We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was as I expected”
Review of Economy Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Economy Hotell
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just by the bus and tram and station it is easy to get around. Rooms are clean and tidy. We had to close the windows at night because the trams start early but otherwise it was fine. Free buffet breakfast included with my booking.
Market over the road every morning selling food was handy and supermarket at the next tram stop. The staff were great except for one miserable one on reception. WiFi did not work in the room though.
Single women may not want to walk back to the hotel alone as it is a bit deserted in the dead of night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daya101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Daya101!

Thank you for staying in Economy Hotel and for your review.
We are happy to read that you found our location perfect.
The Russians Market have this Soviet Union taste- it can be very imteresting. Glad you liked it.
Thank you on behalf of our staff. We are always trying to do our best.
The area around the hotel is Tallinn´s fastest growing region, so maybe next time you can visit our city it is totally different.

We are looking forward to hear from you again.

Best regards,
Leelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
There are newer reviews for Economy Hotell
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 747 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Cheapest hotel during our stay in Estonia thanks to an early booking.

Rooms are clean, even have a TV. Nice staff, the helped us with all our questions (you even can send them an email with an pdf and they print it for gree) and prepare you a nice coffee in the morning.

Has free parking, but I recommend to return the car since in Tallin there is no need for it.

Since check in is at 14:00hrs, you can leave your stuff at the reception, no extra cost.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear adrima!

Thank you for your stay in Economy Hotel and for your review.
We are really happy to read that you found our hotel as top quality for money.
I will tell your nice words about our staff being nice and helpfull to my colleages.

We are looking forward to hear from you again.

Best wishes,
Leelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Location is perfect, just under the old town and 5 minutes from ferry port. Friendly personnel, good internet. Small private parking in the inner garden, but cannot go to parking directly from the hotel, have to go around. Warm room, old style boilers, feels like in 19th century, and it makes it even more nice.
Very soft bed, could not sleep well. Noisy because of thin walls between rooms, but outer walls are huge. Poor breakfast, only few dishes, but still ok to feed up.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGriNdeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear GGriNdeR!

Thank you for staying in Economy Hotel and for your review.
We are happy to read that you found our location perfect.
Parking place is reachable from inside the hotel also- through second floor, sometimes it is easier to go around the hotel.
We cannot comment about the breakfast as we are different companies- but I will tell your opinion to them.

We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
Leelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and only had a short walk across the railway lines into the city of Tallinn. The hotel is very close to buses and trams.

We found the staff friendly and helpful and the bar area in the rear of the hotel, with an outside terrace, welcoming after a long day sight seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaP742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear LindaP742!

Thank you for staying in Economy Hotel and for your review.
We are happy to read that you found our location perfect.
I will tell the good words about our stuff being friendly and helpfull to my colleages.

We are looking forward for you to visit us again.

Best regards,
Leelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed in single bed room in Economy Hotell in summer 2013 for 4 nights.
It was a good choice, as the hotel is really just a few steps away from the historical center of the city. However, it is not really comfortable to walk at night alone around the train station, which is just across the street.
Room was clean, not really huge but just fine. The sleep quality was not really great, as there is a lot of traffic under the windows.
Staff is really nice and extremely helpful, even that they do not have a post box at the reception, the receptionist offered me to take my postcards and put it to some post box on his way home.
I could not join the free WiFi. Fortunately, there is a free WiFi everywhere in Tallinn, so this makes it easier.
Breakfasts were sufficient, but pretty normal.
I also appreciated the free parking place, which is even locked.
I could recommend this hotel to everyone, who stays in Tallinn just for couple of days and does not want to spend a fortune on living.

Room Tip: When booking a single room, ask for a double bed, it is for the same price.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raamayaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear raamayaana!

Thank you for staying in Economy hotel and for your review.
We are really happy to read that you liked our hotel and found our location perfect.
WiFi is free in our hotel, so everybody can use it- and because of that when lots of people are using it, it may be slow signal sometimes.
Tram noises can be little problem to some people sometimes. If you are planning to come again to our hotel, ask room on the backside of the house.

Best regards,
Leelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed at the Economy Hotel when in Tallinn and the best thing about it was the location. It was not too far from the city centre and actually in an interesting area, Kalamaja with some upcoming restaurants and old wooden houses. The hotel was a little old and threadbare - it could do with some sprucing up - but our stay on the whole was good. We visited it twice as were in Helsinki for a few days in between - the hotel kindly allowed us to leave some our of stuff behind in the interim period. The first room we had was simple, basic but spacious and the second room was a little smaller, which was fine. There are no hairdryers in the rooms but they can be obtained from reception. The main gripes I would say are the shelves above the sink, which is so large and close to the tiny sink that it's hard to wash your face in the sink without hitting your head multiple times/ getting water all over the floor. The quilt also only covered the bed, so it was difficult with 2 people trying to use it as there was no overhang. We had to use the spread above the quilt as well. In the second room we had, the positioning of the TV was to the side of the bed which didn't really make sense and made it really awkward to watch TV while sitting in bed. There is no aircon, which would be quite bad if the weather got any warmer. It was already quite stifling when we were there and we left the room windows open when we were in the room. When we were there, there was a group of young people/ school group staying as well so it was a bit noisy with people running up and down the corridors. WiFi signals seem to be poor the further away from the reception you are. The location of the hotel was really convenient - it's close to the Balti Jaam bus station, train station and there is a tram stop just in front of the entrance to the hotel. It is also walkable to the harbour if you know where you are going! We didn't dine at the hotel so can't comment on the quality of the food. We mainly had breakfasts in bakeries in the old town where you can get pastries for reasonable prices. If we return to Tallinn, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Economy Hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear spideranansie76!

Thank you for staying in Economy Hotel and for your nice review.

We are happy to read that you found our location perfect. Kalamaja area is one of the most popular area right now in Tallinn, so it was worth visiting.
We are always trying to accommodate different kinds of people and sometimes we have many children and they like to be a little more loud than older people. I hope it didn´t ruin your vocation here.
WiFi signal depends on how many people are using it at the same time, but it is always better at receiption area.

We are happy to read that you would stay at our hotel agai. We are looking forward to that.

Best regards,
Leelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

After going through different holiday sites, this was the cheapest last minute deal but it came up unavailable for the dates. I decided to contact the hotel directly and they replied within an hour to say they have 2 rooms for my friend and I - Top points for that!
Before flying out I emailed for directions and got an almost instant reply with very good directions from the airport - so top points again! We got there easy enough as it was right in front of the Tram stop.
The hotel itself looked ordinary from outside, inside we had small but really clean & comfortable single rooms. The bathroom/shower was also clean. The rooms we had did not have air conditioners so could be really uncomfortable in really hot weather, although this was not an issue in 21C weather.
Its located at the edge of the Old city and was only a 15 min walk into town so is very convenient.
The only downside with the location is being close to a train station as it got really noisy with 2 or 3 trains blasting their horns but this only happened one morning out of three.
We didn't have food there so can't comment on that.
We really enjoyed our stay in this budget hotel and is perfect for a weekend stay on a budget (about 70 euros for 2 nights!)
So, all in all a good budget hotel and staff communication was excellent.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms away from the train station!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityBreaker_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconomyHotelTallinn, Front Office Manager at Economy Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear CityBreaker_UK!

Thank you for staying in Economy Hotel and for your nice review.
We always try to answer to e-mails as quickly as possible. Thank you for noticing that.
I will tell good words about rooms being clean to our housekeeping.
We are happy to read that you find our locationd perfect.

We are looking forward for seeing you here again.

Best regards,
Leelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#34 of 86 in Tallinn
979 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#21 of 86 in Tallinn
675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Euphoria Hostel
Euphoria Hostel
#45 of 86 in Tallinn
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#20 of 86 in Tallinn
1,097 reviews
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotell

Address: Kopli 2c | Kalamaja, Tallinn 10412, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $33 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotell 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the most affordable accommodation option in Tallinn. Choose Economy Hotell for your next stay in the historically and culturally rich capital of Estonia. Our hotel is the simple solution for convenient accommodations in Tallinn with a personal approach to quality service. We offer a variety of rooms housed in a historical house, built at the end of the 18th century. We are conveniently located just 3 minutes away from the city's Historic Center, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Whether you arrive by bus, train, ferry or airplane, you're never far from our central location. We are located just 10 minutes from public transit and an easy 5 minute drive from the airport. Our hotel offers everything you need for a convenient stay in Tallinn. Hotel features & amenities: 40 Guestrooms Free Wi-Fi Onsite restaurant & bar Lounge area Free Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Economy Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotell Hotel Tallinn
Skane Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing