We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economy - but full service”
Review of Economy Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Economy Hotell
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed two nights here as our company went to Tallinn for a seminar. Travelling on a budget calls for good deals and we got a very good offer from this hotel.
It is situated right outside the city wall but in Tallinn centre everything is within walking distance. The old town is a 5-minute walk away from the hotel.
The hotel appears to be very basic but it has everything you need. The breakfast buffet is large and is prepared in a small-ish dining room. At the reception you can buy various sundries (drinks, snacks) and souvenirs.
The rooms vary in size - my room was large and faced the street, however the level of street noise is very low. The room was clean.
The staff were very service-minded and easy-going.
All in all this is a hotel to recommend if you look for value-for-money with no real compromises.

Room Tip: Room no 313 is large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nils Holm Jørge... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Nils Holm Jørge... E!

Thank you and your group fro staying in Economy hotel and thank you for your review.

We are happy to read that you found our hotel with good price and perfect location.
breakfast buffee has everything that you need in the morning. So I hope it was good for others also.
Our hotel has 40 different sizes room- something for everybody.
I forwarded your good words about our staff- we alays try to do our best.

We are looking forward to hear from you again.

Best regards,
Leelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 783 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is excellent for the price, especially if you book early. Very simple, well managed and in a perfect location for exploring the old city. The rooms are basic but very clean and the staff are super friendly and extremely helpful. There is some noise from the railway station but no late night party noise like you get in the old town centre. I had no problems with the Internet ( which is free ) and although the walls between the rooms are thin it's not the kind of place that gets a late night party crowd. While the old town is the big attraction don't forget to explore this side of the city . You might be surprised by some of the local cafes and the quality of the food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pbombastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear pbombastic!

Thank you for staying in Economy hotel and for your review.
We are really glad to read that you found our hotel excellent for this price.
I will forward your good words about our staff.
It is always intresting to have a little trip outside the main tourist attractions- It is good that you find your way to have a look at it.

We are looking forward to hear from you.

Best regards,
Leelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just by the bus and tram and station it is easy to get around. Rooms are clean and tidy. We had to close the windows at night because the trams start early but otherwise it was fine. Free buffet breakfast included with my booking.
Market over the road every morning selling food was handy and supermarket at the next tram stop. The staff were great except for one miserable one on reception. WiFi did not work in the room though.
Single women may not want to walk back to the hotel alone as it is a bit deserted in the dead of night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daya101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Daya101!

Thank you for staying in Economy Hotel and for your review.
We are happy to read that you found our location perfect.
The Russians Market have this Soviet Union taste- it can be very imteresting. Glad you liked it.
Thank you on behalf of our staff. We are always trying to do our best.
The area around the hotel is Tallinn´s fastest growing region, so maybe next time you can visit our city it is totally different.

We are looking forward to hear from you again.

Best regards,
Leelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Cheapest hotel during our stay in Estonia thanks to an early booking.

Rooms are clean, even have a TV. Nice staff, the helped us with all our questions (you even can send them an email with an pdf and they print it for gree) and prepare you a nice coffee in the morning.

Has free parking, but I recommend to return the car since in Tallin there is no need for it.

Since check in is at 14:00hrs, you can leave your stuff at the reception, no extra cost.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear adrima!

Thank you for your stay in Economy Hotel and for your review.
We are really happy to read that you found our hotel as top quality for money.
I will tell your nice words about our staff being nice and helpfull to my colleages.

We are looking forward to hear from you again.

Best wishes,
Leelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Location is perfect, just under the old town and 5 minutes from ferry port. Friendly personnel, good internet. Small private parking in the inner garden, but cannot go to parking directly from the hotel, have to go around. Warm room, old style boilers, feels like in 19th century, and it makes it even more nice.
Very soft bed, could not sleep well. Noisy because of thin walls between rooms, but outer walls are huge. Poor breakfast, only few dishes, but still ok to feed up.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGriNdeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear GGriNdeR!

Thank you for staying in Economy Hotel and for your review.
We are happy to read that you found our location perfect.
Parking place is reachable from inside the hotel also- through second floor, sometimes it is easier to go around the hotel.
We cannot comment about the breakfast as we are different companies- but I will tell your opinion to them.

We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
Leelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and only had a short walk across the railway lines into the city of Tallinn. The hotel is very close to buses and trams.

We found the staff friendly and helpful and the bar area in the rear of the hotel, with an outside terrace, welcoming after a long day sight seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaP742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear LindaP742!

Thank you for staying in Economy Hotel and for your review.
We are happy to read that you found our location perfect.
I will tell the good words about our stuff being friendly and helpfull to my colleages.

We are looking forward for you to visit us again.

Best regards,
Leelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed in single bed room in Economy Hotell in summer 2013 for 4 nights.
It was a good choice, as the hotel is really just a few steps away from the historical center of the city. However, it is not really comfortable to walk at night alone around the train station, which is just across the street.
Room was clean, not really huge but just fine. The sleep quality was not really great, as there is a lot of traffic under the windows.
Staff is really nice and extremely helpful, even that they do not have a post box at the reception, the receptionist offered me to take my postcards and put it to some post box on his way home.
I could not join the free WiFi. Fortunately, there is a free WiFi everywhere in Tallinn, so this makes it easier.
Breakfasts were sufficient, but pretty normal.
I also appreciated the free parking place, which is even locked.
I could recommend this hotel to everyone, who stays in Tallinn just for couple of days and does not want to spend a fortune on living.

Room Tip: When booking a single room, ask for a double bed, it is for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raamayaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear raamayaana!

Thank you for staying in Economy hotel and for your review.
We are really happy to read that you liked our hotel and found our location perfect.
WiFi is free in our hotel, so everybody can use it- and because of that when lots of people are using it, it may be slow signal sometimes.
Tram noises can be little problem to some people sometimes. If you are planning to come again to our hotel, ask room on the backside of the house.

Best regards,
Leelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#34 of 86 in Tallinn
1,001 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
693 reviews
0.7 mi away
Euphoria Hostel
Euphoria Hostel
#47 of 86 in Tallinn
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine
#20 of 86 in Tallinn
1,137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 86 in Tallinn
1,267 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotell

Address: Kopli 2c | Kalamaja, Tallinn 10412, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $29 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotell 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the most affordable accommodation option in Tallinn. Choose Economy Hotell for your next stay in the historically and culturally rich capital of Estonia. Our hotel is the simple solution for convenient accommodations in Tallinn with a personal approach to quality service. We offer a variety of rooms housed in a historical house, built at the end of the 18th century. We are conveniently located just 3 minutes away from the city's Historic Center, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Whether you arrive by bus, train, ferry or airplane, you're never far from our central location. We are located just 10 minutes from public transit and an easy 5 minute drive from the airport. Our hotel offers everything you need for a convenient stay in Tallinn. Hotel features & amenities: 40 Guestrooms Free Wi-Fi Onsite restaurant & bar Lounge area Free Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Economy Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotell Hotel Tallinn
Skane Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing