We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a luxury, but ok”
Review of Pirita Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pirita Spa Hotel
Ranked #48 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Joensuu, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Not a luxury, but ok”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Located outside of city. it takes about 10min to get there by car. Taxi costs about 10euros to he city. The hotel is huge soviet style concreate building. It was build for Moscow olympics. This is ok if you dont wait for five star luxury hotel. Hotel staff was friendly and service was good. Threre are long corridors to the rooms and it could be a quit a walk. The room was little bit out dated, but adequate and clean. No aircon. Free wifi at lobby, internet access from the room was availeble for extra cost. Parking was free. We left restaurant with mixed feelings. Another dish was superb and another was cold and raw. They corrected mistake professoinally. Restaurant service was also good and friendly. Breakfast was buffet style and there was lot of alternative choices and also quality seemed ok. In the spa ou will finde lot of diffrent kind of treatments, these seemed overpriced. Fitness center has extra fee for hotel guests. We didint try swimming pool or saunas.There are lots of activity availeble, like mini golf, corona etc.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mmikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear mmikko,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your recent trip to Tallinn.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Pirita SPA Hotel.


With best wishes,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Pirita SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    143
    129
    45
    40
See reviews for
169
110
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located far enough outside of Tallinn that you will almost surely want to take a bus or taxi into town. Fortunately, the fares are inexpensive (~2 Euro via bus and 8-10 Euro via taxi). The hotel itself is an old, heavy cemented building with a very odd layout. I would absolutely not recommend this hotel for disabled persons, as there are lengthy walks and (often though not necessarily always) stairs on your way from the main entrance to your room.

There appears to be no air conditioning, so the summer temperatures can become a bit uncomfortable. It doesn't help that the balconies connecting the rooms are not secure (easily hopped/walked across), and so we were hesitant to leave our balcony door open. Even more so once we realized that our neighbors were a group of very rowdy Russians, banging against the walls, yelling and jumping around the balcony at unpredictable hours of the day and night. While the room was adequately clean, it was not exceptionally so, and was definitely not very sound proof at all. Construction throughout the hotel was shoddy, with big pieces of plaster and concrete falling from the balcony ceilings outside... there was a chunk at least a foot long laying on the balcony next to ours, that could easily be discerned as having fallen from the above ceiling!

The breakfast offered impressive quantity, but the quality was lacking. Nevertheless, because there is a lot of stuff available, you can probably find something you will enjoy. However, it does get busy, and we did see a disgruntled queue in front of the coffee machines more than once when they had trouble keeping up with the demand. The restaurant dining area on the 5th floor offers you an excellent view of the Baltic on one side. While breakfast was nothing impressive, the dinner service was very good, offering high quality foods presented in an innovative fine dining style. Some portions are exceedingly small (like the corn fed chicken), but in all, the dinner menu including desserts, was probably the best thing this hotel had to offer.

They do have a large swimming pool and spa services, although you end up paying a surcharge for almost everything so I decided to opt out given the generally poor repair of the entire hotel. There is a very simplistic indoor mini golf setup, and the kids definitely enjoyed the pool. Staff at the front desk was very nice, but that was a small consolation for an otherwise dreary and aging hotel experience. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geothrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this review and sharing it on TripAdvisor.

I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. I really appreciate that you were satisfied with our staff service.

Once again thank you for the feedback and hope to welcome you back in Pirita TOP SPA Hotel in the near future!


With best regards,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

jäppilä finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

So maybe it was out of season, but our room was very affordable. The hotel is not even close to luxurious, but with a small price the room was clean, large and included breakfast. This hotel is on the water but there isn't a nice waterfront area until you walk a little further either way. The pool was a normal pool, sauna good, but not a spa to me. I didn't try any of the hundreds of treatments available, so no comment on them. We drove our own car from Finland so no idea on the public transport, I heard it was very affordable as well. You get what you pay for so in that sense this was a very good deal, granted I woulnt pay anymore if I went back to this place. p.s. Staff was fine, yes as someone mentioned before no fridge, and we asked if we could get ice they said flat out no.

Room Tip: Not a high end place, or luxury spa if that's what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiiaandbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Pirita TOP SPA Hotel and sharing your review on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that the services you received were up to your expectations.

We hope to see you soon in the very near future.

Best regards,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinola, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

From the balcony we had nice sea view. Everything was ok. But room wasn't quite what we exepted, cleaning was poor (dirty glass under the bed). There wasn't any fridge on the room. And in the balcony, there wasn't any table and only two chears. In the lobby bar staff was unfriedly but reception's staff was ok.
Hotel's restaurant and lobby-bar were quite expencive.
Breakfast was nice but there were so much eaters that sometimes popular dishes went off. Some of residents took food to their own bags and that dosn't seem to bother the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmaMarMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear AlmaMarMar,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor!

I am very sorry that the hotel room was not up to your expectations. But I´m glad that you liked breakfast and sea view.

Thank you and with best wishes from Tallinn,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Based upon the reviews, I was expecting a huge hotel and counted on our room probably being far from the entrance. And it was like I imagined. I liked the breakfast (although the hotel is really crowded, so we decided to wake early in order to be able to eat in peace), I liked the pool, I liked the mini-golf course, I liked that the busstop is close and that taxis are always waiting at the entrance. The room was clean, although old-fashioned, so that's okay.
There was one thing I disliked. We have booked a junior suite (2 adults, 2 schoolkids), and when we checked in, the receptionist asked us whether we want a family room? She said it was the same, only kids sleep in a bunk bed, not on fold-out beds, so she believes it is much more comfortable. We asked again if otherwise it comes with the same conditions? Yes, she said.
Well, she was wrong. As it turned out, the family room consisted of only one room, whereas the junior suite had 2 rooms. Family room had no fridge, junior suite had a big one. Family rooms were tucked in the end of the long hotel, whereas junior suites were close to the entrance. Not to mention that family rooms are situated next to family rooms - so we had small children for neighbours.
I really hated that we were being lied to, and downgraded to a worse room. Sooo - be careful!
Also bear in mind all the disadvantages of a big hotel. There was only 1 receptionist at all times, so at around 10am or 8pm you have no chance of talking to staff. Also our booking was done for one day later that we actually asked?!? They could sort this out quickly (we showed them our email), but still...
If you count with all the above, this hotel is actually rather a 4 than 3.

Room Tip: The junior suite was fine: a bedroom and a sitting room. Try and ask for a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisz_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Krisz_says,

Thank you for this review and sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

Sorry to read that you were disappointed. I will discuss your review with reception team and make improvements to our operations.

If you decide to return to Pirita TOP SPA Hotel, please contact me personally through the front desk so I can allocate you to a bigger room.

With best regards,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel ir situated some 6 km from the centre/old town, but you can reach it by bus in about 15 min (4 buses go that direction). The hotel ir spacious, but simple, either rooms, but clean, in normal condition. But the distance from the centre and simplicity ir compensated by the pool of 25 m length and 2 baths – finnish bath (sauna) and vapour bath. They have a wellnes centre as well.
Half of rooms are with sea view. The lobby bar was poor for non-drinkers and high prices not adequate, so the restaurant. You can have your breakfast on the top floor with windows to the sea. It was ok – fooD, seaview, drinks, service.
We would return to this hotel, why not? Good price for that value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dania16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Dania16,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor!
We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your recent trip to Tallinn.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Pirita TOP SPA Hotel.


Kind regards,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very undfrienly. The service was poor too. The ugly building. Good breakfast. Nice sea view. Expensive. The hotell bars and restouranges has almost as same price as in Finland. I can not recommed. Beayty salong is ok, but quite expensive too. Sport center is good but there was not much users. Free wifi at the hotell loppy. That was most positive think. Most of costomers are old finnish people.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaaVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear JaaVa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your comments about breakfast, sea view and WiFi connection at the hotel lobby. But I am very sorry to hear that our service was not up to your expectations. We will work towards improving our service.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tallinn
4.6 mi away
Lavendel Spa Hotel
Lavendel Spa Hotel
#51 of 85 in Tallinn
45 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Braavo
Hotel Braavo
#50 of 85 in Tallinn
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ecoland
Ecoland
#73 of 85 in Tallinn
104 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rocca al Mare
Rocca al Mare
#53 of 85 in Tallinn
183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tallinn Viimsi SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirita Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirita Spa Hotel

Property: Pirita Spa Hotel
Address: Purje 9, Tallinn 11911, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirita Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirita Spa Hotel is located 10 minutes from the City Center on the beautiful Pirita beachfront overlooking the bay and the Tallinn Old Town. Pirita is an amazing place for visitors who like to relax away from the fast city life, but at the same time stay close to all the action. Our hotel offers rooms with a beautiful view of the sea and our every room has a balcony. Guests are welcome to enjoy their time with us by relaxing at the spa, swimming in our 25 meter pool, dining at our Regatta restaurant which offers a panoramic view, or just spending time in the beautiful nature that surrounds Pirita Spa Hotel. Our hotel was built more than 35 years ago for the 1980 Moscow Olympic Games and is a true marble of the Soviet era architecture. Come have a look and spend your vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pirita Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirita Top Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing