We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kalev Marzipan Factory Museum
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tallinn
from $28.18
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
from $32.69
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
51
54
28
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
51
54
28
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marzipan otto shapes display estonia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 147 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2019 via mobile

We had a look round the museum and watched a lady decorating marzipan. The best part was lunch in the cafe - we went to the upper floor and sat in a bay window. We both had salads and a beer - my duck with various fruits was lovely.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank LizzieH738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

The chocolate factory Kalev was established already in 1806, nowadays owned by a Norwegian food conglomerate it still remains very Estonian. My favourite is their practically packaged marzipan sold in four flavours including the Vana Tallinn liquer. The museum located in the corner house of their famous Maiasmokk cafe showcases the traditional hand painted figurines also on sale. Nostalgic Soviet era covers have been brought to life on their spring chocolate boxes. If you have any questions speak to Mr. Otto, the gentleman reading his newspaper on the sofa.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Heli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019

Lovely candy shop with a little marzipan museum in the corner which has some quite impressive marzipan art. Otto Kubo, the inventor, is there to explain it to you if you'd like to speak to him.

Kalev is a very known sweets brand in Estonia and rightfully so. They have their café where they serve their specialties just behind the marzipan museum. We ordered a "small chocolate desert" or something along those lines, which was a small cup (like an espresso cup) of thick, creamy hot chocolate. Delicious!
I was a little disappointed not to find a cake or something because of my food allergies, but in the end it turned out to be a good thing. I bought a chocolate bar, and the chocolate was delicious! So delicious that we bought some more to bring back to Switzerland.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank 677sandrines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

We enjoyed our little stop here. A very friendly member of staff welcomed us and told us about the little marzipan gallery downstairs. We had look round and then she gave us tastes of 3 different types of marzipan - there was no pressure to buy but we ended up buying a bar each of the pistachio and low sugar ones because they were so nice - nothing like the oversweet yellow marzipan in the UK! We later popped back for a marzipan ice cream cone as we had never seen that before - it was to die for and much nicer than the ice cream from one of Tallinn's more 'famous' ice cream shops!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank alimot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

We love chocolate and marzipan as a family. This was a great place to stop and take photos and get samples. They even let you sit and (for a modest fee) paint and decorate your own marzipan dessert. Big hit with family to close out quick trip to Tallin!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank D7323MOpatrickl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews