We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taanilinna Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taanilinna Hotell
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

A friendly hotel perfectly situated on the outskirts of the old town. Comfortable beds and breakfast correct.
Have no complaints whatsoever. Noise from ground floor room overlooking parking lot was acceptable, but it was the beginning of the week.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Jen,

Thank you for your kind post!

Hopefully this will also be helpful for many others who look a great place to stay in Tallinn.
Welcome back any time!

Best wishes,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    149
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
42
164
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The Taanilinna Hotel is in a beautiful, historic building, a three minute walk from one of the entrances to the medieval Old Town of Tallinn. I loved my attic room with views of the red tiled roofs of Old Town buildings. The staff was immensely helpful and very friendly. The ample breakfast is served in a room full of atmosphere, with beautiful wooden beams and family photographs of past generations. The hotel is in a beautiful courtyard, and there were small groups of art students quietly sketching the beautiful buildings almost every day. The hotel is in a very quiet location, well away from Old Town restaurants and bars that stay open late and can be noisy. If you like small hotels, full of atmosphere and charm, and owned and run by local people,this is an excellent
choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG40514850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this heartwarming post!

I am very glad that you will remember us this way. You can be sure this post will be remembered with kind words as well!

Kind regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

what was good: location, comfortable bed, strong wifi


what was bad: too few pillows (just one), could see a visible gap in between the door and the door frame at the top.

bathroom was a wet room with cleaning supplies shoved in the corner. most likely made for the disabled, which we are not. I guess they put you in the disabled room if you ask for two single beds....

some disinterested and unfriendly staff

Room Tip: not the best hotel if you want two single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear kovsky,

Thank you for your feedback!

I am sorry that you did not find Taanilinna Hotel the perfect place to say but at the same time I am thankful for the positive comments that you found for us nevertheless.

Hopefully we can improve your next visit to an unforgettable stay!

Kind regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel does exactly "what it says on the tin" and more
Arranging taxis including fares
Free Wifi - they even supply the computer!
Secure luggage storage for those whose leaving after the room check out time
English speaking
Free help if there is an issue with your next port of stay
A good breakfast is included and the quiet rooms including en-suites are very well maintained and clean
Short bus trip & walk from the airport (public transport does not exist inside the Old Town - so this character hotel built into the old town wall is very convenient for bus stops etc)
I challenge anybody to find better value so close to the heart of Old Town Tallinn
The only significant negative is the absence of a lift -otherwise we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who can cope with stairs.

Room Tip: All rooms are at least good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Keith,

Thank you for your humbling words!

Your kindness and positiveness are inspiring to us in our everyday work and I owe you my sincere gratitude for that.

Looking forward to see you again here in Taanilinna Hotel!
Best regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Only speaking for myself, of course, my experience left a lot to be desired. I booked and paid in advance for an upgraded room, and due to a technical issue was switched to a smaller room. No recognition or attempt to accommodate for my expense (original was 1st floor, so at least the smaller was higher up). No problem with a smaller size (except that I paid for it), but the room was terribly hot, without air-conditioning...again, ok...but, a fan would have been appreciated. It was so hot and uncomfortable, and with opened windows the cigarette smoke and after-bar voices were plenty with my room facing the parking lot/entrance. This might be for some, but not for me. I booked and paid for two and went to another hotel for the second night. The Wi-Fi was in and out. The location was great. Some staff was great, others not so much.

Room Tip: The higher the better, or not facing the parking lot/entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catana_Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Catana_Hamilton,

I am deeply disturbed that you had an unsatisfying stay here at Taanilinna Hotel.

I think that there is no purpose to make any excuses for the inconvenience we put you through.
All I can say is that we are very concerned about this matter and that we would want to make this up to you.

As we did not get your e-mail address when you checked in, please contact me via e-mail so we can find out a proper solution to this question.

Eagarly waiting for your response,
Terje Taal
terje.taal@tallinnhotels.ee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for a couple nights and quite liked this hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean. My bathroom had heated floors- a nice touch! Wifi was a little weak sometimes and I occasionally lost the signal. Regarding breakfast, it was fine with a fair selection. The espresso machine was broken however and they still had it out for coffee only, no steamed milk and no sign explaining. I feel this hotel was a good value and its proximity to old town is very good. I would recommend staying here. One suggestion: room darkening shades and ability to use the espresso machine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your thoughts!

We will surely take your notes into account and try to improve even further for your next visit.
Thank you for taking the time to share your ideas!

Kind regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is in a quiet ally off a bigger street, nice quiet location. It's about 2 min from the start of the old town. Good spot to stay if you are exporting old town etc.
Hotel was nice and clean but nothing outstanding. Breakfast was ok as it was included in nightly rate.
Free wifi in rooms worked well and easy to connect.
Some staff on front reception were unfriendly and disinterested in helping or providing any extra info which wasn't a good first impression. Some other staff were helpful though.
Overall comment would be don't expect anything great,buts its ok and nice and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Matthew,

Thank you for your comments!

I do value your honesty and constructive notes and will deffinately act on many of them.
I apologize if you felt like the staff was not always attentive enough for you, this is something we are usually very proud of here. Your feedback will be noted and put into a good use!

Kind regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#22 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
0.2 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taanilinna Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanilinna Hotell

Property: Taanilinna Hotell
Address: Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taanilinna Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taanilinna Hotel is a small, comfortable and stylish hotel which is located in the historical part of the Old Town not far from the city wall.* In Tallinn Old Town, close to Viru Gates* A petite and personal hotel with 20 rooms* Parking available in front of the building. The three-story hotel with stylish interior design has 20 rooms: 3 standard single rooms, 6 superior double/twin rooms (incl. 1 room with disable access), 9 economy twin rooms and 2 double deluxe rooms. The hotel has conference facilities, private parking and a terrace in the summer months. The medieval streets of the Old Town are on your door step for shopping, art galleries, museums, medieval churches and theatres as well as the best restaurants, clubs and bars. Principal Banks and Government buildings are easily accessible in the modern city centre. The hotel with its perfect location is a perfect choice for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taanilinna Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing