We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed for a stag do here over weekend of 4/4 to 6/4 and hotel was OK except the 15minute walk into the old town all the time and the fact is in the middle of nowhere with no bars/restaurants nearby at all, That said it was comfortable and clean and did a job for us which was basically a base to sleep after some wonderful nights in the Old Town bars and clubs. Beautiful city is Tallinn and an effortless place to get around easily,
Would recommend the hotel but if you do not fancy a a walk through some drab streets to get anywhere then maybe consider the options. It is not the best looking place on arrival and certainly the location is not ideal on a busy intersection and run down area but we never felt it was un secure as a group of 10 males walking back at 3 in the morning but females would maybe have different ideas.

Room Tip: Rooms are all clean and tidy so not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear lisbo,

Thanks a lot for this review!

We are glad that you chose Kreutzwald hotel for your previous visit to Tallinn!

True- our hotel is not situated in the heart of the city, but the hotel is situated in the city centre, just a walking distance away from the Old Town and therefore has excellent location for both - leisure and business travellers. We also provide shuttle service and our receptionists can also always call up a taxi within few minutes if needed.

Nevertheless, location is something that we can not change and therefore it is often a matter of personal preferance.

Thank you once more for this review and we are more than glad to welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo
Front Office Manager
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 885 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel is situated at a main road, the rooms on the front side are very noisy. The rooms are well equipped, the reception staff is nice, the breakfast is good. No elevator from entrance to the lobby and to the restaurant in the cellar. 10 min walk to the old city center. Bus stop in front of the hotel (for example with direct link to the University of Technology).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window to the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Linde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear M_Linde,

Thank you for staying with us in Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn and we appreciate your review!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be delighted to welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo
Front Office Manager
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

After renovation it's really modern and pleasant hotel.
We stayed at ZEN room.

Positives: Good location, nice interior, bubble bath!, free Internet, computer, good service, good breakfast, free parking

Negatives: our room was next to a big road, so it was really noisy at night; few parking spots, but free parking!

Room Tip: When you book the room make sure you'll get the room which is not next to the big road (the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Oliver,

Thank you for staying with us at the Kreutzwald Hotel and thanks for taking time to write this review!

Indeed, the rooms to the street side can be a bit noisy sometimes due to heavy traffic coming from main road, however during this years renovation we will change all the windows facing to the street to a 3-layer ones which will definately prevent all disturbance caused by street noises in the future.

Thanks again for staying with us and we are glad to welcome you back any time!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo
Front Office Manager
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

When I first saw the hotel from the outside, my spirits dropped a little. Its appearance is rather stark and it is situated on an ugly, busy road. However, once inside my impression changed. It is bright and quiet and no traffic sound intrudes, thanks to the excellent double glazing.

The staff are polite, helpful and pleasant, as were all the people we met in Tallin. The rooms on the south side overlook a residential area so if you are at all concerned about possible noise, ask for one of these. The morning sunshine made a happy start to the day and the heating system was superb. Each room has a kettle and a computer, so there is no need to search for an internet café or risk running up a high bill on your smart phone. The bedsheets were very soft and the bed comfortable. There was hardly any disturbance from other rooms.

Breakfasts were excellent with a range of cooked dishes in addition to fresh fruit, yoghurts, cold meat, cheese, cereals, etc. The dining room had a relaxed atmosphere.

The only drawback is that this hotel would not suitable for someone who dislikes an uphill walk of about 20 minutes to the old town. I usually found it invigorating, but when snow turns to slush and walking becomes a little precarious, I think a more centrally located hotel would be preferable.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one that does not face the main road.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaMurcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you can afford the extra choose a zen suite we had jacuzzi in room computer large tv and lounge area fantastic. Good value for whAT WE PAID

We found breakfast was just right for what we wanted as my husband loves fish and yes breakfast has so much off it plus fruite and cooked brekie and more.

as people comented a bus ride away from old town or a 10 minute walk which we didnt mind or a taxi was cheap enough 6-7 euros

Staff were lovely couldnt fault our stay deffo use again if going to Tallin

Room Tip: zen suite high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicodog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear chicodog1,

Thank you very much for taking time to write this review.

We are glad that you chose Kreutzwald Hotel in Tallinn for your stay and we are always happy to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo

Front Office Manager
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My friend and I have just come back from four nights in the Kreutzwald Hotel and were very happy with everything, apart, perhaps, from the location. The hotel is comfortable, warm and very well equipped. We were both very happy with our rooms. There were tea and coffee making facilities and - joy of joys! - a computer with free internet access so that we could contact our families whilst we were away without the usual hassle that we have with smartphones. The showers were excellent; the breakfast was plentiful and varied; the beds were comfortable; the staff were helpful, pleasant and courteous. What more can one say?

However, we did feel that the location was a little too far from the old town for our liking. We had been expecting it to be about 5 - 10 minutes walk whereas in fact it was more like 20 - 25 minutes, and my friend and I are not slow walkers. One night it snowed and it was quite difficult having to negotiate the streets in the snow and ice. The walk seemed to last forever that night!

However, apart from that one thing, we were both very happy with the Kreutzwald and found it to be comfortable, pleasant and very well equipped in every way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Andrew and Jenny,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you chose Kreutzwald Hotel in Tallinn for your stay and we will be happy to welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Kadi Saadlo
Front Office Manager
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Value for your money if you don't mind staying outside the old town. Very nice staff, decent food and peaceful rooms, the jacuzzi was a nice plus! (we had a "zen room") The steam sauna and the little pool downstairs were so relaxing after a long day of travel. There's a bus stop just outside the hotel, very handy if you don't prefer to walk or use the taxi. We had travelcards and we used public transportation all the time to get around Tallinn. Rooms are not super fancy, but there's everything you need and they are clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KadiGS, Front Office Manager at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Esparrag0,

Thank you very much for the review!

We are glad that you chose Kreutzwald hotel for your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
673 reviews
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
919 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Address: Endla 23, Tallinn 10122, Estonia (Formerly Uniquestay Mihkli Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#10 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $67 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn is located close to the National Library of Estonia at Toenismaegi, one of the most famous landmarks of Tallinn, and has taken its name from the former name of the library, the Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald State Library. The hotel is located in a historical limestone building and was completed in 1953, the same period the State Library was named after Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald, an outstanding public figure of the National Awakening Period of Estonia in the 19th century and the author of the Estonian national epic poem, “Kalevipoeg“. The hotel recently completed a throughout the renovation, which has retained the buildings’ historical authenticity and at the same time added a firm measurement of innovative design and modern comfort to the historical ambiance. After the renovation, the hotel now has a total of 65 comfortable and stylish rooms and suites: 32 standard rooms, 18 ZEN rooms, and 15 ZEN Deluxe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uniquestay Mihkli Tallinn
Hotel Uniquestay Mihkli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing