We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tallink Express Hotel
Ranked #33 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
St.Petersburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good and cheap”
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Good variant for cosy staying and mony saving. Pricees are really good, good location - near the old city, also the parking is free for the guests. At the official web site we reserved rooms with soecial rate, without breakfast, but when we checked in, it turned out that it was included for one day - nice surprise) . Anyway you can buy it - for a good price. Food is good for such a price.
Rooms were not cleaned enough, I discovered hairs on bed and shower is not so modern and clean. When we chekced in, we got an absolutely disgusting smelling room - like three wet dogs had slept in it..Sucsessfully, we changed it for the other, but without carpet on floor. Well,our friends had the same problem. So we tried a couple of rooms - and they all smelld.
the other thing - we reserved a room with king bed, but got twin. For some point it was a lucky, because as I'd seen later, the king bed is really small, so it's better to put the twins together.
Stuff is not very friendly, no smile, slow work - they really don't speak with you!! incredible) Everything that they were doing - as in favour...strange thing)
but after all - it is a good place to spend a couple of days, coming back to the hotel only for sleeping. especually, if you're on budget.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biederbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    210
    136
    31
    10
See reviews for
95
168
55
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Easy to reach by bus from airport, Great value for money, good location if you want to go by ferry to Helsinki as port is about 3 mins away.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2008

Ok hotel.

Price was excellent, we paid 19 euros and for that reason, I can have no complaints.

The room though was noisy, and this is not because of noisy neighbours.. They seem to have issues with the air ventilation and sound travels through these from other rooms. We could hear clear conversations, but they werent from next door. We asked to move rooms, and they happily let us! New room, same problem.... Anyway, we were soo tired we slept!

Rooms were clean, very basic. Location is good and only a 5 minute walk from Old Town and port.

If you are on a budget, then you cant complain - its clean and safe. However, dont expect anything special, because you will not get it!

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — Noisy rooms
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234Alex1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coimbra
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2008

It's nice for the price you pay. The location is very good too. The only thing that bothered me was the noise, you can hear a lot of what's going on on the corridor and adjacent rooms. Other than that, it's a fine hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2008

This place is an absolute bargain if you plan a short trip to Tallinn. Book on the hotel website and midweeks are about £17 a night for a single en-suite room.

Bus no. 2 direct from the airport takes about 20 mins. Get off at the final stop right by the ferry passenger terminal. It's only a couple of minutes from there.

Basic but comfortable, clean and quiet (the windows are very thick, so the building site didn't bother me). Simple buffet breakfast and a fantastic lunchtime soup buffet - £3 gets you as many bowls of the 6 different soups and bread as you can scoff.

It's only 5 mins walk into the old town where you'll find masses of cheap bars and restaurants tucked away in the winding cobbled streets.

Take advantage of being so close to the Ferry terminal and do a day trip to Helsinki if time is hanging heavy in Tallinn. Costs about £20-£30, depending on ship, if booked the day before and takes between 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 hours. I took the slow ferry at 8am, was in Helsinki at 10.30am and had the whole day and dinner there, returning on the 9.30pm sailing on a ship buzzing with bars, restaurants, dancing and Estonian karaoke, it was a blast!

With really cheap budget airline flights and this bargain hotel, there is no excuse not to get a few days of fresh Baltic sea air in Tallinn.

  • Liked — The Price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bothsidesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and booked on the Reval Hotel Website. Paid 57 Euros for 3 nights room only which we consider to be a great bargain!!

Once you arrive at Tallinn airport, which is quite small, walk outside the building and to the right is a bus stop for Bus No. 2. For 20 EEK each (£1.03) the bus will take you to the Ferry port Terminal A (7 stops on the bus), and from there it is a 3 minute walk to the hotel. Buses about every 20-30 mins I think.

Check in was swift and we were able to go straight to the room even though it was 12.30pm. Room on top (4th) floor was not luxurious but was clean and had everything we needed. Would compare it to Travelodge in the UK, although no tea and coffee facilities in room, but did have hairdryer, plenty of towels, bottle opener and a bathmat, unlike Travelodges!! Shower was great - always powerful and hot. Shower gel provided too.

One thing to mention is that there is a building being built to one side of the hotel, and although the work was done during normal working hours, with the window open the noise was loud at times!! Didn't bother us too much as we were generally out of the room all day, but a lie in would be disturbed!!

If you turn out of the hotel to the right, cross a couple of roads, and then head up Pikk Street, the old town is accessible in 5-10 minutes. We loved the bar Hell Hunt (means Gentle Wolf) on the way into town - really friendly staff, and great food and they brew their own lager and cider too. We found prices generally good, and as usual better out of the main square area. Also try the Estonian version of garlic bread - very different!!

Climb to the top of Tompea Hill, as this gives the best views across town and also to the sea. Plenty of tourist shops and little cafes, bars etc as well.

Check out was smooth again and no problems with the bill.

We will definitely return to Reval Express hotel.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

When we arrived to the hotel, the receptionist did not say a word, did not check our reservation or anything. After I had repeated my name for several times, it seemed he had found us in the system, but still no word. Then he handed our keycards, no word. I asked then where is our room, what floor? He answered cheeky that if the room number starts with 4, it is forth floor. Well thank you! Anyway, the next day we all went for a stroll and came back after lunch. I almost had a heart attack - our room was empty, all our things had been cleaned out!!!! When we went to the reception, they said that our things were backed into black plastic bags and brought to cellar, because we did not check out by 12 o'clock!!! But we had booked for 3 nights!!! Then they apologized and gave us vouchers for soup-buffet. If the receptionst-boy had talked to us the first evening, none of this would have happened. I will never stay in this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RaidTallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
#42 of 83 in Tallinn
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#39 of 83 in Tallinn
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#19 of 83 in Tallinn
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#32 of 83 in Tallinn
941 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.0 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallink Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink Express Hotel

Property: Tallink Express Hotel
Address: Sadama 9, Tallinn 10111, Estonia (Formerly Reval Inn Tallinn)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallink Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallink Express Hotel is comfortably located in the city center just a 5 minute walk from the Old Town. If you are looking for a modern place to stay, but don't want to pay hundreds of euros, than our hotel is just the place for you. Our hotel was freshly renovated in 2014 and is a great sample of youthful Scandinavian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tallink Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tallink Express
Tallink Express Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing