We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is both positive and negative”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Firstly if you see this hotel advertised as five star it is wrong, they are officially four star and from my experience struggle to even reach that standard. The location is incredible and few hotels can boast better, very near the Old Town Square and all the tourist sights. However the downside is that this is a very old building and the standard and size of rooms is very inconsistent. Some are very nice but a good number are small and dark and many have one or even two interconnecting doors to other rooms which does not make for a quiet nights sleep. The room standards are so hit and miss that really this can not be considered to be consistently four star. The breakfast is very good with a great selection for a small hotel but there are only about five tables most of which sit around six people so expect the share, which again is not what you expect from a four star hotel. Overall if location is your priority you will struggle to find much better, but if your priority is a luxury hotel then look elsewhere as you may well be very disappointed. The staff are very abrupt and after a weeks stay we were not even asked if we can enjoyed it on checking out, which spoke volumes.

Room Tip: Insist on a room on the second floor (never the third) and for a view over Nunne (the road) as this...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Imperial
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 465 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

My college-aged son and I stayed at this hotel during November 2012. It is located in the Old Town -- within convenient walking distance to the entire Old Town and the neighborhoods around it. It is clean and tidy. We stayed in a room with two comfortable twin beds, a small bathroom with a shower (blow dryer, shampoo and shower gel -- no conditioner... so bring your own), a desk, a flat screen TV, a small closet, outlets and free WiFi (adapters for U.S. visitors are free at the front desk). If you're looking for 5 star luxury, this isn't it -- but it is a lovely boutique hotel with great character -- located away from the party end of the Old Town. Each morning's breakfast (included in the cost) is lovely with a variety of local breads, muesli, yogurt, jams, sausages and smoked salmon, fresh juices and more.
At night, the hotel's pub serves hot coffee drinks and local beers amid a very medieval backdrop of old stone walls and leather-benched booths.
Just a note on the Tallinn card - we did purchase a 24-hour one and used it for the Hop On and Hop Off around the Music Festival, TV Tower and Kadriorg Park / KUMU area and for the free public transit in between. We figured we broke even. It's worth it if you plan to visit a few museums and take a few buses over a day or two.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Writeontime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were there october 20-21-22 2012 On arrival, we complained that the room had no heating; we were told that municipal heating by hot water was not turned on because outside temperature was above 5 degrees celsius. We were given a small electric heater that took 12 hours to heat our room. On the third floor there was a definite smell of sewers also reported on Trip advisor. On our second day, we got an additional heater but the need was less problematic as 24 hour nonstop heating had the room heated already.

Other than that, location was perfect to walk in the old town.

Overall, this hotel seems a good choice BUT depending on outside temperature and the mayor's willingness to spend money on heating.

Room Tip: Room 308 was large and wi-fi working well. We think that noise from other rooms may be a problem in...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at the Baltic Imperial Hotel for 3 nights last week and found it to be very comfortable hotel. The staff very very efficient and helpful.It was well located near the old town hall and to the railway station.There did not appear to be many people staying in the hotel during my visit and on the third night i was awoken by loud music coming from another room.
The breakfast was a good variety and in a nice room past the bar (which seemed always empty). All in all it was good value although i would probably stay elsewhere if i returned to Tallin.

Room Tip: There are two good cafe's right across the street from the entrance
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickerman760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here and the value for money was great. The breakfast was very good with a varied selection and replenished regularly. You got fresh and dried fruit, cereal, ham, salami, cheese, cake, bread, boiled, fried and scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and some local delicacies, like the porridge, fishcakes and meatballs. The bar and restaurant were cosy. I wish we had tried the cheese restaurant but it was empty the night we planned to go so we would have felt a bit lonely! Service was good and the room was always cleaned and tidied. However on the third floor there was a definite smell of sewers and you could smell it in our room. There was no attempt to cover this for instance with candles (probably against h&s) or those plug-in things (but sometimes they kind of smell worse anyway, I guess). As it was so warm in the room, we opened the window and after a while you couldn't smell it (it wasn't overwhelming). But if it was colder, which it does get in Tallinn, it might be unpleasant. Hair dryer like someone blowing on your hair so bring your own. Fridge in minibar didn't work so we just drank red wine ;-) . No tea /coffee maing facilities. Decent soap/showergel but from dispensers on the walls. Bed extremely comfy but it was 2 singles pushed together. Overall, a bargain. And the location is excellent. There are only a handful of hotels with better and they are all far more expensive.

Room Tip: Maybe stay on the second floor?
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Comfortable, antique-looking hotel conveniently located in the old town. The included breakfast was excellent. We also had dinner at the on-site restaurant, good selection and food. They offer a Jacuzzi/massage service in the basement, pricey but enjoyable and relaxing. They did a good job in trying to create a romantic setting. There was wi-fi in the room, but so slow that it was unusable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank electronicpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had a nice weekend trip to Tallinn with my wife and stayed at Imperial for the second time. Hotel is nice & cozy and has character. Service was also friendly.

Breakfast at juustu restoran (cheese restaurant) was nice.

Location is perfect almost at the heart of old town Tallinn, just 5 minutes walk from the city square, but still away from the main tourist / noisy areas.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JukkaRopponen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 86 in Tallinn
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#16 of 86 in Tallinn
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia (Formerly Baltic Hotel Imperial)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $78 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel building is from 1877. It was erected against the city wall which is a late phenomenon in historical tradition. In the contemporary organization of the city it was strategically important from the perspective of protecting the city to leave a free space between the city wall and the buildings. The first data about the dwellings being built against the city wall states 17th century when the city wall started to lose its strategic importance over the bastions. No extensive reconstruction has been done in the building, but throughout times an attempt has been made to preserve everything historically valuable. On the second half of the 19th century, the building was owned by family von Stackelbergs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing