We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great distance to oldtown and good for value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PK Ilmarine Hotel
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Kontiolahti, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great distance to oldtown and good for value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went on June on 2013 Thu to Saturday and choose this hotel because prices were low. Breakfast little then usually i have met on scandinavic hotels. Some key problems occured us. I have to recode my key two times in same day. Also other customer did have same problem. But usually it won't mind because you get two keys. Hotell staff was very friendly and helped anyway they can. Our room was in first floor in courtyardside. It was quiet to sleep and beds were ok.

Only negative side was very small tv but if you need bigger tv then you pay more same hotel

Room Tip: Take courtyearside if need silence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Kanitus,

Thank you for staying in PK Ilmarine hotel and for your comment!
We are really sorry for the inconveniences caused by key system errors. Although we are glad to hear that you found our staff very friendly and helpful, as well location great and room quiet to sleep.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    400
    125
    32
    21
See reviews for
106
364
58
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Top location for the Old Town and for the Ferry to Helsinki. Great staff, room nice and clean, all you could expect.

Breakfast was better than most "continental" breakfasts. Nice variety.

We walked to the ferry terminal and to the old town without any issues. Staff helpful and the map they gave us made navigation easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkls9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear jkls9,

Warm greetings from PK Ilmarine hotel!
Thank you very much for your positive comments.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. We arrived from the airport by city bus as we are budget travelers. So, when we walked up to the hotel, we were at the back side of the hotel and it gave us that old communist block warehouse impression. But, once we got our bearings and went to the other side of the hotel where the front entrance is located, things improved a great deal and the front desk staff was very welcoming and helpful. The great thing about this hotel is that it's very close to the Old Town but far enough to avoid the loudness that comes with staying directly in the touristy Old Town area. The room was kind of small but everything looked recently renovated. The complimentary breakfast was great and they have a hotel bar and restaurant on site. The city tram stop is very close so you can hop on and get to all points. I'd stay with them again if ever in Tallinn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGBucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
• Dear JGBucky,

Thank you for staying in PK Ilmarine hotel and for your feedback!
We are really glad to hear that you found our staff very welcoming and helpful. As well location good and breakfast great.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel name is PK Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn (former Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel) located in city center near the Tallinn's old town and the sea, near the Ferry terminal. Last time we visited Tallinn we stayed in this hotel as well. But the room and hotel itself was better!!!
This hotel is located on old Friedrich Wiegand Engineering Factory place. Years ago it was recalled as Ilmarine, that's why hotel name nowadays is Ilmarine too. It was renovated and opened in 1999. The rooms all are similar, but very convenient.
TV in the room is small and old.. I think it is there since hotel were opened! In business or executive rooms TV's are new. And our TV's remote control had no batteries in it, thank you previous guests!!! But we were not seating in the room and not watched TV, not a big disadvantage.
The view from the room is on the elite living complex of Tallinn. I don't think it is very convenient. That's why my room's window always was with closed curtains.
The bathroom is good enough. But the hair dryer was so old! At least it worked and was not screwed to tables shelve, as it was in one UK's hotel..
The restaurant is really good.The prices are as in all hotels a bit pricey.. But the dishes are so good and yummy.
There is a Wifi in the hotel, it worked good, had no problem with that.
Hotel announces they have a parking place.. So they have 100 rooms in hotel, but only about 10 parking place..So it can happen you will not be able to park in there.
And this time we were not able to use fridge.. It was like minibar and was closed.. So all of we bought stayed and freezed in the car.
And as a gift for staying we've got a bottle of champagne, the warm one...

Overall, I think this is a good hotel to stay, but they need to do some repairs in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubova K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Lubova K,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We truely value the opinions of our customers.
We are happy to hear you found the room and hotel better, as well we are currently changing TV´s and hair dryers in our rooms. We are sorry to hear about no batteries in TV´s remote control and closed minibar, which we could have fixed immediately during your stay.
We have 25 free of charge parking places to our guests upon availability and usually you can find the place. Glad to know that you liked our restaurant and that you were satisfied overall with your stay!

Looking forward to welcome you back in PK Ilmarine Hotel!

With best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

That hotel is so poor. They promise in their advertisement that this hotel is like your second home.... If you have at home broken air conditioning, broken minibar, broken chair, broken hairdryer, broken lamp, really old and uncomfortable bed and so... Then you can feel that you are staying in 4 stars hotel.
Maby Estonian people have that, but i havent ever seen so poor room anywhere before for 4 stars. That hotel is MAX 1 star!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lasertravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear lasertravell,

We value the opinions of our costomers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We regret you had to suffer the inconveniences and that we were not given the opportunity to move you to another room

Although I hope you enjoyed your stay in Tallinn!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My boyfriend took me for a surprise birthday present. It's a lovely hotel and the reception were very helpful. Our room was super, very large with flat screen tv, free soft drinks and snacks, t & coffee and a double window outlook. We ate in the restaurant on my birthday the meal was superb but sadly there was only us eating! What a waste of a fantastic chef, as its some of the best food I have ever tasted. Excellent. Great location beautiful old town, def worth a visit. Also cocktails at the top of the raddisson blu hotel on the roof terrace overlooking the old town and harbour is a must. Thank you to my lovely boyfriend :)) x

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park are quieter has the opposite side is on a busy main road. An executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sadie201034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear sadie201034,

Warm greetings from PK Ilmarine Hotel!
Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are very glad to hear that you found our reception helpful, room super and chef fantastic!

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had bought a super deal for half price and honestly I expected a little more. Our room was on the ground floor with view to the parking area. The room was clean, beds quite comfortable and bathroom spacious. Fortunately it wasn't noisy at night. The breakfast was ordinary, nothing special. The staff at the reception was friendly. There is a luggage room, but it's not locked, so I hesitated a bit leaving the luggage there. Everything went ok though.
Location of the hotel was good, it's only one kilometer from the harbor and 500 m to the outskirts of the Old town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miumiu_1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear miumiu_1800,

Thank you for staying in PK Ilmarine hotel and for your feedback!
Im glad to hear that you found our reception staff friendly and the location good.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#29 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#19 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Property: PK Ilmarine Hotel
Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the beauty salon, the private parking and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, PK Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing