We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Excellent museum

The exhibits were outstanding in themselves and in their presentation. There was a lot of... read more

Reviewed yesterday
StellaW598
via mobile
Medieval Concert

This museum is part of the St. Nicholas Church. We had the opportunity to listen to a beautiful... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Ron S
,
Point Edward
Read all 371 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tallinn
from $33.26
More Info
from $228.26
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
from $43.01
More Info
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
176
132
53
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
176
132
53
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews religious art danse macabre st nicholas church former church on display outstanding collection north german religious services concert hall organ music a small gift shop pretty church entrance fee several languages closed on mondays per adult tourist information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 371 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2019

Saint Nicholas’s Church and Museum(Niguliste Museum), a church converted into a museum, is not large, but has a quality collection of artifacts and artwork, mainly from the late fifteenth through the seventeenth centuries. The church itself is beautifully spare, with a sense of space and serenity.
There are not a lot of items, but those they have are originals, high quality and not your typical fare. They include large gravestones, heraldic shields, paintings, statuary, altar pieces, one stunning stained glass window and their showpiece Dance Macabre. Throughout, there is an Eastern tint to traditional Western Christian subjects that creates a fresh and often compelling dynamic.
Another feature not to be undervalued is that it has nice restrooms.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank TJLK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019

Anyone else may feel a bit cheated by the €6 entrance...however, as I like that kind of thing, I didn't mind and the Dance of Death is well worth your study.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019

We had the Tallin card and the museum was included so we went inside the church to visit it and the museum. Historically interesting, beautiful peaces of paintings and furnitures from the medieval age. The most attractive piece probably is the painting "The dance of the death". There is also a small gift shop inside the building.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank giuseppecincin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

If you have a couple of hours at least to read the comments for an array of original religious pieces dating back to 15th century so that you could crack the historical code of coats of arms or tomb stones in other churches, or for organ music aficionados, that's the place to be. The concerts are listed on visit Tallinn dot com, so if you are a group leader please make sure your group is not in during that time or that your tour guide silently points at the relevent lines in the descriptions to read important information for your tourists individually instead of whispering loud enough to break thru the organ playing. I am not sure we all paid those 6 euros to hear somebody speaking French for 10 minutes out of a 40-minute concert.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank forpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019 via mobile

A pretty church with the main attraction which is The Dance of Death. I think it is a bit overpriced to pay €6 to go inside but I do understand that the cost of maintenance of this building is quiet high. There is a small gift shop and toilets downstairs.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Aragorn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews