We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good located traditional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Ranked #26 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good located traditional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The reason that we chose this hotel is the fact that the location is excellent, you have easy access to other destinations, shopping and old town. Also the hotel's long history is quite fascinating and the service is friendly. We were offered a higher classified room at 20 euros additional rate and we took it. However it's not worth paying. You have sofa, 2 little bottels of water, a possibility to cook coffee/tea - we had only 2 portions of coffee available. Additionally you can find hard-washed bathrobes and slippers tightly rolled in the cabinet. Breakfast was average but there was something to be desired concerning the dressing of waiting staff - one dish collector had fashionable trousers, which left too much naked of her buttocks - it is not nice when others are having their breakfast. At any case we can warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjaana54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    317
    140
    34
    13
See reviews for
141
182
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A big hotel, conveniently situated, good standard, just enough for a short stop in Tallinn between the sailing in and out. Gives good access to the old town, various restaurants and near by shopping facilities in the town. We stayed there for one night on our cruise from Helsinki with our Danish friends.

The rooms we booked as part of the Viking Line cruise were small but who wants to spend hours in the room when there is just limited time available for something else. However, the reception nicely offered us bigger rooms of almost double the size at the the additional 20 euro/room but we did not considered it applicable.

At the ground level, there was direct access to the Viru Shopping Mall. Amarillos restaurant and bar was also nice for quick bite during the day and night cap at the end of the day. Breakfast hall was sooner a hall than restaurant by nature. Obviously en-heritage from the old CCCR times when planned and built. Breakfast itself was good with plenty of choice and varieties. Service in the hotel as part of a Finnish hotel group was to the expectations, fluent and of good standard. There was nothing luxurious but adequate as for our need for the hotel in this case was.

Room Tip: In case you desire to have the view to the Old Town require for it. The higher you are the more you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekuvita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was in Tallin for work and then checked in here for a couple of days to myself exploring the city. It's proximity to the Old Town is fantastic so it's a great base to come back to after a hard afternoons shopping, sightseeing and sampling of local beer.

I checked in early and had a lovely warm welcome in English. I was put in one of their newly refurbished rooms (20th floor) which wasn't huge but was finished nicely. The bed was comfortable, the view over the port / sea was brilliant, and the room was kept nice and warm.

I made use of the therapy centre with a back / shoulder massage with easily booked, reasonably priced and very effective.

The only downside to this being a huge hotel was the manic nature of breakfast and the difficultly of finding a sea during peak times.

Overall a nice stay at the hotel which helped towards a relaxing weekend in Tallin.

Room Tip: Floor 20 has been refurbished, and make sure you get a front facing room that looks out to the port...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanD_Lincoln_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is nice but a bit below our expectations. The room and breakfast were OK... the big downside was the lounge which was always extremely busy!

The highlight for this hotel is the KGB Museum. A visit is really worth and informative... however make sure you book in advance as they don't have many groups per day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The location of this big hotel is the best. It is connected to a large shopping mall, so if you like shopping you don't have to go outside. It's also right next to the old town. We were in a superior double room on the 12th floor. This room had clearly been renewed and created from two separate rooms, it even had two bathrooms. In some of these rooms the other bathroom is a sauna, but we didn't upgrade for that (cost was around twenty euros). The room was exceptionally spacious, we liked it very much. Good TV channels too. The hotel is oldish an has that soviet feel to it, that we found charming (now that it's gone). Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JIL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A big chain restaurant in the middle of city centre. Location is excelent.

This soviet era hotel from 70s in nowadays run by Finnish Sokos hotel chain and they have converted it to their tasteless and odorless basic concept. Nothing fancy, nothing really worth mentioning. Everything is about average. Rooms are normal. Of course being one of the most used hotels in town, some rooms show that.

There are plenty of private saunas to rent, which is a plus.

Tallinn has plenty of better restaurants so need to stay in hotel for dinner. I have normally skipped using restaurants here, only occasioonal beer in the lobby.

Good for shoppers as contacted to one of the biggest malls in town.

Average place but pretty unimaginative. Be also prepared for drunk Finnish

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
364 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were a group of 15 people staying 2 nights in the hotel and most of us didn´t prefer this hotel to a nearby hotel, where we stayed in May. There is nothing special to put your finger on, but the overall impression was not perfect and we didn´t like the atmosphere in the breakfast buffet as it being a little too impersonal.

The access to shopping mall without going out is fine and the Old Town is near the hotel and only a short walk and you are there. The beds were alright, even though some of us got douple beds instead of separate beds and these rooms were quite small.
No safe-deposit box in Standard rooms and you couldn´t open the windows. Rooms were clean and towels changed even though they were hanging in the hook and not on the floor.

There are beauty salons both in 2. floor and 3. floor. I made 2 bookings on the 3. floor salon, one facial treatment and one body treatment, but they are quite expensive if you compare them to other nearby beauty salons and their website doesn´t explain the treatments sufficiently enough and the salon in 2. floor website I didn´t find beforehand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#9 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
#10 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#19 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#21 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Viru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Address: Viru vaeljak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you haven’t been in the legendary Viru Hotel, you haven’t seen all of Tallinn. The first skyscraper and prominent landmark in Estonia offers breathtaking views of Tallinn Bay and Tallinn’s UNESCO protected medieval Old Town. The hotel has the widest range of room types, restaurants, entertainment facilities, relaxation services and the “must see” KGB museum all under the same roof. Original Sokos Hotel Viru provides direct access to the Viru Centre shopping mall and is close to theatres and popular cultural centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Viru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing