We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for cruise visitors”
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
PK Ilmarine Hotel
Ranked #20 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you need quiet place to sleep away from old town hustle and bustle yet close to it then this is great choice. Hotel is located in new residential area close to Linda Line terminal (Linnahall) and Old Town wall. Rooms are clean and spacious. Free wi-fi is a plus. Our room towards courtyard was quiet even it was at ground floor. So we got good night sleep even though pillows were too small and uncomfortable. Guests seemed to be all over the Europe which was noticed at small breakfast space which was full of people. Food at breakfast was pretty basic one like whole hotel in general. Nothing fancy but everything tourist needs during short visit.

Room Tip: rooms on the courtyard side are quieter
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
There are newer reviews for PK Ilmarine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

My boyfirend and I stayed at Domina Ilmarine in February 2012. The room was clean and spacious, and staff were very helpful with reagrds to directions and activities. It is great value for money being only a stones throw from the Old Town and the port, where you can take a ferry to Helsinki (highly recommended in the winter weather, the frozen sea looks stunning). Breakfast had a good selection. The only criticism would be that the spa is 25 euros per person per hour, which I think is rather on the expensive side. We would have considered using the facilities had it not been so overpriced. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this hotel for a trip to Tallinn on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greaves2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel was once a marine engineering works now tastefully redeveloped into a hotel in an igeal location. Only a two minute walk away from the gate to the old city, a ten minute walk to the largest shopping zone in Tallinn, an ideal spot.
The hotel is very clean and well cared for. Breakfast is adequate rather than special. Have no concerns about staying here.
From the airport take the two Euro 30z bus to stop 10 which is two hundred matres away from hotel's not too obvious entrance. Journey takes 32 minutes.....reverse the process for return.

Room Tip: Internal rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 360BrianL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel is in a good location for seeing all the sights Tallinn has to offer, located just a short walk from the old town at the Fat Margaret's entrance. It is also a short walk to the ferry terminals and the tram stops nearby for those wanting to travel further afield to Kadriorg Palace for example, and close to a bus stop for travel to the airport.

The rooms are well-appointed though perhaps in need of some refurbishment but was impressed by bathroom and choice of channels on the TV. Some might be uncomfortable with those roads facing the road and tram line - it did not bother me however.

The breakfast on the ground floor was of a good quality and is included in the price, the restaurant has a slightly limited menu for evening meals but there are plenty of places to eat nearby in the old town and it takes only 15 minutes to walk to the more modern area of Tallinn around Freedom Square.

Tallinn is a lovely and picturesque city and I enjoyed staying here and would recommend this hotel as an option for anyone wanting to do the same.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesV92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

As a group of eight chaps of somewhat mature years we have just come back from a weekend visit to Tallinn. We stayed at the Domina Inn, a former foundry and to be honest a very pleasant hotel indeed. Less than five minutes away from the old city, the hotel was very comfortable and clean. We were provided with two storey suites, the bedroom area upstairs and downstairs a settee and chairs with a TV and if you wanted it, a small compact kitchenette if you wanted to sort yourself out.
Breakfast was more than adequate with hot and cold servings and overall the hotel staff were very good and efficient

Room Tip: Consider asking for the suites as opposed to the rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PVTPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Some employees who works in the customer service field forget that without the customers they wouldn't have a job.They have the attitude of " I am doing you a favor" instead of going the extra mile to make the customer feel not even at home but just assisted. This is the case of some of the employees of Dominna Inn Marine, especially Mario at the evening shift that made us wait 2 days to use the laundry facilities giving us different excuses with a very bad attitude. We had to leave wearing dirty clothes till Helsinki because of this. It would be unfair to say the same thing about the whole staff, but many of them needs still lots of training in how to deal with customers. Many are distant and uncooperative.The hotel is good specially if you are driving because of it's free parking, the breakfast mediocre but will do it and the rooms, especially executive ones are very nice. Good location walking distance to Fat Margaret Gate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerdieGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Recently stopped at this hotel but unfortuanately many of the rooms face a busy road and tramline so ended up sleeping on a small bathroom floor with the door closed to escape the noise of the traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing busy road when booking
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Careful007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.8 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
1.2 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#13 of 86 in Tallinn
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 86 in Tallinn
1,234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#15 of 86 in Tallinn
675 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#19 of 86 in Tallinn
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $50 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the private parking upon availability and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, PK Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing