We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Nearby Hotels
$152
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Swissotel Tallinn(Tallinn)
$149
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Telegraaf(Tallinn)
$200
$176
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$131
$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$329
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Palace(Tallinn)
$137
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$192
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,624)
Filter reviews
1,624 results
Traveler rating
409
741
336
98
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
741
336
98
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskgb museumshopping mallsoviet timesold towndirect accessbig hotelinteresting historybusiness class roomtop floorexcellent locationjunior suitesame buildingwindow sillbreakfast restaurantfamily roomstandard rooman upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 1,624 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The reason that we chose this hotel is the fact that the location is excellent, you have easy access to other destinations, shopping and old town. Also the hotel's long history is quite fascinating and the service is friendly. We were offered a higher classified room at 20 euros additional rate and we took it. However it's not worth paying. You have sofa, 2 little bottels of water, a possibility to cook coffee/tea - we had only 2 portions of coffee available. Additionally you can find hard-washed bathrobes and slippers tightly rolled in the cabinet. Breakfast was average but there was something to be desired concerning the dressing of waiting staff - one dish collector had fashionable trousers, which left too much naked of her buttocks - it is not nice when others are having their breakfast. At any case we can warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjaana54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

A big hotel, conveniently situated, good standard, just enough for a short stop in Tallinn between the sailing in and out. Gives good access to the old town, various restaurants and near by shopping facilities in the town. We stayed there for one night on our cruise from Helsinki with our Danish friends.

The rooms we booked as part of the Viking Line cruise were small but who wants to spend hours in the room when there is just limited time available for something else. However, the reception nicely offered us bigger rooms of almost double the size at the the additional 20 euro/room but we did not considered it applicable.

At the ground level, there was direct access to the Viru Shopping Mall. Amarillos restaurant and bar was also nice for quick bite during the day and night cap at the end of the day. Breakfast hall was sooner a hall than restaurant by nature. Obviously en-heritage from the old CCCR times when planned and built. Breakfast itself was good with plenty of choice and varieties. Service in the hotel as part of a Finnish hotel group was to the expectations, fluent and of good standard. There was nothing luxurious but adequate as for our need for the hotel in this case was.

Room Tip: In case you desire to have the view to the Old Town require for it. The higher you are the more you see and less street noise you get. There is free luggage room services available after check-out.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekuvita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was in Tallin for work and then checked in here for a couple of days to myself exploring the city. It's proximity to the Old Town is fantastic so it's a great base to come back to after a hard afternoons shopping, sightseeing and sampling of local beer.

I checked in early and had a lovely warm welcome in English. I was put in one of their newly refurbished rooms (20th floor) which wasn't huge but was finished nicely. The bed was comfortable, the view over the port / sea was brilliant, and the room was kept nice and warm.

I made use of the therapy centre with a back / shoulder massage with easily booked, reasonably priced and very effective.

The only downside to this being a huge hotel was the manic nature of breakfast and the difficultly of finding a sea during peak times.

Overall a nice stay at the hotel which helped towards a relaxing weekend in Tallin.

Room Tip: Floor 20 has been refurbished, and make sure you get a front facing room that looks out to the port / sea.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanD_Lincoln_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is nice but a bit below our expectations. The room and breakfast were OK... the big downside was the lounge which was always extremely busy!

The highlight for this hotel is the KGB Museum. A visit is really worth and informative... however make sure you book in advance as they don't have many groups per day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The location of this big hotel is the best. It is connected to a large shopping mall, so if you like shopping you don't have to go outside. It's also right next to the old town. We were in a superior double room on the 12th floor. This room had clearly been renewed and created from two separate rooms, it even had two bathrooms. In some of these rooms the other bathroom is a sauna, but we didn't upgrade for that (cost was around twenty euros). The room was exceptionally spacious, we liked it very much. Good TV channels too. The hotel is oldish an has that soviet feel to it, that we found charming (now that it's gone). Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews