We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very nice an clean hotel. Friendly and helpfull staff. The hotell is very good for weekend stay.We stayd at the hotel in November and had a room on the second floor facing the courtyard/ parkingspace and we heard no noice at night . Beds were ok and the bathroom clean. The brakfeast was ok/ very ordinary. The location is very good if you like to visit the old town. I can recomend this hotell.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Helenasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 467 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Location is good and the entrance in the inner courtyard made the hotel more tranquil than I expected. Rooms are small, view from the window is cheerless, sleeping comfort ok, albeit you could hear conversations through the walls. Bathroom is ok, shower stall is good size and keeps the water in. Wall to wall carpet was not very clean. Minibar was plentiful: on account of that credit card guarantee was required at check in.

There is also possible to reserve different kind of massages in the hotel with convenient prices and the massage with hot stones I chose was professionally cared for. Unfortunately there is no price list in website and no email address to make the reservation beforehand.

Breakfast was adequate, more products were carried before the dishes were empty and coffee was nice and hot.

For summer months the lack of air-conditioning is the biggest flaw, for autumn and winter months this hotel is ok if you manage to get a good price. I could visit this hotel a second time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you are on a mini-break then this hotel is ideal as if you are like us, and want something comfortable but perfectly located to explore the old town and different eating out options. If on business or looking for the full package then perhaps you should look elsewhere!
The hotel is spotlessly clean although the rooms are simply and plainly furnished and the staff pleasant. The breakfast is varied and reasonable and offers hot/cold options with plenty of juices and coffee as you'd expect. There is also a pub integral to the hotel which means that, if its very cold outside, you don't need to venture out at all. The hotel also offers various spa and sauna facilities but we didn't try any of these. All in all a fairly simple hotel but I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front of the building as (at least) some of the others look onto a br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleRedBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here in October for a weekend city break. The hotel is ideally located, near all the main sights which are within easy walking distance. The room, and breakfast, were reasonably basic (I'd class this as more 3 stars), but for the location and price you'd struggle to get better. Reception were very helpful also.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mike75699557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I Stayed in Vana Wiru with my daughter and friends. The main reason choosing this Hotel for a short holiday in Tallinn was the perfect location. Didn't really expect much more and that was the case.

The service was simply a failure. After checking in we entered into our room, which had not been cleaned. Dirty and wet towels on the floor, sheets unchanged and trash bin full of something smelling. The lady in the front desk did not bother to apologise the mess but nevertheless arranged the cleaning. My friend got a wrong room but was not given any discount or regrets. I consider that kind of behaviour inexcusable.

Breakfast was ok, room rather spacious and location perfect. The hotel is little tired, but what really irritated me was the cold service. Probably won't be coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aukusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Nice very centrally located Hotel in Tallinn.
Located on the main street that gets you into the center of town, a few steps from public transport, Viru Center Shopping Center and Car Park.
Big Rooms with lots of light. Very Clean. Big bathroom with huge shower.
Good choice of food at the Breakfats buffet.
A pub is located inside the Hotel with access from the street so it is always possible to have a drink or some food.
Well Mannered and caring Staf. Free WiFi

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Vana Wiru has excellent location for exploring the Old city. This is main reason for overall 'Very good' rating. Standard rooms are basic, superior rooms are much nicer. We know because we were first placed into standard room, but after asking from the reception we were promptly changed into superior room according our prepaid reservation: much nicer room indeed!
Overall years of use are a bit visible in the rooms, but nothing too bad. Rooms are clean. Beds are a bit soft, but OK! Hotel breakfast is good, nothing to complain. Service is polite. Car parking is available in the hotel yard (15€ / night). Good base for exploring the Old city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jouni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.6 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#30 of 86 in Tallinn
528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
688 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 86 in Tallinn
1,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rixwell Old Town Hotel
Rixwell Old Town Hotel
#44 of 86 in Tallinn
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru

Address: Viru 11, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $74 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru is a stylish and cosy hotel. The hotel offers professional service to its guest at the excellent location in the old town of Tallinn. The building dates back to the 1950s. Renovated and converted into a hotel in 2002. Our hotel has 82 rooms, a spacious lobby/lobby bar, restaurant Complemento, Vana Wiru Pub, conference facility, meeting room, Turkish and Finnish saunas, luggage room and private parking. The hotel also provides free Wi-Fi in the entire property and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing