We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Tatari 53

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tatari 53
Ranked #72 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This hotel is a good value and 15-minutes from the old town (on bus and tram line). The rooms are small, but reasonable. The breakfast buffet is good, and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmoliver0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 107 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for only two nights but were a little disappointed. The staff were extremely friendly and spoke perfect English. However when we reached our room we found it was a little grubby around the edges. In short it could have done with a jolly good clean. There were no coffee making facilities in the room food and drinks were only available during breakfast hours. The toilet and sink were clean but the bathroom was very dated. We found the room extremely hot and the bedding far too small to cover two adults. When we asked for a second pillow the staff were very helpful but couldn't find pillow cases! It cost 1 euro to book a taxi with reception to go to the airport. Breakfast was fine and the walk into the old town was short. We enjoyed our bread but would recommend you book a different hotel. On the plus side it was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This hotel is clean and safe with nice staff and a sufficient breakfast. And it's cheap. It's a 10-15 minute walk through an industrial/business area to reach the scenic old town, and the hotel is located behind an office block and next to some old warehouses. It is not a pretty area, but felt safe. The hotel is very basic, but clean and pleasant enough. There was plenty of hot water, clean sheets, windows that open, and the buffet breakfast was fine. If you can afford a place in the old town it will make your trip more memorable, but if you need a cheap base to explore Tallinn, this hotel will serve you fine. They also provide parking, which is probably not available in the old town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily2sticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

This hotel offers incredible value, very affordable and very comfortable, if perhaps a little basic. It is about 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre and is easy to find. It is located off the main street in a courtyard but it is signposted. The entrance is off the main street and quiet so should be kept in mind if this is a concern, but I felt very safe and wouldn't imagine anyone having any problems. There isn't much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel but there are bars and restaurants a small distance away from the hotel on the main road to the city centre and also a 24 hour supermarket which came in very handy. All things considered, a very good location.

The hotel itself was very quiet, I never saw any other guests during my stay but it was March. I never took breakfast so can't comment on that. The wifi connection was excellent. The TV had a decent choice of English language channels as well as others in Estonian, Russian, Finnish and German. The rooms were well sized, the beds were very comfortable and the toilets were adequate with spacious showers. Cleanliness freaks may complain about a bit of dust but I was quite happy with the room. There is also a maid service, although on my first day my room wasn't made up. The bar downstairs consists of a fridge with various drinks including alcohol with seating in the lobby area.

Some of the staff where friendlier than others but generally I felt welcome. When arriving at the hotel I was asked for payment despite presenting an Octopus Travel voucher but this confusion was quickly resolved.

There were a few minor quibbles, but these felt trivial given the excellent value the hotel offers. Those looking for a comfortable but basic room at an excellent price in a decent location should definitely consider this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buranokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

The hotel is hidden in a back-yard, which makes it very quiet and ensures enough safe parking lots. It's located some 20 minutes of walking from old town, which is ok, but the location itself is a little inconvenient as there are very few bars/restaurants nearby.
The service is absolutely willing to help in every situation.
During my stay (5 nights) the breakfast has been exactly the same, every single morning, which was pretty boring.
There's wi-fi internet connection, but it's only available on the ground floor, which is not very comfortable.
Overall, I'd stay at this hotel again if back in town.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ján S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Straight away, I noticed that the overall quality of the hotel’s infrastructures were lower than advertised, without even mentioning the situation, much longer distance from the centre than advertised. But the real problem was that after checking in to the room I found out that the room was not properly cleaned (in particular, clearly visible dirty traces and even hairs in the beds). I reported this to the reception and they gave me another room. The problem is that in the other room there was exactly the same problem. Instead of fixing the problem, the receptionist told me that they don’t want to disturb the cleaners because they are already gone (it was around 2pm), instead they will call my agent and tell that they were not able to provide me with a room and I’ll be refunded. Imagine my surprise when in a couple of days I received a mail from my agent telling that I’ll be charged the cancellation fees! I called the agent and they told that the hotel told them that I refused the room for no reason... Very bad experience, please avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cvs_fif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2008

It is a very decent hotel with good rooms, good breakfast and nice and friendly staff. As others said it is about 15 minutes walking of the center. The area of the hotel is not so good. There are not many places to eat, you will have to walk always a little to find something. But in general it's a good choice to stay for not much money.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magictrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
3.3 mi away
Dzingel
Dzingel
#76 of 86 in Tallinn
197 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dorell Hotel
Dorell Hotel
#55 of 86 in Tallinn
78 reviews
2.7 mi away
Susi Hotel
Susi Hotel
#46 of 86 in Tallinn
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Tahetorni Hotell
Tahetorni Hotell
#53 of 86 in Tallinn
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Euphoria Hostel
Euphoria Hostel
#47 of 86 in Tallinn
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lillekula Hotel
Lillekula Hotel
#69 of 86 in Tallinn
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tatari 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatari 53

Address: Tatari 53, Tallinn 10134, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: $44 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tatari 53 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tatari 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tatari 53 Tallinn
Tatari 53 Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing