We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #27 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I'll start at the begining, the hotel was easy to get to from the airport (its a 5 min walk from the train station if you use public transport) and the taxi dropped us off directly outside.
The location is great in the old town a short walk from everything.
My room was at the front of the hotel and it was quiet (apart from the early morning bin men one morning) my brothers room was at the back and it was super quiet. Both rooms were clean and tidy, if not a little small, unfortunatley my room had an occassional smell of sewage from the bathroom, by brothers room had no such problem.
I had a super comfy bed, although my brother had a really soft bed with a dip in the middle which wasn't comfortable at all.

The hotel staff were really unfriendly, no smiles, no 'have a nice stay' at check in and no 'did you have a nice stay' at check out, in fact no one from the hotel spoke to us during ourwhole stay. We asked to see the sauna area and this was conducted without one word being spoken.

The breakfast was ok but not super.

The hotel is good value for money, but, would benefit from better service and because of this I would not return. The location is its selling point, central without being noisey.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUEY69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    181
    65
    14
    6
See reviews for
66
210
53
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naantali, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Service was ok, Bed was one of the best i've slept. That's about it. Breakfast was bad, everything tasted like cardboard. Room had all the time an odor from bathroom. Stink like sewer. Good luck if you made reservation. I hope the stink is gone before you get there. There is also sauna/spa section but we didn't try that

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EihMrJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in January 2013 for 5 nights. The situation is great- a 5 minute walk from the airport bus stop at the train station, and a 5 minute walk to the Town Hall square. The room wasn't large but had all we needed; a kettle was the only thing that was missing. Staff were very helpful and made some great recommendations for a day trip outside Tallinn.Breakfast was good with some excellent fish dishes- salmon , smoked eel and sprats (if that's your thing at 9 in the morning!!).The only complaint was the hot dishes - the fried eggs had been cooked a long time in advance of breakfast and weren't very nice. We got a great price off Expedia of around £50 a night but it is the off season, and the prices will be a lot more in summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel located next to the old town wall. We got very spacious room with views to small square. Only minus comes from the smell of sewer in our bathroom. Building is very old but nicely renovated and decorated.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pekka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Clean well appointed, warm rooms. Not large but comfortable. Excellent breakfast buffet. Quiet location on edge of old town. Plenty of restaurants/cafes within minutes walk. No need for any transport to explore old town. Friendly helpful staff. Only complaint - mild drain smell in bathrooms (seems common throughout Tallinn); reception will provide air freshener. Overall very good value and would happily return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here with 8 friends for a long weekend stay in Tallinn and we stayed in this hotel for a total of 3 nights in December 2012. The location is within 4 minutes walk of the Town Hall Square and all the attractions and 10 minutes walk to Toompea (Castle Hill) where there are terrific views of Tallinn. The hotel is situated in the Old Town and really close to lots of great attractions, bars and restaurants and what is really nice about this hotel is that part of the city's medieval wall runs straight through it and in the rooms the bricks have been exposed to compliment the integrity of the beautiful surroundings. We stayed in room 313 which was so nice and the view from the window was the city wall and some towers which was a fantastic sight whenever we drew the curtains..

The room was really clean and cosy as the temperature in December was so cold (-7) but we were so warm at night. The staff were really so helpful - they lent us some adaptors to charge phones and booked us taxis along with tickets for the hop on hop off bus and nothing was too much trouble.

In the hotel was a lovely little pub/bar which had a very relaxed atmosphere and the breakfasts which were included in the cost f the room were lovely with so much choice for us.

This hotel is a 4 star and it represented terrific value for money. There is a sauna here but sadly we never got to try it as we were too busy exploring the beautiful sights of Tallinn and the Christmas markets.

I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel and hope to come back here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 85 in Tallinn
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#23 of 85 in Tallinn
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#22 of 85 in Tallinn
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 85 in Tallinn
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Property: Hotel Imperial
Address: Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia (Formerly Baltic Hotel Imperial)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#23 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel building is from 1877. It was erected against the city wall which is a late phenomenon in historical tradition. In the contemporary organization of the city it was strategically important from the perspective of protecting the city to leave a free space between the city wall and the buildings. The first data about the dwellings being built against the city wall states 17th century when the city wall started to lose its strategic importance over the bastions. No extensive reconstruction has been done in the building, but throughout times an attempt has been made to preserve everything historically valuable. On the second half of the 19th century, the building was owned by family von Stackelbergs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing