We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taanilinna Hotell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taanilinna Hotell
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our experience of Taanilinna Hotel was OK. The hotel itself is comfortable and well placed in The Old Town. Our room was clean and well presented and warm. The only draw back was that the curtains don't close fully which can be a little annoying during the White Nights.

The breakfast too is adequate. A selection of breads and jams, a yoghurt, some cold meats and cheese and cereal and some juices.

The staff are mostly rather indifferent with the exception of a couple of the girls who are quite friendly and helpful and one guy who is just quite rude... He doesn't even look at you when you ask him a question.

I wouldn't avoid the hotel but I would be keen to try elsewhere on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Louise,

Thank you for your honesty!

I appreciate your willingness to give a positive point of view to add to your concerns about our services.
These kinds of feedback notes are the ones that will most definately make a difference in a hotels everyday handling of various situations.

I assure you we do our best here to keep our staff happy about what they do and thus help the guests enjoy the visit as well. My apologies if you could not experience our full potential.

I sure hope that we will be given another chance to prove our quality when you decide to take another trip in Tallinn.

Kind regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    139
    47
    9
    5
See reviews for
38
155
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Really nice staff, free WiFi, comfortable rooms.

The location is really good, yards from bars and the tourist areas. The room we were in was a functional twin: two beds a TV and a bathroom. WiFi was free and worked well and there was a roof terrace to allow us a place to meet rather than in reception. There was no bar but the breakfast was pleasant enough and featured cornflakes, bread, ham, cheese, yogurts, and drinks.

If I was going to moan, I suppose the rooms were a little warm and the sun seemed to come up at 2am, but overall I had a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HunkyDunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Taanilinna Hotel and assure you that we are looking forward to have you back here in the future.

Kind regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Taanilinna Hotel. It's ideally situated not far from the Viru Gates - turn right after the gates, and it is about 150 metres up the street in a quiet courtyard. The outside isn't particularly special, but don't be out off as it is a lovely little hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, it is very quiet (we never heard a sound from any other rooms or people while we were there, and no outside noise at all despite overlooking the car park in the courtyard), our room was a reasonable size with small tv, tea and coffee, fridge, very comfy bed and a nice shower room and was very clean. Although there is no safety deposit box in the room, you can deposit your valuables at reception at no cost. Breakfast was adequate with meats, cheese, cereal, yogurt, boiled eggs, breads, fresh fruit, juices coffee etc...and a toaster. Some nice crusty buns would be an improvement, but that's just our personal choice.

The location is ideal, being only a few minutes walk from Katerinas Passage, the main square, and Fat Margaret Tower is at the top of the same street, in fact everything that the old town has to offer is within easy walking distance. There are countless restaurants and little cafes in the lovely cobbled streets and hidden courtyards, as well as in the main square. The ones in the square are more expensive with probably not as good choice or standard that others offer, but you can just have a drink, and whilst they are also dearer, it is worth doing it a few times during your stay to soak up the atmosphere and people watch, especially as there are sheepskin rugs, fleece blankets and heaters to keep you cosy!

To reach the hotel we got number 2 bus from the airport (1.60 euro each), and as previously reviews instructed, got off at Viru Keskus shopping centre (about 5 stops, we think!) walked a few metres up the street, left at the lights, followed the road towards a small park, and the Viru Gates can be seen to your right over the road, past the flower street stalls.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Tallinn. The atmosphere is brilliant, and the views from St Olaf's tower are amazing if you can manage to climb the 260 odd steps!! If we ever return we would stay in the same hotel as we feel its location and cost can't be beaten.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llpasah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this comprehensive overview!

I am absolutely sure that your writing will be extremely helpful for all the future guests of Tallinn.
Your generosity towards our little Taanilinna Hotel's staff, service and rooms will be membered and put into good use in everyday working situations. This is why we hardly ever get stressed around here!

Looking forward to have you here again!
Kind regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingisepp, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The room is very quiet at night, as in the village, a great sleep. Convenient location, near the tourist center and close to a big store. Recommended for fans of romantic evening stroll through the Old Town. The staff is friendly. Breakfast is very modest.

Room Tip: The room is very quiet at night, as in the village, a great sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Maria,

Thank you for your feedback!

I am glad that you found our accommodation enjoyable.
Surely this will help other tripadvisor users decide when they plan a visit to Tallinn.

Looking forward to host you again here at Taanilinna Hotel.

Kind regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very kind personnel in the hotel and very helpful. Great location, in the middle of the old town, yet very quiet. Supermarket is just around the corner and the walk into town is just a couple of minutes. Tallinn can be explored on foot and many great restaurants to choose from. I wouldn't suggest any of the restaurants around the town square as the prices are quite high, plus there are many great restauarants with better prices. Tallinn is a very romantic city and Taanilinna a perfect hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cobi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Cobi,

Thank you for your kind words!

It is a pleasure to hear that you have had a good time in Tallinn and in our humble hotel of Taanilinna, also.

Our gratitude goes with you as we are looking forward to see you again in the future!

Kindly,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Good location.
We were traveling with pram and baby. Stay was easy, and room gave us good sleep.
Easy to reach by car and by walking. Parking space on front yard is limited, but available for reasonable charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HLaaksonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the feedback!

I am glad that you found your stay here satisfactory. Getting a good night sleep in the middle of the Old Town of Tallinn is not at all that simple and I am happy that we could help you in that matter.

Welcome back any time!

Sincerely,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is located just in the city centre, easily reachable from the airport by public transport and the walk to the main square takes about 3 minutes. Right behind the hotel there is a fairly large supermarket and an alcohol store is just a few meters away. The harbour is within walking distance, it took us about 20 minutes to get there. The hotel itself was nice and clean, had a great variety of TV channels and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was simple, yet the food was fresh and good tasting. The dining room is small but with a great atmosphere. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful! If I ever come to Tallin again, Taanilinna will definitely be my first choice, I could not find anything wrong about the hotel. Thank you for an amazing stay.

Room Tip: we booked a cheaper room with two single beds instead of a more expensive one and pushed the beds to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TetaBata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear TetaBata,

Thank you very much for your kindness!

Nothing makes a hotel's staff happier than a guest who found their visit amazing. Your comments will surely be helpful to other tripadvisor users as well as our family in Taanilinna who are very thankful for your compliments.

I wish you all the best!

Sincerely,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#39 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#42 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#32 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taanilinna Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanilinna Hotell

Property: Taanilinna Hotell
Address: Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taanilinna Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taanilinna Hotel is a small, comfortable and stylish hotel which is located in the historical part of the Old Town not far from the city wall.* In Tallinn Old Town, close to Viru Gates* A petite and personal hotel with 20 rooms* Parking available in front of the building. The three-story hotel with stylish interior design has 20 rooms: 3 standard single rooms, 6 superior double/twin rooms (incl. 1 room with disable access), 9 economy twin rooms and 2 double deluxe rooms. The hotel has conference facilities, private parking and a terrace in the summer months. The medieval streets of the Old Town are on your door step for shopping, art galleries, museums, medieval churches and theatres as well as the best restaurants, clubs and bars. Principal Banks and Government buildings are easily accessible in the modern city centre. The hotel with its perfect location is a perfect choice for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Taanilinna Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing