We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taanilinna Hotell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taanilinna Hotell
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked an off-season package holiday with Baltic Holidays and were allocated this hotel, and were really pleasantly surprised! The staff are friendly, the rooms spacious and excellently kept, and while the breakfasts were quite simple, they were a fine start to each day.
About the only complaint I had was that in a double-room the duvets were two singles laid together, which needed some rearrangement if you wanted to be cosy with your partner. That said, the place was so well heated that you hardly needed the blankets anyway, even in mid-November.
The location is indeed excellent, the old town isn't exactly sprawling but it was still nice to have an easy, downhill walk home from a night out. And still in a secluded enough place to get a good night's sleep.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnusopod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Magnus,

Thank you very much for this early christmas present!
I cannot tell you how much it meens to receive this kind of utterly positive comments!

All I can say now is that you are more than welcome to be back here that we could properly thank you for your kindness!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    132
    44
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
149
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
244 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is that it's actually quite nice for three stars. It's obviously decorated with quality and the location is absolutely perfect. It's right in the old town yet off from the busy&noisy streets. The breakfast was very basic continental but had plenty of everything and the coffee was quite good. The staff is nice and they'll keep your luggage after check-out.

We stayed two nights in the Double Deluxe room. The room was very big, nicely decorated and very clean! It had four big windows bringing in natural light. There was a bathtub in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable but the blanket a little thin and the bed creaked on the right side. The hotel is quite small and quiet. There's no view from the room but that's the case with most of Old Town hotels, I guess.

All in all, a good hotel and good value for money. Probably great for a longer stay, too!

Room Tip: Double Deluxe room was very good! Huge, nicely decorated, large closet for clothes, desk, fridge, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristiina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Kristiina,

Thank you very much!
It is a pleasure to read these kind of comments. A perfect way to start the day in a hotel!
I hope this positive energy will get to continue the next time you visit us!

Until then - happy Christmas!

Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Because of the reasonable prices compared with other places we have stayed we booked the double delux room and found the room beautiful, spacious and clean. The majority of the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The only negative we could find would be the bed, which was uncomfortable and creaked with every turn. All in all a great holiday and would definitely return to Tallinn and this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin-Davenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Colin,

Thank you for posting a comment here about us!
It is good to read an honest but still positive post.
I hope we can be an even better host to you the next time you are here in Tallinn.

Kind regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Tannilinna Hotel is very good hotel, with small-ish but very comfortable, clean rooms including a very clean bathroom/toilet. The hotel had free wifi and the breakfast was more than adequate.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel is in a quiet location with no disturbances or noise at night. The main square is very close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southofnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Southofnorth,

Thank you for the feedback!
It is nice to see that you were happy with your choice of hotel being Taanilinna.
We are very greatful of your helpful comments!

Greetings to Portsmouth,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nice small hotel with very good location in the Old City. Comfortable clean rooms, very friendly staff (can speak russian) made our staying here perfect. Breakfast was simple but enough for morning. The hotel is really value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SvitlanaPl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgos, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We didn't have any problems finding the hotel, the location is perfect.

Although the room could appear older, it was very comfortable and have free WIFI (the connection wasn't very good sometimes due to the walls of the hotel).

The breakfast (continental) included in the price , if you are not looking for a full English breakfast with eggs and hot dishes as it was my case, is very good.

I totally recommend this hotel and would use it again in case of return to Tallin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dargorsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very few places in Tallinn have a better location than this lovely little hotel. The inside is perfectly nice, albeit the outside doesn't look amazingly pretty (but frankly I don't care about that at all), and the room that we had (twin) was easily large enough and comfortable enough for us to have no problems. The wireless was good enough to watch videos on the internet, but the breakfast did get quite dull after the second morning and could have dropped this to a four star if I'd been there for a week or two. Over a few days, however, it's perfectly fine - just maybe some more variety of bread or cheese would have been nicer. Location-wise, it's very close to the nicest stretch of the city walls, the Viru gates, the best shopping centre (just outside the old town), the cinema, various restaurants and the cheapest old town stalls. It's also next door to a supermarket, though you have to go down an alley as the supermarket's front is the hotel's back. We had very pleasant experiences with the staff, but one or two members looked a bit disgruntled and sounded a bit bored when helping us (but did help us more than they needed to).

Overall, an excellent place to go for a decent price, but don't expect that you're getting a five star hotel or are staying in some gorgeous 14th century manor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kypzethdurron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#23 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#18 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#15 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Town Maestro's
Old Town Maestro's
#30 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#10 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#41 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taanilinna Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanilinna Hotell

Property: Taanilinna Hotell
Address: Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taanilinna Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taanilinna Hotel is a small, comfortable and stylish hotel which is located in the historical part of the Old Town not far from the city wall.* In Tallinn Old Town, close to Viru Gates* A petite and personal hotel with 20 rooms* Parking available in front of the building. The three-story hotel with stylish interior design has 20 rooms: 3 standard single rooms, 6 superior double/twin rooms (incl. 1 room with disable access), 9 economy twin rooms and 2 double deluxe rooms. The hotel has conference facilities, private parking and a terrace in the summer months. The medieval streets of the Old Town are on your door step for shopping, art galleries, museums, medieval churches and theatres as well as the best restaurants, clubs and bars. Principal Banks and Government buildings are easily accessible in the modern city centre. The hotel with its perfect location is a perfect choice for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Taanilinna Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing