We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, a little out of the way though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Staying at this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of December was a pleasant experience, although it is located at some distance from the Old Town.
As it had been snowing over a period of several days and the pathways had not been cleared, it became a good 20 minute walk to he centre of town.
The hotel was very warm and the rooms cosy and spotlessly clean with extremely comfortable beds. As has been said in previous reviews, rooms at the front of the hotel are a little noisy due to the hotel being situated on a main road, so if this would bother you then ask for a room at the rear. A PC in the room was a nice touch.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied and there is something to cover all tastes.
Other than breakfast, I did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on the food served, but a Brazilian themed restaurant did seem a bit of a peculiarity in Estonia!
This would probably have been a good hotel to choose to stay at during the warmer months when noise at night in the Old Town would be an issue, but with hindsight I would have chosen a more centrally located hotel at this time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HillyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniquehotels, Member of the Board at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

thanks for your review , I can confirm the paths in the city are now cleared! the heavy snow took everybody by suprise , and we are now less then a 10 minute walk from the old town again.

We have recently regulated all the windows on the street facing side , with the fitment of new rubber gaskets to the windows. They are much better now. The hotel is still much much quieter than the hotels near or in the busy old town , some of which issue rubber ear plugs to guests who cannot sleep, so there are benefits being a little bit away.
We are changing the concept of the Brazilian restaurant next year to a Nordic , Estonian restaurant, but it remains still a popular choice especially for the local Estonians and Scandinavians as the steaks are great quality and value.

regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 885 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Staff was friendly, room otherwise clean but the dust on top of the wardrobe was clearly visible. We had a room with a jacuzzi, that was nice. We liked a lot that the room had a computer for guest use and free wifi.

A big minus for the room service lunch we ordered from the restaurant - it took a very very long time, had cooled by the time we got it and the bottom of the sandwich was almost black, burned. Yuck.

Location was fine, just a short walking distance from the Old Town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaraC_980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniquehotels, Member of the Board at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Cara , many thanks for your review and your positive and not so positive experience.. Please can you let me know which room you stayed in and the dates? I was horrified to hear about the dust problem and the delay in the rooms service order and would like to find out more to resolve this issue.

could you send me a message to Paul@uniquestay.com?
thanks
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from Freedom Square and is spacious, clean, warm and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable, but rooms at the front of the hotel are noisy due to the main road outside. The breakfasts are very good in both quality and selection, and the small pc in each room with free internet is very good. However there are some points which let this hotel down. Namely whilst our room was fitted with a modern Jacuzzi, the shower above it was poor in that you cannot stand directly under it (its too far away), the pressure was poor and the temperature keeps changing from very hot to very cold while you are using it. The food served at evening meals in the Casa do Brazil hotel restaurant are good quality, but they are expensive when you take into account the small portion size. Service during the evenings is also very poor, unlike the breakfast service which is very good.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a bedroom at the back of the hotel if you don't like traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwaysonholiday53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniquehotels, Member of the Board at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Mike,

Further to our emails to each other , thanks for the feedback and highlighting shower problem, we found we had a problem with the main hot water heating valve to the hotel, this is now fixed and as I explained retrained the cook and taken action re the forgotten towels.

thanks for taking the time to highlight these problems and we look forward to seeing you again in the summer.

regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have visited this hotel for three days for a long weekend. First I would like to say that the place is awesome, in reality five minutes far from the Old City, but in the quiet part of the city-not many people, no shouting out loud at the street and so on. We have had a Zen room with a whirlpool bath - fully equipped, perfect bathroom and in reality it was even better than supposed to be (considering the fact that I am traveling a lot and know you usually get from offers) - even I was REALLY impressed. Big, bright, quiet- all we need to relax. We were pleasantly met, nevertheless reception girl was a bit too slow, but it is not important as soon as she is a trainee. An amazing thing was that completely all our requests were considered and fulfilled in five to thirty minutes. Moreover, when we decided to prolong our stay, we were offered at the reception a perfect room rate, that was much lower, than stated at the official booking page of the hotel. One more addition- even bachelor party boys are well- behaving there and breakfast was more or less standard continental, but always perfectly fresh and tasty. All in all- this hotel is highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Aleksandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel itself is a little bit less smooth then you expect after seeing one online. It's OK, really, but super basic for 4 stars. Rooms have everything nesessary and even a bit more, like a tea pot and tea-cups, but all the plugs are hidden behind beds or table... TV-set is hello from the 90-s =) Beds are good! No complains here! Bathroom is simple as it only can be... with no even shower cabine, only a curtain. As a result water was all over the floor after taking shower... The worst thin was to find wisps of dust between the wardrobe and the wall. Brrrrr... Pretty unpleasant I must say...

Now about positive sides. The breakfast is fantastic! So varied and tasty, so good organized! There were plenty of people every morning and no hint on standing in the line or seing your favorite yougurt is no more on the table! A+ to the restaurant staff!!!

The wireless Internet connection had strong signal and was available without extra charge!

The location is good. Just 10 minutes walk to the Old City.

The hotel has parking space for additional price, but when I wanted to pay it turned out they did not even know the car was there...

As it only were two nights, I can concider staying in Kreutzwald as positive expiriance. For the longer stay, I would probably be interested in something different.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VasilyMalygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniquehotels, Member of the Board at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

thanks very much for the review. I agree with your points and we have planned to introduce flat screen TVs to all standard rooms before Christmas, at the moment we have them in our Zen rooms, also shower curtains will be replaced by screens. Our spa is being upgraded and the investment will occur at the same time. As we keep our rates on a very competitive basis, the hotel was renovated in 2008 and then an upgrade of pubilc areas and Zen rooms in 2011, hence the remaining non flat screen TVs in the standard room category.
I am horrifed you found some dust in the room, please can you let me know the room number? this is very unusual as we have very good feedback about the cleanliness of the hotel.
Thanks for the comments re the breakfast and the staff ! great to hear.
Paul Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Kreutzwald is quite basic hotel. I think it is good value altough my price was company price. Room was ok and one speciality was own internet computer.
Breakfast was normal continental type. Only thing I was missing was plain joghurt... But that is just my personal "must have" thing.
Hotel has also massage and some kind of spa offerings.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JYL072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Tallinn has been on our "to do list" for some years and we saw that Ryanair were offering flights from Manchester at £38 return plus £12 card charge - £50 in total.We wanted a hotel that appeared to be modern and outside the old town so we booked the Kreutzwald through Bookings.com.The flight was good and arrived early as seems to be the norm for Ryanair.We caught the bus from the airport for 2euros fare which went to Tallinn on a circular route dropping us off 500 metres from our hotel.
We were pleasantly surprised to find we had been upgraded to a "zen" room at the rear of the hotel.We used the hotel's brazilian restaurant on our first night which proved to be a good choice.Breakfast was first class with fruit juices,smoothies,cereals,cold meats and fish,fried bacon,sausage,scrambled eggs,boiled eggs,croissants and yoghurt all on offer.
The hotel was clean and the staff were helpful and polite.
Tallinn itself was enchanting with too much to see in such a short visit.The public transport was both cheap and frequent.The seaplane museum was worth a visit and so was Kadriorg.
English was spoken by most Estonians who come into contact with tourists.They are genuinely pleased to welcome you whether they are bus drivers,waitresses or hotel staff.I must mention the Tourist Information staff who gave me directions to the Joey Dunlop memorial.(He was an Irish road racing motorcyclist who was killed whilst racing at Pirita in 2000.
Be sure to go to Tallinn!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear 2nd floor.There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sightseerShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
673 reviews
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
919 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Address: Endla 23, Tallinn 10122, Estonia (Formerly Uniquestay Mihkli Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#10 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $69 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn is located close to the National Library of Estonia at Toenismaegi, one of the most famous landmarks of Tallinn, and has taken its name from the former name of the library, the Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald State Library. The hotel is located in a historical limestone building and was completed in 1953, the same period the State Library was named after Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald, an outstanding public figure of the National Awakening Period of Estonia in the 19th century and the author of the Estonian national epic poem, “Kalevipoeg“. The hotel recently completed a throughout the renovation, which has retained the buildings’ historical authenticity and at the same time added a firm measurement of innovative design and modern comfort to the historical ambiance. After the renovation, the hotel now has a total of 65 comfortable and stylish rooms and suites: 32 standard rooms, 18 ZEN rooms, and 15 ZEN Deluxe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uniquestay Mihkli Tallinn
Hotel Uniquestay Mihkli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing