotel
St Olav Hotel
#54 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olevi Residents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olevi Residents

Property: Olevi Residents
Address: Olevimaegi 4, Tallinn 10123, Estonia (Formerly Rixwell Olevi Hotel)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olevi Residents 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Olevi Hotel is located in the heart of Old Tallinn, in walking range of the legendary church of St. Oleviste, Town Hall Square, Maritime Museum and much more valuable city sightseeing places. The location of the hotel is very suitable for travellers – the Passenger Port and the Railway station are close to the hotel. The building is a great example of 14th-century architecture; its unique design is the best choice for those who are thrilled to sense history in the centre of modern city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olevi Residents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olevi Residents Tallinn
Olevi Residents Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing