We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Within walking distance of the Old Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
126 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Within walking distance of the Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We contacted the staff at Kreutzwald a couple of times after making the reservation to enquire about taxis, restaurants, etc. They were extremely knowledgeable, all the staff were fluent in English and not only that, they answered with a smile. After arriving, nothing was too much trouble for any of them. They actually went out of their way to be helpful. We had several conflicting pieces of advice on how to get from the airport to the Kreutzwald and we opted for the easy option, but made sure of the price we were going to be charged by the taxi in advance. He said between 8-10 euros for both of us and it worked out at 8.50 so we gave him the 10, and we were glad we had taken a taxi.

On arrival, having filled out the registration forms, everything was simple. The reception area is functional, spacious and not unattractive. The lift seemed to have a life of its own but wasn't a nuisance. Our room, 418, was spacious, functional and minimal in furnishings, although good quality. The free computer and wi-fi worked well although the computer was only there for the internet. There were no facilities to use it as a work station. The television had, from our point of view, just three channels - BBC World, Euronews and a cartoon channel. There were a couple of nice touches - tea and coffee making facilities with its own "capsule" coffee maker. However, there was a plethora of sockets but these were placed on one wall behind the desk and out of reach with none by the beds. The lighting was adequate. The "Zen" bathroom was not quite what we envisaged. Putting a square sign on the wall with multi-coloured led lights which change colour and a very deep whirlpool bath does not constitute a Zen experience, and if you have mobility problems at all this bath is too deep for you. The pressure jets were extremely efficient but the shower head could not be used effectively because there was no shower curtain, so we were forever turning the shower off, soaping ourselves, turning it back on, which proved difficult with wet soapy fingers to pull the button out from tap to shower. And after our showers, we ended up drying the floor. There were no slippers or robes as advertised for the room although to be fair we didn't ask for them, and if the door to the bathroom had been left closed on our departure there was a slight smell of drains on our return. Our big - or minimal - criticism though was the size of the towels. they were definitely far too small, basically they were a large flannel and a large hand towel.

Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. We were staying over the New Year period and it was quite chilly out, but the location didn't prove a problem, even with the snow. It is situated about ten to 15 minutes easy walk into the Old Town and, going the other way, there is a great little Chinese restaurant about 100 yards away (don't over order, the portions are big) and there is a hypermarket/shopping centre about ten minutes walk further on.

We have to re-emphasise though the criticisms above are for the management, not the staff who were fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasaSulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    295
    116
    26
    10
See reviews for
98
308
57
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Randers
Level Contributor
242 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nice, bright hotel. 10 minutes walk from old town. Nice airy room. Warm in the winther with free Glögg :-) 2 pillows to choose from.

Good service. We had Zen room, which was worth the extra money. Good breakfast, allthough it was the same every day for 5 days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just got back from a new years trip to Tallinn. Had a lovely time at the Hotel Kreutzwald. I too booked the standard room which was small- I booked a single room, and thats exactly what I got. However I coulod not complain about the temperature- that was fine. The shower was superb. The wifi worked fine- I have been listening to BBC 4 extra over my laptop all trip. Breakfast was plentiful and for £50 a night including breakfast 2 stops on the bus from freedom square, what more could you ask?? And on New Years Eve, after we had failed to find a restaurant for our last meal, the receptionist got us in at Mix Fusion Restaurant, so cheers for all your help

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanJackson38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at the Kreutzwald for three nights. I was not expecting anything marvelous, but when we arrived at the hotel we were treated as in a 5 star hotel. The receptionist was very helpful and spent 15 minuetes to answer all our questions and help us get around in town. Breakfast was plentiful an also the zen room we stayed in was spacious and warm even though it was rather cold outside. On one evening we went to the hotels restaurant. The atmosphere was quite nice and the service swift. We ordered meat on a lava stone which was delicious and also a good experience for me. Overall I would love to stay there another time also.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked this hotel after visiting Talliinn two years ago and staying at the Hotel L'Hermitage. We expected since this is a 4-star hotel for it to be nicer than the previous one. We were wrong.
It was not a bad hotel but I was angry as soon as we reached our tiny room. We just booked a Standard room, so I don't know about the more expensive rooms, but our room was small, freezing cold, and had two beds shoved together as their "double bed." The one bed had springs that sunk pretty badly as well. The bathroom never got warmer and the rest of the room barely did with the -14 C weather outside and the teeny tiny heating system for the room. There was a space heater you could hook up.
The advertised wifi did not exist, though there was a computer in the room that did only the internet. The TV was old and small and had an odd assortment of channels.
The breakfast was really nice though one morning we were questioned about being there because we had our coats with us and were wearing jeans.
Overall, I would not stay here again. There are much nicer 3-star hotels in the area that are closer to the Old Town, like the Hotel L'Hermitage, and the room we stayed in was solidly 3-star quality. I found it very frustrating that apparently if you put a bottle of 17 Euro wine in a room you can call your self a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda_Klop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over last weekend with my gf. We spent the whole Saturday out in the old town and center shopping and just looking around. After coming back to hotel, I did feel a bit run out and thought I had got cold. We decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant, witch was really cosy and nice. We ordered meet on hot stone ( I think it was called lava stone). I had never had anything like it, but it was a nice surprise. Taste was good and it arrived very fast! As I wasn´t a very good company, my gf asked to get some spa treatments. She spent the sunday morning in the spa and was very satisfied. I also liked bath in the room. It was great after cold weather and being outside for a long time. Alltogether a great experience, despite my cold :).

Room Tip: Choose on with the bath, it was great!:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Staying at this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of December was a pleasant experience, although it is located at some distance from the Old Town.
As it had been snowing over a period of several days and the pathways had not been cleared, it became a good 20 minute walk to he centre of town.
The hotel was very warm and the rooms cosy and spotlessly clean with extremely comfortable beds. As has been said in previous reviews, rooms at the front of the hotel are a little noisy due to the hotel being situated on a main road, so if this would bother you then ask for a room at the rear. A PC in the room was a nice touch.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied and there is something to cover all tastes.
Other than breakfast, I did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on the food served, but a Brazilian themed restaurant did seem a bit of a peculiarity in Estonia!
This would probably have been a good hotel to choose to stay at during the warmer months when noise at night in the Old Town would be an issue, but with hindsight I would have chosen a more centrally located hotel at this time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HillyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniquehotels, Member of the Board at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
thanks for your review , I can confirm the paths in the city are now cleared! the heavy snow took everybody by suprise , and we are now less then a 10 minute walk from the old town again.

We have recently regulated all the windows on the street facing side , with the fitment of new rubber gaskets to the windows. They are much better now. The hotel is still much much quieter than the hotels near or in the busy old town , some of which issue rubber ear plugs to guests who cannot sleep, so there are benefits being a little bit away.
We are changing the concept of the Brazilian restaurant next year to a Nordic , Estonian restaurant, but it remains still a popular choice especially for the local Estonians and Scandinavians as the steaks are great quality and value.

regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,843 reviews
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#10 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
0.4 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#21 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Property: Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Address: Endla 23, Tallinn 10122, Estonia (Formerly Uniquestay Mihkli Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a historical limestone building and was completed in 1953, the same period the State Library was named after Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald, an outstanding public figure of the National Awakening Period of Estonia in the 19th century and the author of the Estonian national epic poem, "Kalevipoeg".The hotel recently completed a throughout renovation, which has retained the buildings' historical authenticity and at the same time added a firm measurement of innovative design and modern comfort to the historical ambience.After the renovation the hotel now has a total of 73 comfortable and stylish rooms and suites: 49 standard rooms, 17 ZEN rooms, and 7 ZEN suites.You can enjoy our Unigue Breakfast at the remarkable Nipernaadi Restaurant, which is also open for all day fine dining, casual meals and drinks.You can indulge yourself at our newly opened ZEN SPA with private saunas, party room with Jacuzzi and experience a variety of different vitalizing and rejuvenating massages and body treatments.Or relax in the Kreutzwald Library Lounge with a delightful pot of tea and a good book from the library.And in the summer you can enjoy the atmosphere of the Summer Terrace - an exiting oasis in middle of the city.Your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uniquestay Mihkli Tallinn
Hotel Uniquestay Mihkli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing