We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the well-travelled”
Review of Pirita Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pirita Spa Hotel
Ranked #50 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Helsinki
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not for the well-travelled”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Being built for the Olympics of Moscow 1980 you can expect the hotel being somewhat out-dated and it is! Hard to tell when it has been renovated, but it must have been a long time ago. Long corridors, a dirty wall-to-wall carpet, an oldfashioned bathroom and a modest breakfast with hundreds of Finnish tourists. Well, compared with the price they charge for the rooms, one can say it is okay, but there are so many hotels in Tallinn which offer much better quality and have great prices during off-season months, that there is no reason to choose this. The hotel claims they have internet connection in the rooms, but, in fact, you need to pay 99 euro deposit for the modem, 5 euro for 24 hours and there are only two modems available for the hotel of this size (267 rooms)! Top Spa - not for the well-travelled.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

The hotel was built in 1980 for the yachting regatta of the Olympic Games. Long corridors are because of the unique architecture of the hotel and therefore the access to the rooms is only through the 2. Floor.

Sorry to read that you were disappointed about internet connection possibilities. Free WIFI is available in the hotel lobby. Otherwise is possible to use dial-up internet connection in the room or rent a modem.

If you decide to return to Pirita TOP SPA Hotel, please contact me personally through the reception so I can book you a modem beforehand.

Hope to welcome you back in Pirita TOP SPA Hotel.

With best regards,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    147
    132
    47
    41
See reviews for
176
112
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Were there as part of a group booking, not the most luxurious but perfectly adequate, one gripe was the lack of WiFi, it only worked in and around reception, bit of a pain.
Room was fine with a see view, it's a large hotel with fantastic spa facilities and pools, and the food and the bars were very acceptable, staff were very helpful and friendly. Town centre 10 mins by bus, and the old town was fantastic. Would probably stay closer to centre next time, but that is no reflection on the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugething007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triinu R, Front Office Manager at Pirita Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Indeed free WIFI is available in hotel lobby area.

I am glad that that you liked our SPA facilities and pools. Our hotel offers a choice of health, beauty and wellness treatments and packages.

Thank you for kind words on our staff. Hope to welcome you back in Pirita TOP SPA Hotel in the very near future!

Best regards,

Triinu Rebane
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pirita Top Spa hotel is situated in Pirita area, about 10 minutes by bus or taxi. The first reaction when we arrived to this hotel was, are we in Soviet Union ;)?, due to the architecture of the hotel. However, the hotel has a great number of rooms, a welness & beaty center, and a small shop. The quality of rooms varies. We stayed in "marine" room which has a balcony and window towards the sea. This was very nice. The room itself was rather outdated with dirty fitted carpet and terrible "cheap men's colone" smell. There was no aircondition. We were glad to have the balcony and possibility to get fresh air from outside. The hotel was peacefull the time we stayed there. Breakfast was good.

What adds the points to overall rating is the Welness Center. It has comprehensive selection of spa and beaty treatments with good price. Try these if you are going to stay in the hotel. The hotel has also a swimming pool ( 25 m) and saunas, included in the room price.

This hotel is a good choise if you want a relaxing holiday with some indulgence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinTravelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel is old and made of concrete, but it's situated on the beach and some of the rooms have great views. Also there is a spa where you can get all sorts of treatments from getting your hair cut to a manicure or a massage. The pool and sauna's are free to use for hotel guests. The service was good, everyone was very nice. They speak at least good finnish and english there. They had wifi on the lobby only, so you can't use it in your room.

Pirita-area is about 5min taxi ride from the center and it's good if you want to spend your time on the beach and on spa treatments and visit the center now and then. The hotel's restaurant was good, we were surprised how good the food was. So no need to stay hungry there. There is a shop, a doctor and a dentist, pharmacy, optician and all sort of services within the hotel. it's not a luxury resort, but if you don't mind the old hotel and a lot of corridors, you can have a good time here.

Room Tip: Take a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paivimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Perfectly situated hotel ,directly on Pirita seashore .All Marine Class rooms are frontal sea view rooms ! Building is outdated ,in fact ,its historical heritage of Moscow Olympic games with endless corridors and just some elevators.Typical 3 star breakfast ,not bad at all.

Room Tip: Top floor Marine Class only !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPoloEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

well we got nice view from room number 210 and also 211 is nice, but balkony and carpets dirty;( The beach near just over the bridge and bus number 1A,8 and 34 and 38 goes for 1 euro to the city. The funny thing was that we had bad picture and no voice on some TVchannels and the reception told its because of the sun??? For short stay and when its sun ok.I also miss the bacon at breakfast.

Room Tip: well 210B and 211 B had nice view;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmenHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I planned to watch and listen to the Eurovision Song Contest 2012 in my room, but the neighbours did not allow me to. It was because a normal speaking volume coudl be heard in the next room. Just terrible!. Then I went to a pub in the city center. A taxi takes about 10 minutes and ten Euros. Otherwise I would rate this hotel to average. The breakfast was good and especially the restaurant view is unique to the Gulf of Finland. Also the building itself is an interesting reminder of the past Russian construction style in Estonia. There were lots of various spa treatments at a moderate price. A proper swimming pool (25m) was great and the steam sauna which included to the room price. The staff was hmmm... quite helpful but not smiling.
Somehow I still would not say I never go there again... Let´s see...

Room Tip: At least you must ask if they have better sound proofed rooms... The B-section rooms all have a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelsinkiJom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
4.6 mi away
Lavendel Spa Hotel
Lavendel Spa Hotel
#49 of 86 in Tallinn
46 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
6.5 mi away
Rocca al Mare
Rocca al Mare
#51 of 86 in Tallinn
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ecoland Hotel-Boutique
Ecoland Hotel-Boutique
#73 of 86 in Tallinn
107 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#18 of 86 in Tallinn
297 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Braavo
Hotel Braavo
#52 of 86 in Tallinn
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirita Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirita Spa Hotel

Property: Pirita Spa Hotel
Address: Purje 9, Tallinn 11911, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirita Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirita Spa Hotel is located 10 minutes from the City Center on the beautiful Pirita beachfront overlooking the bay and the Tallinn Old Town. Pirita is an amazing place for visitors who like to relax away from the fast city life, but at the same time stay close to all the action. Our hotel offers rooms with a beautiful view of the sea and our every room has a balcony. Guests are welcome to enjoy their time with us by relaxing at the spa, swimming in our 25 meter pool, dining at our Regatta restaurant which offers a panoramic view, or just spending time in the beautiful nature that surrounds Pirita Spa Hotel. Our hotel was built more than 35 years ago for the 1980 Moscow Olympic Games and is a true marble of the Soviet era architecture. Come have a look and spend your vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pirita Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirita Top Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing