We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Taanilinna Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taanilinna Hotell
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Quiet location but on the edge of old city which was a bit run down.Stayed for 3 nights in September 2012. 3rd floor room was big and clean but constantly woken up in the night by with the sound of what they said was the ventilation system "firing" up. Had to change room - only one left was a room with twin beds. There was a whiff of stale drain about the place.One weedy pillow only.
Staff was helpful enough. Breakfast was uninteresting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    149
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
42
164
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here with a friend for the marathon weekend. Arrived early on Friday to be told our room was ready and we could check in straight away. Stayed in room 34. Basic twin room which was clean with a good sized bathroom. Staff couldn't be more helpful and always had a smile on their faces and were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was good value, being included in the room rate and included cereals, meat, cheese, bread, fruit yoghurt, tea, coffee, juice etc.... Location is excellent, 2 minutes walk and your in the centre of old town or walk 2minutes in the opposite direction and you're in the new part of the city.. For the price I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu7C9F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Fantastic experience: staff extremely helpful, clean and excellent location. I arrived too early in the morning and was kindly allowed to have breakfast for free. The room was with the nice view. The hotel is located in the old own so everything, including the bust stops is right there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

My friend and I had a very pleasant stay, for three nights, at this hotel. It is in a perfect location, Just on the other side of the city wall, which makes it quiet and less busy than an "Old Town" hotel. Convenient to a supermarket, drug store and the ubiquitous restaurants of Tallin. This town is a real treat to visit, lots of interesting history, lovely chocolates, marzipan and beautiful hand made linen, woolen and wood items in the shops. The free (be sure to leave a tip) guided walking tour in English ( conducted by young people) is very fun. I do feel badly however, that the young people seem cynical about their government and the inability of the Estonians to stay independent. I do hope this amazingly connected (free WI-fi everywhere) small country can continue on its path of building itself up economically and culturally and take great pride in their independence and democratic ways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nesoddtangen
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel has a friendly, personal atmosphere. The decor of the common spaces gives you the feeling of visiting some relative with a close relation to Tallinn. The location is central to the old town as well as facilities of the modern center. The rooms are relatively small, but dark wooden floors and nice old fashion windows to open are luxuries to enjoy. The mezzanine above the reception has a wonderful big table for common work or play, free wifi, and a lovely terrace outside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbergaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just got back from 3 nights staying in this hotel, the hotel location is the star attraction, it is located just a stones throw from the main sqaure and the centre of the old town, very nearby are transport links, bars, restaurants, attractions and shops.
The hotel itself is easy to find if your using public transport or a €7 fare in a cab from the airport, the staff were friendly and informative and our room was ready even tho it was only noon when we arrived.
Our room was very clean, a touch on the small side yes but cosy, breakfast was a typical eastern european breakfast but it was just right for me to start the day!
The only slight groans that i can make is that the curtains were just a thin net curtain which allowed a lot of light to come through and the lack of air conditioning meant the windows had to be left open overnight and that resulted in more early morning noise but these really are small compliants and i would advise anybody to stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodsy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kriens, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. The location of the Taanilinna Hotel is just perfect. It is situated at the entrance to the Old Town near the Viru gate. Therefore, all Old Town sights are within walking distance, as is the modern city centre. Nonetheless, the hotel is relatively quiet at night, because it is situated on a less frequented side street. The hotel has a comfortable and rustic feel to it; the rooms are tastefully furnished and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free WIFI was working fine in most parts of the hotel.
The only drawback was the breakfast which was a little basic, but all in all the Taanilinna offers very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paruvai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#22 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
0.2 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taanilinna Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanilinna Hotell

Property: Taanilinna Hotell
Address: Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taanilinna Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taanilinna Hotel is a small, comfortable and stylish hotel which is located in the historical part of the Old Town not far from the city wall.* In Tallinn Old Town, close to Viru Gates* A petite and personal hotel with 20 rooms* Parking available in front of the building. The three-story hotel with stylish interior design has 20 rooms: 3 standard single rooms, 6 superior double/twin rooms (incl. 1 room with disable access), 9 economy twin rooms and 2 double deluxe rooms. The hotel has conference facilities, private parking and a terrace in the summer months. The medieval streets of the Old Town are on your door step for shopping, art galleries, museums, medieval churches and theatres as well as the best restaurants, clubs and bars. Principal Banks and Government buildings are easily accessible in the modern city centre. The hotel with its perfect location is a perfect choice for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taanilinna Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing