We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PK Ilmarine Hotel
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Tervakoski, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

After being tens and tens times in Tallinn (city centre and old city), this hotel gave us new perspective for the city. Especially the "Kalasadama" just block away had two very nice restaurants. The hotel itself was clean, modern and cozy. The staff was kind and breakfast pretty ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Hanuli,

Thank You for Your positive feedback!

We are glad to know that You enjoied Your stay in Tallinn. Good to hear that You found our hotel clean, cozy and the staff kind.

We are looking forward to welcoming You back!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    482
    151
    36
    22
See reviews for
135
446
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I was so very dissapointed in this penny pinching, noisy and badly serviced hotel.
It started off ok as when I checked in and they gave me room on the side of the hotel on the very, very noisy main road, when I asked for another room they managed to find me one on the other side.
Unfortunately, there was some problem with noise in this room also. A low vibrating sound that actually came through the walls. I can only assume it was the air conditioning intermittently coming on and off.
They said they would find me another room and left a note for day staff which was duly ignored as when I returned back to the hotel at gone midnight the next day after a very long day trip to Helsinki they had done nothing and didn't seem to care.
My third room in the hotel was quiter but did not have internet access.
All three rooms had terrible air conditioning and the level of hygiene was terrible. I came back one day to find a cotton bud in the middle of the floor. The room was not hoovered for 2 days. The carpet was worn and sticky in patches and there was mould and hair in the shower.
Really terrible.
But the really, really bad thing is that they just didn't care. When I checked out they didn't ask if I had a nice stay. They did ask if the internet ever worked in the room and when I said no they just shrugged.
Awful hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank zak0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear zak0,

Thank You for Your feedback, we really value the input of our customers!

Our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences and misunderstandings caused by the housekeeping and reception staff. We will definitely discuss that situation with our staff and try to avoid such misunderstandings in the future.

However I hope You still enjoyed Your stay in Tallinn!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

From reception, via the clean rooms with very comfortable beds to the dinning room. And, this is where we were disappointed - the dining room was like the rooms clean and tidy, the food was excellent, but getting to the food was very difficult when a large umber of guests were trying to get breakfast. it was sited at the furthest end of the dining room away from the kitchen. They ran out of food, plates dishes, cutlery on more than one occasion. Would we go again - YES. It has location, location, location!

Room Tip: We traveled with eight couples, scattered around the hotel, and we all had good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Gordon H,

Thank You for staying at PK Ilmarine hotel!

It's nice to know that You were satisfied with Your room and our hotel's location.

We are truly sorry for the inconveniences in the breakfats room, but we will certaily take Your feedback in to consideration to improve the service.

Looking forward to welcome You back in the future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just returned from a three night stay with my daughter. Very nice hotel, very clean, nice room. I did upgrade to a business room because it was my daughter's birthday, not sure, to be honest, if it was strictly necessary - the extras seemed to be flat screen tv (very few English channels), tea and coffee facilities which we did use and free mini bar which had a couple of soft drinks and water in it. They are on the courtyard side of the hotel which was very quiet, the other side being on a fairly busy road. Beds comfortable, nice crisp bedding and clean modern bathroom. My only slight disappointment was that I had informed them at the time of booking and on further occasion that it was my daughter's birthday - I had thought there might be some sort of gesture - even a card or something - this in no way spoilt our stay.

The hotel location is just perfect for the old town as it is only five minutes from one of the town entrances. I would not actually recommend anyone to book a hotel in the town, I think it could be very noisy in the evenings (several stag parties on our flight) and stay away from eating and drinking in the square - we only once stopped there and paid e7.50 for two glasses of tepid, flat coke - didn't even see the bottle it came in !).

I would recommend the Weigand restaurant for dinner at the hotel - we thought prices very reasonable for the standard of food but that may be because we live in London ?

All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good value base for a stay in Tallinn

Room Tip: Rooms on courtyard side are quiet - might have to be the Business or Executive Room ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ros6849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear ros6849,

Warm greetings from PK Ilmarine hotel!

We are truly sorry for the information loss regarding Your daughter's birthday.

However we are really happy to hear that You found our hotel nice and the location great. Glad to know that You would recommend the restaurant Wiegand.

You are always more than welcome back here!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed three nights at this hotel recently. Arrived earlier than the 2pm check in so left our cases in the left luggage room and went off for a stroll around the harbour. Found a lovely cafe and had a drink and snack before heading off back at 2pm to check in. The receptionist wasn't too friendly but the porter was lovely and chatted and offered advice on where to go. Our room was on the first floor just round the corner from the lift but we didn't hear any noise.
Very deep, large bath with shower, toilet, washbasin and bidet. Hairdryer tube was broken which we reported but was not mended by the time we left. TV had quite a lot of channels including some English. Our room was over the corridor and when we opened the large window could be a bit noisy with people wheeling cases but we had the a/c on and kept the window shut. Room was bit stuffy and I should imagine in the height of summer quite hot. Two small twin beds which were quite comfy and the bedding all clean.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and always being refilled. There must have been something for all tastes.
The hotel was very convenient for entry into the old town, Fat Margaret tower, just across the road from tram stops and a short walk to the train station. There was a large supermarket about five minutes walk towards the train station. The new town was a short walk away too.
If I visited Tallinn again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The area is upcoming with nice housing/apartments, bars and restaurants nearby.
We paid £154 for three nights stay and our flight, so a bargain.
The weather was brilliant when we were there and three days was adequate to visit the sights and walk around and explore the lower and upper town. We also visited the palace and gardens at Kadriog, getting a tram there and back.
Found out when we got home that Prince Harry was in town at the same time, but we missed him, unfortunately.
We mainly ate around the Town Hall Square area and experienced some local delicacies. Lovely to be able to walk around at midnight and it was not completely dark and we always felt safe. Went on the little train ride around the lower town which was a bit of fun but very bumpy, good for a laugh though. Whilst we were there it was museum night, all the museums and churches were open until late and with free entry, they were all very busy even at 11.30pm, it was quite bizarre!
Recommend a visit as a city break.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindyloo-2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear lindyloo-2007,

Thank You for taking time to review our hotel!

It's pleasure to hear that You found our hotel nice, conveniently located and the breakfast excellent. We apologize for all the inconveniences and hopefully You will visit us again in the future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the PK Ilmarine Hotel last week and would recommend this hotel. Check-in was friendly, easy and quick. Our room was modern and spotless and provided for a great night sleep. We also really appreciated the hotel's location - its is a short walk to both the Old Town and the stop for bus #2, which connects the city of Tallinn with the airport. Only downsides: The wireless internet connection was awfully slow, especially at night. And to our surprise, there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and the TV was rather small and old. To receive tea/coffee making facilities and a decently sized flat screen TV, we would have had to upgrade from our standard room, which seemed odd for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerstinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear KerstinNYC,

Thank You for staying at PK Ilmarine hotel!

It is really nice to hear that You would recommend our hotel and were satisfied with Your room. We are sorry that we were not able to meet all of Your expectations.

We do not have tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms, but on request it can be ordered also to classic rooms and we are also working on the speed of the wireless connection.

Looking forward to welcome You back!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Imagine, you wait at the reception for 25 minutes to be checked in although you are the only one.

Imagine, you go to your room and another naked man is laying on the bed and shouting at you.

Imagine, you finally get a room and when you enter the bathroom in socks, your socks stick to some strange stains at the floor....

Help, it hardly gets worse.... And my business partner decided to stop this hotel, too. He had some simular dirty stains on a unchanged bedsheet.....

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Miele65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Miele65,

Thank You very much for Your feedback, it is very important to us!

We are truly sorry for all the inconvenieces You have mentioned. Unfortunately there has been a error in our system regarding the occupied room, usually there has not been this kind of mistakes.
Regarding the cleanliness of the rooms, we are very sorry that we did not received this infomation when You were still staying in the hotel. We would have immediately sent housekeeping or offered You a new room.

Once again our sincere apologies and if You have any futher suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.7 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#18 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#21 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Property: PK Ilmarine Hotel
Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the private parking upon availability and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, PK Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing