We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location in old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baltic Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baltic Hotel Imperial
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location in old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Clean well appointed, warm rooms. Not large but comfortable. Excellent breakfast buffet. Quiet location on edge of old town. Plenty of restaurants/cafes within minutes walk. No need for any transport to explore old town. Friendly helpful staff. Only complaint - mild drain smell in bathrooms (seems common throughout Tallinn); reception will provide air freshener. Overall very good value and would happily return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    159
    59
    13
    6
See reviews for
61
188
49
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
232 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here with 8 friends for a long weekend stay in Tallinn and we stayed in this hotel for a total of 3 nights in December 2012. The location is within 4 minutes walk of the Town Hall Square and all the attractions and 10 minutes walk to Toompea (Castle Hill) where there are terrific views of Tallinn. The hotel is situated in the Old Town and really close to lots of great attractions, bars and restaurants and what is really nice about this hotel is that part of the city's medieval wall runs straight through it and in the rooms the bricks have been exposed to compliment the integrity of the beautiful surroundings. We stayed in room 313 which was so nice and the view from the window was the city wall and some towers which was a fantastic sight whenever we drew the curtains..

The room was really clean and cosy as the temperature in December was so cold (-7) but we were so warm at night. The staff were really so helpful - they lent us some adaptors to charge phones and booked us taxis along with tickets for the hop on hop off bus and nothing was too much trouble.

In the hotel was a lovely little pub/bar which had a very relaxed atmosphere and the breakfasts which were included in the cost f the room were lovely with so much choice for us.

This hotel is a 4 star and it represented terrific value for money. There is a sauna here but sadly we never got to try it as we were too busy exploring the beautiful sights of Tallinn and the Christmas markets.

I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel and hope to come back here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Excellent location 250 m. from Town Hall Square in the middle of the charming old town. Breakfast is okay. Nice and okay size lobby/common area in english pub style. The rooms are pretty small but bath & toilet are fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars Due I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Firstly if you see this hotel advertised as five star it is wrong, they are officially four star and from my experience struggle to even reach that standard. The location is incredible and few hotels can boast better, very near the Old Town Square and all the tourist sights. However the downside is that this is a very old building and the standard and size of rooms is very inconsistent. Some are very nice but a good number are small and dark and many have one or even two interconnecting doors to other rooms which does not make for a quiet nights sleep. The room standards are so hit and miss that really this can not be considered to be consistently four star. The breakfast is very good with a great selection for a small hotel but there are only about five tables most of which sit around six people so expect the share, which again is not what you expect from a four star hotel. Overall if location is your priority you will struggle to find much better, but if your priority is a luxury hotel then look elsewhere as you may well be very disappointed. The staff are very abrupt and after a weeks stay we were not even asked if we can enjoyed it on checking out, which spoke volumes.

Room Tip: Insist on a room on the second floor (never the third) and for a view over Nunne (the road) as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My college-aged son and I stayed at this hotel during November 2012. It is located in the Old Town -- within convenient walking distance to the entire Old Town and the neighborhoods around it. It is clean and tidy. We stayed in a room with two comfortable twin beds, a small bathroom with a shower (blow dryer, shampoo and shower gel -- no conditioner... so bring your own), a desk, a flat screen TV, a small closet, outlets and free WiFi (adapters for U.S. visitors are free at the front desk). If you're looking for 5 star luxury, this isn't it -- but it is a lovely boutique hotel with great character -- located away from the party end of the Old Town. Each morning's breakfast (included in the cost) is lovely with a variety of local breads, muesli, yogurt, jams, sausages and smoked salmon, fresh juices and more.
At night, the hotel's pub serves hot coffee drinks and local beers amid a very medieval backdrop of old stone walls and leather-benched booths.
Just a note on the Tallinn card - we did purchase a 24-hour one and used it for the Hop On and Hop Off around the Music Festival, TV Tower and Kadriorg Park / KUMU area and for the free public transit in between. We figured we broke even. It's worth it if you plan to visit a few museums and take a few buses over a day or two.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Writeontime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were there october 20-21-22 2012 On arrival, we complained that the room had no heating; we were told that municipal heating by hot water was not turned on because outside temperature was above 5 degrees celsius. We were given a small electric heater that took 12 hours to heat our room. On the third floor there was a definite smell of sewers also reported on Trip advisor. On our second day, we got an additional heater but the need was less problematic as 24 hour nonstop heating had the room heated already.

Other than that, location was perfect to walk in the old town.

Overall, this hotel seems a good choice BUT depending on outside temperature and the mayor's willingness to spend money on heating.

Room Tip: Room 308 was large and wi-fi working well. We think that noise from other rooms may be a problem in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chilarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at the Baltic Imperial Hotel for 3 nights last week and found it to be very comfortable hotel. The staff very very efficient and helpful.It was well located near the old town hall and to the railway station.There did not appear to be many people staying in the hotel during my visit and on the third night i was awoken by loud music coming from another room.
The breakfast was a good variety and in a nice room past the bar (which seemed always empty). All in all it was good value although i would probably stay elsewhere if i returned to Tallin.

Room Tip: There are two good cafe's right across the street from the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wickerman760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#18 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#10 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#34 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#23 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#15 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#21 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltic Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltic Hotel Imperial

Property: Baltic Hotel Imperial
Address: Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#24 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltic Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Baltic Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing