We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic accommodation.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oru Hotel
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very basic accommodation.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I was booked into this hotel as I was attending a workshop being held at this hotel. The location is outside of the city centre, which is a bus ride away. There is a nice park area across the busy main road but apart from that there is nothing surrounding the hotel except low level blocks of apartments. The hotel itself is very basic and the rooms remind me of a slightly better level of Halls of Residence accommodation I had as a student. The bed I slept in had a whiff of the necessity to wash the quilt and pillows although the quilt cover and pillowcases covering them were clean. Shower gel is nailed to the wall in the shower and the shower head is crusted with limescale. The other side of my bed head was the neighbours toilet as the rooms are L-shaped and so every 2 rooms fit together and share wall space. Never had breakfast as I was still feeling nauseous from the dinner the night before. Only stayed 2 nights and that was enough. Tallinn itself is beautiful city and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: My room was on the 3rd floor and I thought it was pretty bad. However, my colleague was on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    126
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
86
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in October 2011. A little apprehensive as it was so cheap though the reviews on here were fine.

Have to say the hotel was excellent value for money ( around £15 per night for a family room incl breakfast). Room was spacious and very clean with a flat screen tv with limited English channels. Breakfast is a little limited but at this price you cannot complain. The hotel is across the road from Kadriorg Park and the venue for the annual song festival. A short walk across the park is the sea.

This hotel isn't central. It's around a 40 minute walk into the old town but it's on the main road into the centre and buses are frequent. We bought tickets that cost 7 euros each for 5 days unlimited travel that also includes trams and trolley buses.

Don't pay for the minibus shuttle service from the airport. It costs 5 euros 1 way per person which seemed ok but the airport is very close to Tallinn and a taxi ride back there only cost 8 euro's.

Tallinn old town is a beautiful medieval centre, very compact with great views and photo opportunities. There are plenty of places to eat to suit every budget. My personal favourite was Hell Hunt pub which brewed it's own fantastic beer and is well worth a visit. Also try the free Tallinn tour which is great, the KGB tour at the Sokos hotel and the open air museum which takes you away from the centre.

Overall Tallinn is a fantastic destination for a city break and well worth trying. I will return to Tallinn and this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HP134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

I gave this hotel a rating of 4, though I think 3.5 would've been more appropriate.

I and my wife got a room for a excellent deal of 28€, and I heartily recommend going here if you need a cheap room with breakfast and you don't care that much about the location (ie. you have a car). If you'd have to pay more I'd go with Go Hotel Schnelli, since the location is much better and the sound isolation is better. My wife couldn't sleep all that well, while our neighbors kept talking and laughing until 3am. Laughter and normal loudish conversations shouldn't be heard through the walls. Also, the staff did not do anything to quiet down the conversation even though we asked them to twice.

+ price almost unbeatable anywhere in Europe
+ breakfast had good options and good coffee :)
+ pleasing decor

- very thin walls
- location is a bit too far from the city center if you don't have a car

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Korva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
343 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in November and I liked it very much.It is located very close to lovely Kadriorg Park and its fine art museums-Kadriorg Palace Art Museum,Kumu,Mikkel Collection.My room was quite nice,the buffet breakfast included in the price was superb,and the friendly staff communicated well in English.Although it is about a mile and a half from the Old City,there are very frequent buses going there .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margatemensch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristel M, Director of Sales at Oru Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Hope to see You soon in Oru Hotel

Best regards,
Kristel Mäenurm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

It is a real good value for money if you managed to get your room for price no more than 50 eur (in other cases it is possible to find better variant in Tallinn). Rooms and food are OK for 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: There is a noisy road close to the hotel, so keep in mind it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktorija_lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Oru Hotel is cheap (about 40 euros a night), the rooms are clean and quite comfortable, the food is ok, if you really need a cheap hotel in Tallinn then you could probably do worse.

BUT the rooms are tiny hardly bigger than the double bed and it is a long way out of town (about an hours walk). Squeeze some more money out of accounts, just pay a bit more and stay somewhere better and closer to town. It will be worth it!

Room Tip: find another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoredScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

The hotel is located next to the direct downtown street and has a good bus connection, but I would recommend it for car travellers. Because the free car parking is spacious.
Reaching downtown by bus takes time.
The busy noisy street and location next to the Song festival grounds may affect the quality of sleep some time.
The breakfast is not so rich, but the free WiFi in rooms is very speedy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dr17ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
2.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#15 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
2.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oru Hotel

Property: Oru Hotel
Address: Narva mnt 120, Tallinn 10127, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oru Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oru Hotel is fitted with 51 rooms that comply to 3*** stars superior standards including one suite with a sauna and an apartement with a jaccuzzi. The rooms have a simple but pleasant decor. All rooms have a telephone, satellite-TV, bathroom and shower. The suite has a living room, a bedroom and bathroom with sauna. Otherwise it is equipped according to the same standards as other rooms. Extra beds are available at an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Oru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing