We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oru Hotel
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our second visit to the Oru. We last came three years ago and it was just as good this time. Our purpose in staying in Tallinn was for the Maritime events at the harbour, which take place in July every year. We find the hotel in an ideal spot away from the noise of the Old Town. It is so easy to get to, about a 10 minute bus ride from the town bus station, and a choice of at least 5 buses, which seem to be constantly arriving. It is in a lovely spot, just across the road from the Song Festival Ground, and also very close to the beach. The Hotel itself is only small, just two floors of rooms, but it is ideal for a short stay, lovely and clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. If you walk across the park to the beach you can get a bus to Pirita, just a short ride of about 5 minutes and you can walk by the river or even take a boat out. It seems to be a local beauty spot and lots of Estonians go there in the evening. I would recommend the Oru for anyone staying in Tallinn who enjoys the Old Town during the day and evening but likes to get away from it all for a little 'quiet time'. Also the bus prices are really good, just 6 euros for a 5 day bus ticket.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanP614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristel M, Sales Manager at Oru Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
DearJanP,

Thank you very much for your comment. Once again I want to thank all of you who share your impression and help clients to take the decision to come Oru Hotel. That’s true our hotel is located in a good area :)
Thanks also for the mention of our staff and this is always very rewarding to hear :)

Hopefully we will welcome you again at the Oru hotel!!!

Best regards,
Kristel Mäenurm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    129
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
48
88
17
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
568 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

The short version is that if you are willing to take a ten minute bus ride away from the hustle and bustle of the city center, which I recommend, you can retire at the end of the day a seven minute walk away from the beach across the street from the Tallinn Song Festival Grounds.

This is a nice fifty room hotel in the suburbs minutes from the city center. The rooms have phones, cable television, baths or shower s and there is a nice lobby restaurant called Kadri. To my mind, the negatives are few: First, when you retire for the evening there are no convenience stores nearby so stop at supermarket one bus stop prior to reaching the hotel. Second, even if rooms are available you will not be allowed to check in early unless you pay ten euro. Frankly, I think the hotel will be better served if they simply said your room was not available instead of offering to allow you to check in two hours early for ten Euro but, truth to tell, I have never managed a hotel so what do I know? The hotel has no ice machine and you have to get ice from the bar.

The positives far outweigh the two negatives. The hotel is walking distance from a nice Japanese Garden and Kadriorg Park. Both are beautiful and Kadriorg Park has lots of open space. The hotel is also near Kadrioru Castle, the Peter the Great House Museum, a swan pond, and the sea and Kadrioru Stadium. You can also get to all the major attractions Tallinn has to offer in ten minutes by bus.

The staff was especially friendly and if you need any type of assistance I would suggest that you contact Henri at the front desk. Henri was courteous, hard-working, extremely helpful with directions, and he has quite a sense of humor. If you need help when you arrive, I urge you to look for Henri.

Speaking of arriving, if you have travelled light and by ferry (we always come over from Helsinki) I would highly recommend foregoing a taxi and getting an e-ticket to use the bus and rail system. A three day ticket costs five Euros and five days will set you back six. The ticket allows you to take the busses and light rail all over the place. From the ferry terminal find the “R Kiosk” and buy your e-ticket and two Euro smartcard, then first take the number 2 bus to the city center bus terminal. The busses originate downstairs at this bus terminal and you can take the number 19, 29, 35, 44, 60, or 63 to the hotel which is about two hundred yards from the bus stop.

I would definitely try the hotel restaurant called Kadri because the prices are reasonable and the food was pretty good. Try the borsch with fillet of elk! Also, breakfast is served in this restaurant. I would not miss breakfast. Simply stated, it was terrific and in addition to the regular eggs, and bacon they have wonderful fruits and desert.

Unlike other reviewers I did not find the hotel walls to be thin and I just don’t know how anyone could rate this hotel as “awful.” I think it is a strong three and a half star hotel and it is the choice for me in Tallinn for a basic, clean, safe hotel away from all of the night life at the end of the day.

The hotel is near a lot of cool things and I recommend:

1. Estonian History Museum
2. SALT restaurant on Vase Street
3. The supermarket one bus stop away at Poska
4. Lounge twenty-four (for drinks)
5. Chicago 1933 (restaurant)
6. Old Town

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CHOCOOLATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristel M, Sales Manager at Oru Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing Oru Hotel***. We are pleased to read such thorough and synoptic review. Our waiters give their best and it is pleasant to read that it is noticed.
We are proud to say that we have strengthened sound isolation in our rooms and it is positive that you noticed!

You are more than welcome back and I wish you would contact me in the hotel so I can thank you in person. Your nice review is exactly the impression we want to make on our guests.


Best regards,
Kristel Mäenurm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Sits between the shore of the baltic sea and a great park zone. Just several bus stops away from city center makes it a great choice for those who come to visit Tallinn old town. Huge parking lot was a good bonus as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SirJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristel M, Sales Manager at Oru Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your nice comment. We wish you the best and we hope to see you here again in Oru Hotel.

Please feel free to contact me directly on kristel@oruhotel.ee on your next visit to Oru Hotel so I can personally assist you with all your reservation needs.

Best regards,
Kristel Mäenurm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room was cosy and tidy and having a bathtub was really a big plus as we travelled with our 3-year-old daughter who enjoys water a LOT :o) Breakfast was nice as well as dinner at the hotel restaurant. A small minus for the overenthusiastic waitress who cleaned our table during a short visit to the restrooms during breakfast with the little one - but of course we helped ourselves to a second round at the breakfast buffet as we were in no hurry.

The staff was very friendly!

We will definitely come again! Aitäh!

Room Tip: Thirdfloor doubleroom with extrabed suited perfectly a family of three
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squiik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristel M, Sales manager at Oru Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Customer!

Thank you very much for choosing the Oru Hotel Superior. It is a pleasure to read such kind words regarding my dear colleagues and our hotel.

Please feel free to contact me directly on kristel@oruhotel.ee should you ever wish to return.

Best regards,
Kristel Mäenurm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had a nice time in this hotel. Room for two is very nice and cosy, Reception is friendly and welcoming.

Perfect place to stay as a couple because just in 5 minutes by walk there is great Kardriorg Park.

Better visit in spring/summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristel M, Sales Manager at Oru Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Aleksandr

I am delighted to read that you found the hotel nice and comfortable.
We all work hard to give a very personal service at Oru Hotel, we really want that our guests feel like at home. We really appreciate you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards,
Kristel Mäenurm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel itself is a regular 3* hotel. Soundproof is a bit poor as well as bed quality. But in our case it wasn't an issue. We traveled with friends so we knew that it isn't any 4* or 5* hotel.
The only thing which surprise us a lot was the staff. The girls were very helpfull and friendly. The helped us a lot. Specially Siret and Natalya! Many thanks to them!
Very good restaurant with resonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristel M, Director of Sales at Oru Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Alex,

Thank you for your honest feedback about your latest stay with us. We greatly appreciate You taking the time to share your impressions with TripAdvisor
Please feel free to contact me directly on kristel@oruhotel.ee should you ever wish to return.

Best regards,

Kristel Mäenurm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very friendly stuff. The parking is free as well. In very close proximity to the Song Ground which was the purpose of our stay. Suitable for concert and park visitors. Breakfast was rather good. But sleeping quality was really bad. Traffic noise from street and sound insulation between rooms was so bad! We can´t sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pilleriin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristel M, Director of Sales at Oru Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Customer !

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. I am very sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations in all points.

I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me upon making your booking and I will be more than happy to assist You.

Best regards,
Kristel Mäenurm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#13 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
2.4 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#32 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
2.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
2.6 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#18 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oru Hotel

Property: Oru Hotel
Address: Narva mnt 120, Tallinn 10127, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oru Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oru Hotel is fitted with 51 rooms that comply to 3*** stars superior standards including one suite with a sauna and an apartement with a jaccuzzi. The rooms have a simple but pleasant decor. All rooms have a telephone, satellite-TV, bathroom and shower. The suite has a living room, a bedroom and bathroom with sauna. Otherwise it is equipped according to the same standards as other rooms. Extra beds are available at an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing