We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Horrific Suite #122 of PK Ilmarine”
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PK Ilmarine Hotel
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“The Horrific Suite #122 of PK Ilmarine”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Of all the hotels we stayed in throughout our European vacation last July 2013, this hotel was our least favorite.

When we arrived around 12 noon, we were told that our room was not available but that we could leave our luggage in the storeroom. Since the luggage room was unlocked and we saw people going in and out without checking with the front desk, we decided to just stay in the lobby until our room was ready.

Around 2 p.m. the desk clerk told us that because the hotel was full, we would be given "a suite" instead of our regular room. "Nice," we thought. Usually getting a suite when you just reserve a regular room is an upgrade. Not this time.

The horror began when we tried to open the suite's door with difficulty. When we were finally able to open it, the so-called suite looked more like a loft, a tiny, dust filled room with faulty lighting, stained chairs and sofa, a non working TV, and an air conditioner that just spewed out hot dust.

We went back to the front desk and told the clerk that the room was unacceptable. "The hotel is full, there is nothing we can do," we were told. Upon returning to the "suite," we took many pictures.

Suite 122 looked more like an unused storeroom than a regular guest room. Right inside the front door, there was a vacuum cleaner. A bucket and mop was under the bathroom sink, complete with industrial cleaning products and dirty cleaning rags.

The living room on the first level was very dirty. The only light in the room was a dust-covered bare-bulb aluminum fixture hanging from an extension cord. It's a good thing it was daytime; we never figured out how to turn it on.

After taking two dozen pictures we went back to the front desk and showed them to the clerk on duty. We pointed out that they showed a room completely unlike what they advertise on their website--"bait and switch," as we call it back home.

After going out and seeing old town Tallinn for two hours, we came back and found out that (surprise!) a room did open up for us.

While I do appreciate the change of room right before we retired for the night, we actually planned on changing hotels that same day since I just couldn't see myself comfortably staying in Suite #122 even for one night.

I think the hotel is a nice one. I even saw some flight crew check out on our second day. I just hope that should the hotel decide to send guests to the so-called suite that it be totally refurbished so that the guests will not feel cheated about their room reservation. No hotel can advertise their rooms as being modern, comofortable and clean, if the rooms are the complete opposite.

The new room we were given was much, much improved. It was so much nicer and cleaner. I just wished we were spared the whole unpleasant experience when we first checked in. Would we return to PK Ilmarine? We probably would but only if the room were not Suite 122.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank first100countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear first100countries,

Thank you for your feedback!

Our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences! Although glad to know that you were happy with the new room given to you.
I hope that you enjoyed your stay in Tallinn!

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    495
    152
    36
    24
See reviews for
140
453
73
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is well located for visiting the old town of Tallin. The rooms are quite small , but adequate . We stayed three nights as part of a tour and liked the hotel. It was not too large . Rooms clean. Breakfast was Ok. Nothing special but quite a reasonable choice.

The hotel has been built within an old factory building. There are interesting photos on display of the factory. The building is within the walls of the original factory, which means the view is obscured by a second lot of windows, but you can just see the trams!

You can walk to the port area as well as the old town which was nice in the evening. You can walk to a supermarket nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Bellou2,

Thank you for staying in PK Ilmarine Hotel and for your comments!

It´s pleasure to hear that you were staisfied with your stay and found the location good, the room clean and breakfast reasonable.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights in room 148. It was clean, quiet, basic with comfortable twin beds
Bathroom ok but shower arrangement quirky and floor always got wet!
Breakfasts a bit uninspiring but I imagine most guests are in transit fora few days.
Great plus is location which is near to sea and within 5 minutes if Old Town.
Staff were courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Pyecombe,

Thank you for staying in PK Ilmarine Hotel!

Im really glad to know that you liked the location and found our staff friendly and courteous. As well the room clean and quiet.
I hope you enjoyed your stay in Tallinn!

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in August 2013 during our Baltic Tour – see below for all hotels stayed.

Very conveniently located just outside the north side of the old town – it is a short walk to Fat Margaret tower & gate.

The room was very clean and average size with reasonable storage space. There is a Safe, but you have to get the key from reception.

Spotless bathroom - towels on the thin side. The shower pressure was very low.

Our tour included breakfast, which was the usual continental fare and plenty of it.

We ate in the Hotel Restaurant one evening – it was very tasty and well prepared.

There is a Supermarket within 100 yards of the rear of the Hotel.

The other hotels we stayed in during our Travel Editions Baltic Tour:
RADISSON BLU RIDZENE – Riga (2 nights)
ARTIS CENTRUM HOTEL – Vilnius (2 nights)
The tour was excellent – can recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear GOMCP,

Warm greetings from PK Ilmarine hotel and thank you for the feedback!

Im really glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay! As well that you found the location good, the room clean and dinner tasty and well prepared.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nurmijärvi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

An old-fashioned, scruffy room, but it was ok. The hotel was fully booked (Robbie Williams gig), but it was peaceful and quiet. The breakfast was simple. The price of the room was about triple because Mr. Williams and early check-in cost 20€.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Minna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Minna V,

Thank you for staying in PK Ilmarine hotel and for your feedback!

Im glad to know that you found hotel peaceful and quiet!

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savonlinna, Eastern Finland, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

It is very sad to say that in such great hotel as you, it includes such a pity and poor variety at breakfast. The "fresh" vegetables are not fresh, fruits are darkened, and instead of bacon there is meatballs and beans...? In such small changes as changing stuff fresh would make a large improvement. Im sure that other clients would be fascinated about bacon because it is such a cornerstone of hotel breakfast.

Otherwise, the hotel was sweet and staff was helpful and very friendly, so it is such a pity that the breakfast ruins everything. I dont want to sound like a nitpicker but the breakfast (and the hotel restaurant) was terrible.

Room Tip: The cheapest room was very good. The more expensive rooms didnt seem too different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Joni F,

Thank you for staying in PK Ilmarine hotel and for your comments!

We are sincerely sorry that the breakfast didn´t met your expextations, but we take certainly your feedback in consideration to improve the service. In general really glad to know that you found our staff helpful and friendly as well the hotel sweet.

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Although the hotel itself is nicely decorated and recently renovated, the rooms have no character and even the executive rooms are very small. It is surprising because the exterior of hotel and the common areas are really nice. The price/quality performance is really bad so try to choose another hotel in Tallin. Location is good, very close to old town and port, but there are many hotels around, so try to go for another one.

Room Tip: All rooms are small. Even the executive ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinetaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear VinetaC,

Thank you for your feedback!

We are really sorry to know that you found our rooms with no character and small. But glad to hear that you liked to common areas and found the location good.
Although I hope you enjoyed your stay in Tallinn!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.7 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#18 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#22 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Property: PK Ilmarine Hotel
Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the private parking upon availability and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, PK Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing