We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel, Great Location”
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PK Ilmarine Hotel
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Domina Inn Ilmarine hotel can be reached quite easily from Tallinn Airport using the Airport bus (#90K) for stop 7, Linnahall or for a longer walk after 18:00 the No.2 bus marked "Reisisadam" to Terminal A of the Ferryport. It is situated on a fairly busy road in a characterful and sympathetically renovated factory that operated in the late 18th century.
The interior is modern and very clean with an interesting layout including an 'atrium' for lounging in between activities and a 'cosy' bar for winding down after activities.

We stayed in room 317 which is on the side of the building facing into a nearby group of apartments. All though close to the road, traffic noise was low and did not disturb the stay. The room was modern with a good range of facilities including free use of the safe via a key from reception - they certainly don't cut keys like that anymore. All visits to reception were dealt with by friendly and extremely helpful members of staff.

One thing. when we asked about the Swimming pool we were told that the hotel does not have one. In place, is a health and well-being service for 25 Euros per hour? Check if this feature is important to you. By the way, the price seemed typical of the going rate offered in several other hotels around the Old Town where we enquired.

Breakfast buffet is well considered and to a good standard offering both continental cold cuts and cooked items. Estonian rye bread with country ham and cheese and a pile of pickled cucumbers on top sets you up for the day though might be a little early for most - go for it!

While we were there ,and because we arrived late due to an emergency on the inbound flight, we used the dining room for the first evening meal. The hotel offered a 3-course meal for 15 Euros per person which was very good value, tasted great and was to a very high standard - Recommended. This meal and the way it was served to us seemed to reinforce the hotels commitment to providing quality.

As mentioned previously, the location of this hotel is near to Terminal A of the Ferryport - adjacent to Terminal D (10 mins) with the Linda line catamaran service to Helsinki accommodated in the crumbling (but memorable) Tallinn Linnahall (5 mins). With the entrance to the Old City shadowed by 'Fat Margaret' only two minutes away, this hotel is in a great location for Tallinn-bound or Helsinki-bound travellers. We did both.

You can have the best of both worlds with the later. Try, going to Helsinki on the Linda line catamaran and returning by the Tallink ferry. Although faster, the Linda line catamaran still took 2 hours (published 1.5hrs) as the condition in the Gulf of Finland were choppy that day. Tallink, what can I say. If you want to see what the 5 o'clock commute is like in the Baltic, then catch the 17.30 from Helsinki to Tallinn leaving through the maze-like west terminal - it was a memorable and interesting experience and highly recommended.

If in Helsinki ,and if you can find the Hotel Torni, then take the lift to the bar on the roof for "Hot Wine" for the even hotter price of 10,60 Euros. The view may go some way to justifying the price - just a little anyway. On that note, Tallinn is one of the more successful emerging economies so it ain't cheap. Though it is possible even within the Old City to find food and drink bargains if you are prepared to shop around. Prices a few 100m outside the Old Town city walls drop considerably.

Consider if Tallinn is comparable to Prague as I did when walking through the Old Town. In November at least, this diverse and interesting capital seems less feverish, commercialised and congested than Prague. Juries still out - but Tallinn looks good from many angles

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesouris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear bluesouris,

Thank you very much for your comprehensive overview!
Really good to hear that the location was suitable for you and our staff were able to help you. We do have in the hotel private sauna and jacuzzi for 25 euros one hour, this has been always offered as additional service. Usually our clients have liked the opportunity to book it for a private use.
Pleasant to know that our restaurant met your expectations with the breakfast and dinner.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in here!

Wishing you all the best,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    508
    156
    37
    25
See reviews for
146
463
76
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

With so many hotels to choose from in Tallinn it's hard to balance location, price and reviews but I booked this hotel for the first night of our trip to Tallinn & Helsinki mainly because of the proximity to the ferry port. My sister & I were using Tallinn as an affordable gateway to visiting my niece during her time at university in Helsinki.
It was a very good price so my expectations weren't too high. However, I needn't have been concerned because, despite first impressions of an unpromising location & appearance, the hotel was ideally placed for the Old Town and of the standard you could expect of a 4 star hotel anywhere in Europe. The standard twin room was comfortable, clean and well furnished. The bathroom was bright & modern. What would have improved it is a hospitality tray to make a hot drink and one issue was the excessive heat at night which made it difficult to sleep. Breakfast was a well stocked buffet with enough variety for all tastes in a bright airy room.
The staff on reception were very professional, pleasant & helpful and directed us to a small supermarket where we could get supplies to take to an impoverished student in pricey Finland.
I had not booked this hotel for the 2 nts on our return from Helsinki so as to 'hedge my bets'. However my second choice was rather disappointing by comparison and it is to the Ilmarine that I would return & recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the road but quality double glazing & the thick walls of the industrial buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laNyonsaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear laNyonsaise,

Thank you so much for your feedback!
Really good to know that the location and the hotel satified your needs and you liked the breakfast as well.
Very pleasant to see that our staff give you a good impression, we are doing our best to give excellent service to our customers!

Looking forward to welcome you back in Domina Inn Ilmarine.

With best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Myself and my husband went for two days, we had no complaints what so ever. All staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great too. Would recommend this hotel to all reading this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear helen d,

Thank you for staying in Domina Inn Ilmarine and for your positive comments!
Really glad to know that you were satisfied with our staff and breakfast.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in here!

Wishing you all the best,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

As the title says this is a very decent hotel that is handily located next to the top of the old town and is only a short walk into what is a very pretty city.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food there was very good - they do a 3 course 15 euro offer during the week and the food was very nice for this so I would recommend eating there at least once. Breakfasts were the usual continental mix of hot and cold foods and were nice.

For what you get at this hotel the value is very good. The only reason I can see as to why its so cheap is because it next to a very busy road and in an area next to flats and new developments which isnt really in keeping with the place.

But I have nothing bad to say about the hotel at all and would definitelt recommend at the price

Room Tip: If you are at the front near the main road I would imagine it would be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theboymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Theboymoon,

Thank you so much for your feedback!
It´s pleasant to hear that you liked our hotel and staff. Also glad to know that our restaurant met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcome you back in Domina Inn Ilmarine!

With best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

arrived at 12pm the hotel is a large building as it used to be a factory getting in side we found a modern well maintained hotel our room was on the second floor not the biggest room but perfect for two on a short break the bathroom was very good it looked like it had just been fitted each day we had breakfast which had something for everyone the oldtown was only 5 minutes walk away and the ferry terminal just 10 minutes this is the second time we have used a domina inn as last year we stay in the one in riga both were very good hotels and we would use them again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradfordKronka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear BradfordKronka,

Thank you for your positive comments, it means a lot to us!
Really glad to hear that liked the room and the breakfast.

Looking forward to welcome you back in here!

Wishing you all the best,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were traveling with our one year old son from warmer weather and we were very happy to have a heated bathroom floor and towel rack. It made cleaning the bibs and clothes very easy.

The hotel was clean and the access to old town was great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicaraguadiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear nicaraguadiego,

Many thanks for your feedback!
Really glad to know that we were able to make your stay comfortable.

Looking forward to welcome you back in Domina Inn Ilmarine!

With best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

It took just 10 minutes to get to the hotel from the airport (7 euros on arrival and 10 euros going back). It was under 5 minutes walk to the entrance to the old town and there are 2 tram stops just a couple of minutes from the hotel as well. It's well placed for the ferry terminals too. 10 minute walk to the Viking Line terminal, less to the Linda Line one although the Tallink terminal would be about 20 minutes I think. We used Viking Line for a day trip to Helsinki and they were very good.

The room was on the small side but comfortable. Part of the hotel is built inside the facade of an old machine works factory. Our room was in this part so the window did not open to the outside. While I would not have chosen this it was fine. The unusual design is really quite nice but also clever as it shields you from the noise of the busy main road completely. The safe in the room was free but comes with a rather large key. Not as handy as one where you just key in a number to lock it.

The breakfast was good although some of the hot food was a little unusual (meat & potatoes, meatballs). Plenty of bread, ham, cheese, cereal, salad, scrambled eggs on offer as well. The staff were all polite & helpful and there is free WiFi. There is also a room where you can store your luggage for free and a nice bar area too.

The hotel seems popular with both business & leisure travellers and considering what we paid for our stay it's no wonder as the value for money really was exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear gazcam,

Thank you so much for you feedback!

Pleasant to hear that the location met your expectations.
Also glad to know that you were satisfied with the breakfast and the room.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in here!

Best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.8 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#20 of 85 in Tallinn
764 reviews
0.7 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 85 in Tallinn
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#13 of 85 in Tallinn
827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#18 of 85 in Tallinn
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#33 of 85 in Tallinn
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Property: PK Ilmarine Hotel
Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the private parking upon availability and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, PK Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing