We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Market place and old buildings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town Hall Square

Town Hall Square
Book In Advance
More Info
$175.86*
and up
Tallinn City Private Tour
Ranked #4 of 287 things to do in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic square has served as a marketplace since the eleventh century and features a pharmacy that has been operating since 1422.
chicagoland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Market place and old buildings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We arrived in Tallinn on a cruise ship. We brought our Rick Steve's Scandinavia book and followed his walking tour. This town square had colorful old buildings, historic town hall, and chains used for public humiliation of criminals. The walking tour was an easy walk through history.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bhxteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,789
    884
    189
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice restaurants in square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice place just go in the summer or spring where you can sit and people watch while being outside, it had been snowing when we went

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tams71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a lovely surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Arrived at the square unexpectedly and with the snow falling, it was magical - like a fairy tale picture. One or two cafes had outside seating (with heaters, sheepskin rugs and blankets available) which was nice, Shops, of course, are catering for the tourist market as is the whole of the old town. But a lovely square nonetheless.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 580anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Town Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We enjoyed a guided tour of the Town Hall. The building was beautifully restored and the history fascinating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good place to relax and eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We sat here forf about an hour on arrival in Tallin without being hustled for food or to give upo our table. later that evening we found plently of very good places to eat.
Was it a tourist trap? Well probably but they I'm a tourist.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank donnieitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Hall Square also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Town Hall Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing