We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect location, nasty smell...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baltic Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baltic Hotel Imperial
Ranked #26 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Koh Chang
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, nasty smell...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Best location in old town, calm and beutiful. But the hotel did smell mold, everywhere... Breakfast was allright but coffee looked more like tea. Close to airport and nice hipster neigbourhood Kalamaja. Fine for a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JockeSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    156
    59
    12
    5
See reviews for
59
185
48
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yamba NSW Aust
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is not the cheapest hotel in Tallinn, but is still good value as it sits right at one of the main entrances to the 'Old Town'. There is an excellent breakfast and free wifi and the reception staff are all really helpful and knowledgeable. With the Old Town right on the doorstep it's a really convenient place from which to explore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yambatrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

There are some minors flaws to this hotel, but overall it is very nice, perfectly located in the old town of Tallinn. The rooms could be more sound proof, and the slight smell of sewage is annoying, but the main impression is positive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights. The personnel very very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and cozy. The breakfast is good with several kinds of cold fish (salmon, herring etc.), normal cheese, sausage, ham, and so on. It also contains good selection of warm food. Special thanks to good variety of sweet cakes. The only thing I was missing ware fruits and vegetables but altogether the breakfast was much better than I have experienced in hotels in the same price category.

The only thing that annoyed us were the ringing sound from the helical stairs leading from the restaurant to third floor. The sound could easily been heard during evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far as possible from the stairs from restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuusoHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in April and it was an enjoyable stay. The staff were very nice and extremely helpful. Clean room with a great view of one of the towers of Tallinn. Fantastic location of the hotel. Great value for money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank domniska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We turned up to Tallinn on a very cold December day. It was snowing and there was a brisk wind blowing. So as we walked into the Baltic hotel, the warmth we were met with was awesome. Not just from the heating mind you, but the reception staff too. We had arrived too early to be checked in but they took care of our bags and gave us a warm drink and then encouraged us to go for a walk to Christmas markets and have lunch (made recommendations) and everything would be sorted when we got back. And it was.

The rooms were small but it was to be expected in the old part of town but everything was in working order. The location was great, right across the street from the ferry terminal to Helsinki.

Overall I really enjoyed it and would definitely stay here again.

We also had dinner at the Cheese restaurant in the hotel. Awesome. Different review.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1MoreTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just a quick review. I experienced the same problems that others mentioned. There is a drain in the bathroom which overflows when the bath is used and the resulting smell is of rotten egg and sewage. Very unpleasant but slept with door closed. Breakfast is poor and I found it odd that potatoes and vegetables were in a heater next to fried eggs and under cooked bacon. There were no tea or coffee facilities (no kettle) in the room and the mini bar was quite expensive. 1 can of lager was 4 Euro for a brand that retails in Rimi for 67 cents. On a positive note, the female staff member who works the front desk is friendly and helpful. This was nice as the other staff did not break a smile even when a hello or morning was passed their way. The trainee chap who works the front desk sighed on checking me out, tried to overcharge me for the minibar and stared perplexed at my credit card as if I had tried to pay with a slice of cheese. He again did not break a smile, made me feel like I was hassling him to check me out and was generally miserable.

This was only a short cheap break. But I expect to be made to feel welcome and at least have a smile thrown my way at least once during a 5 day stay.

Just remembered as well that they charged for use of the sauna!! I have visited 8 countries this year and none of the hotels have charged extra for this type of service. Pretty poor show really.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acupuncturistuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#20 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#22 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#36 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#14 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#38 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltic Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltic Hotel Imperial

Property: Baltic Hotel Imperial
Address: Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltic Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Baltic Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing