We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The room had everything we needed, the staff were great (happy to book us cabs etc) and the food was very nice (steak on the stone was lovely). It's a quick walk to the old town (~10mins) and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 916 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was put in charge of planning a stag do for 15 people and there's a lot that could go wrong but I have to say that the Kreutzwald Hotel and mainly their staff were just fantastic and delivered in every way.

The concierge was really knowledgeable and helpful in the planning and gave me lots of tip-offs and ideas while I was figuring out what to do for the whole weekend. I was able to book transfers, dinners for both nights, guestlists at nightclubs and activities during the day (we did guns) in advance and he dealt with some last minute changes to numbers and itinerary very capably. Also perfect English. Felt like I was getting the best out of the weekend from someone informed and not on commission as opposed to using one of the many stag party websites, where you're always not quite sure whether you're getting what you pay for.

We got a 'special' transfer from the airport to the hotel that carried the stag in a retro Soviet ambulance, whilst the rest were in retro Soviet buses, all organised by the hotel. Was a €1.30 upgrade on the €4 regular transfer and well worth it for the look on the Stag's face when a doctor in full gear nabbed him out of the arrivals lounge. It's about a 20 min ride from the airport to the hotel.

We all had twin rooms, quite large and everything was very new and well presented, must have been renovated recently. There was a good shower and free internet. For some reason, the minibar was cheap so we raided that a fair bit throughout the weekend. A bed's a bed when you come in at 5am after a vodkathon but perfectly good. The bars and clubs are open till 7am...

We had dinner in the restaurant and had a booking for 7, but on getting ready early, we asked if we could move forward to 6 and the staff were quite happy to accommodate. At this point, I have to say the staff were fantastic. We had all started the drinking by now and everyone was in stupid fancy dress, but the maître D and her waitresses, think it was Riahli and Mirallas, (when they probably had many reasons to chuck us out) played along with all our stupid games and requests and we even got an Estonian language lesson from Mirallas - When you go to Estonia, ask a local to say 'twelve months' in Estonian. Cheap gag but still funny. To keep it simple and because Riahli recommended it, we had 15 steaks served on individual hot lava stones, with assorted Brazilian vegetables, rice and chips. It was served cooking on one side and then you had to flip it over and cook it to your taste. Great idea and bloody tasty. I had to sign the bill out of the Stag kitty and it worked out about €15 each, including a couple of beers each and about 20 shots. All the shots and beers were about the same, around €3-€4 everywhere we went over the weekend.

If you run into the owner of the hotel, he's great value, English guy who's clearly got himself a fantastic gig and loves his job. He knows all the best places in town and only too happy to help out.

It's about a 10 min walk to the main square of the old town where all the best bars and clubs are. Cobbled streets, colourful people, reminded me a lot of Stockholm old town. The square was classic continental style drinkeries with outside seating under canopy and theme bars and restaurants inside. Could have done a week going through all the different bars but Mad Murphy's (Irish, football on tvs), Hellhunt (Estonian own brew) and BeerHouse (German tankards) got most of our stay.

Definitely eat at Olde Hansa, themed medieval restaurant. I thought it was going to be like Cable Guy and just naff but it was really authentic looking, actresses giving the whole nine yards as the medieval wenches and most impressive was our waitresses' identification of the stag and her statement that, 'at Olde Hansa, we must destroy the master', followed by 'have a pepper vodka shot on the house...' Food was damn tasty, nut bread and bear/elk sausages stand out. We had the Merchant's Guild feast and it was 4 courses, all you can eat, €38 each.

Tip top place, superb hotel, I want to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed in for one night in a suite. Room was great and spacious with a jacuzzi. The staff was helpfull and frendly. A nice breakfast was included in the price. The location is not in the immediate center of the city. In the summertime I guess it's ok to walk, but in the freezing winter we had to take a bus.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sessa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I think you can find better places in Tallinn... This one is not bad, especially taking into account reasonable price tag however everything is "at the edge" - make it just dime worse and you get somewhat frustrated.
Zen room was big but also somewhat empty and decorated kinda partly...
Breakfast is "normal" for business hotel but fro SPA you expect more...
So, if price goes below 70 EUR per night take it, if more - look for alternative.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This review is backdated somewhat; at the time of visiting the Hotel was undergoing renovations, and despite my reservations about the effectiveness of builders it is most likely now completed. The staff were superb, they were the main reason Hotel Kreutzwald was worth visiting. The room was large and the downstairs spa was lovely. Breakfast left a fair amount to be desired but was edible and hot at least. Estonia is well worth a visit and this Hotel is a deservind 4 out of 5!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rugbymadmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in December 2012 with a small group of friends. To our surprise we had been upgraded to a suite. It was warm and comfortable and only a ten minute walk from the orthodox catherdral and the old town. The staff were helpful and friendly. The taxi service back to the airport was quick and cheap. I recommend this as a good class hotel at a budget price.

Room Tip: Try for a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kejoriStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend in Tallinn having stayed at the Kreutzwald hotel for 3 nights! Firstly I must say that the hotel & staff were extremely accomodating! During our stay it was my boyfriends 21st birthday and so I emailed ahead to see if there was anything special the hotel could do for this! They upgraded us from a standard double room to a ZEN room for no extra charge which was fantastic! The room was warm (very important), spacious and the beds were extremely comfy. The only criticism I have for the room itself was that our double bed was actually two singles pushed together and our duvets were seperate. However we cannot really complain considering we had been upgraded to this room for the special occassion! The hotel is very clean and modern with everything you would need during your stay. We didn't have much interaction with staff except for one receptionist who was very chatty & helpful. The breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and the buffet was refilled frequently, even later on in the morning when it was nearing 10am (end of breakfast). One thing I would say is that the hotel does not have alot of atmosphere; although this may have been due to the timing of our stay when it is low season to visit Tallinn. Also the hotel is fairly corporate & characterless, there was nothing traditional or kitsch about it. The location is very good, a very direct and easy 10-15 minute walk to the old town. If you want a good value, clean & warm hotel in Tallinn then this is the place. However if you wanted to stay somewhere with an Estonian feel to it or somewhere with a lot of character then I would suggest staying at a different hotel. Overall very pleased with the service and accommodation we received for the price we paid.

Room Tip: We stayed in 416 which was on the quieter side of the hotel; great for a decent nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
706 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
945 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,769 reviews
1 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Address: Endla 23, Tallinn 10122, Estonia (Formerly Uniquestay Mihkli Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#10 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $64 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn is located close to the National Library of Estonia at Toenismaegi, one of the most famous landmarks of Tallinn, and has taken its name from the former name of the library, the Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald State Library. The hotel is located in a historical limestone building and was completed in 1953, the same period the State Library was named after Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald, an outstanding public figure of the National Awakening Period of Estonia in the 19th century and the author of the Estonian national epic poem, “Kalevipoeg“. The hotel recently completed a throughout the renovation, which has retained the buildings’ historical authenticity and at the same time added a firm measurement of innovative design and modern comfort to the historical ambiance. After the renovation, the hotel now has a total of 65 comfortable and stylish rooms and suites: 32 standard rooms, 18 ZEN rooms, and 15 ZEN Deluxe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uniquestay Mihkli Tallinn
Hotel Uniquestay Mihkli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing