We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Oru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oru Hotel
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The hotel is located next to the direct downtown street and has a good bus connection, but I would recommend it for car travellers. Because the free car parking is spacious.
Reaching downtown by bus takes time.
The busy noisy street and location next to the Song festival grounds may affect the quality of sleep some time.
The breakfast is not so rich, but the free WiFi in rooms is very speedy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr17ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    130
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
49
89
17
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Petersburg
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Great location, a stone's throw from Tallinn's bay and a few kms from the old town.
Nice, clean hotel, great buffet breakfast. Only problem, on Friday night, there was a very loud party singing and dancing in the restaurant that went on very late that night.

Room Tip: Avid first rooms on the first floor, especially on Fridays and Saturdays
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Lapachik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

For the price a very good hotel (£28 per room booked via Octopus Travel)

Thirty minutes walk from the action but twenty of these minutes walking through the beautiful Kadriorg Park with it's museums.

Recommended to all those without mobility difficulties, but if distance is a problem then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Simon_64Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

we stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is not the best looking in the world but the welcome was friendly. The room was howerever very basic. The double bed was just about fitted into a small space with on side pushed up against the wall. The other side had about 1 foot gap. The matress was ok and we did sleep.The bathroom was fairly big with a good shower. We did get clean towels every day.There was no kettle in the room and the shower only had a soap dispenser in it.
This was not a room you would want to spend much time in. The breakfast was ok. There is no longer a sauna at the hotel.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is a short bus trip from the city and there were frequent busses. A book of 10 tickets cost 8 euros.
As a cheap place to sleep the hotel was ok. We did eat in the restuarant one night but it was not very exciting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perfick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Oru hotel is located quite far from the centre, but since we were travelling by car that wasn't a problem. The area around the hotel is very nice and quiet and we did enjoy a walk on the beach and in the large park right next to the hotel. The hotel itself was clean, staff was friendly and overall we would recommend it to others. The only downside was, that our room was located right in the middle of the hotel, and all the middle rooms were connected - the only thing separating us from the room next door was literally just a locked door. We did find this a little disturbing, since the bed was right next to this door and we could hear our neighbours through the door quite well. So if you are staying there, I recommed asking a room from somewhere further down the hallway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsinkkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, South London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

A very pleasant stay in the hotel over the last weekend of Janurary of this year

Smart new hotel of the outskirts of Tallinn situated near the grounds of the lovely Kadriog palace.
The hotel is within walking distance of the old town, say a good half hours walk, but some of those who have walking difficaulties may wish to book a taxi from reception which the staff happily did for you

Reception was very functionable with swift check in by the staff
Small bar serves coffee and beer

Rooms are comfortable with a nice bathroom with walk-in shower

Breakfast was good with the usual european fayre, meats, cheeses ,omlettes etc etc

If I ever get the oppertunity to visit Tallinn again I would choose to stay at this hotel
however as I say it is a little way from the City centre and those wanting to be right oin the Tallinn old town doorstep should maybe go for another hotel.

  • Liked — the whole hotel
  • Disliked — The distance from the Old town (didnt bother me but may be something to consider for others)
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wightlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
2.4 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#31 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
2.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.6 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#18 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oru Hotel

Property: Oru Hotel
Address: Narva mnt 120B, Tallinn 10127, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oru Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oru Hotel is fitted with 51 rooms that comply to 3*** stars superior standards including one suite with a sauna and an apartement with a jaccuzzi. The rooms have a simple but pleasant decor. All rooms have a telephone, satellite-TV, bathroom and shower. The suite has a living room, a bedroom and bathroom with sauna. Otherwise it is equipped according to the same standards as other rooms. Extra beds are available at an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Oru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing