We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place in great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barons Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barons Boutique Hotel
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Haapsalu, Estonia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place in great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a good looking property. It is very much in the center of Tallinn old town. Pubs are all around. Everything is in walking distance. It may be little noisy outside.
Service is good and breakfast was good too. I can suggest this hotel!

Room Tip: On upper floors you can see the roofs of old town. If you prefere more quiet, ask the room on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tarx99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    112
    45
    18
    9
See reviews for
33
121
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had one night romantic package in this hotel. Our room was quite small but very high. We got a bottle of sparkling wine and plate of fruits with fresh rose leaves. Everything seemed to be fine untill I opened bathroom door. There was really bad smell of drain. Unfortunately the hotel was full so we could not change the room. TV was not working because of the remote controll. Very nice bellboy went to buy new batteries but he put them backwards in the remote control. We noticed that just before we left.

We booked sauna and jacuzzi for an hour. They were nice and there was lot of space at least for two persons. One hour was maybe too little time to enjoy those facilities.

Hotel book in our room was not updated. It said that there is free afternoon coffee with home made pastries in the lobby but it was not any more. Instead I visited nice cafe accross the street. Also price for sauna was less in the hotel book than it was.

The buffee dinner was included the room price but it was very poor. Only dessert was okay. Instead breakfast was nice supprise and it was very good.

We also were disturbed of the noice from the street at Saturday night. The hotel offered free earplugs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daria_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Perfect location , good breakfast , dinner buffet often the same...
Very noisy in lots of the rooms at night by surrounding bars...
Great & friendly staff
The hotel taxi is even cheaper than the city taxi.
Charming athmosphere

Room Tip: ask for a room on "the quiet side"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This cute hotel has a really great location in the old town. However, be aware that during the weekend nights the street outside turns into a very lively bar street. The sound must bounce off the walls as we were on the 5th floor but heard it quite well both friday and saturday, but we didn't let us bother us as we instead found some great restaurants and pubs on the street. There was also some earplugs in the bathroom.
The hotel has 33 rooms, one very old elevator in front of reception and one newer elevator which only fits 2 people behind reception. We first got a small room on the 4th floor with a queen size bed when we had booked a double room. But there was no trouble changing to a bigger room with a double bed on the 5th floor. We got a early check in without any trouble. We got breakfast room service for free 2 out of 3 mornings. We think this might have been offered to us as there was low season and not many staying at the hotel. Breakfast was good, nothing extraordinary but everything we wanted, except for meatballs. We didn't take advantage of the free dinner buffet offer as we liked to try out some restaurants instead. But we had a quick look and the food looked great, 2 main courses and 2 desserts where on offer with some salad. Both breakfast and dinner was served on the 2nd floor restaurant room.
I misunderstood the hotel web page and thought we could use the jacuzzi for free but we were advise that you had to rent the whole sauna complex privately to be able to use the jacuzzi.
All in all a very price worthy hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will be noisy if you are there over a weekend but you get a great view if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soffis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runcorn, cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We booked to stay in this hotel for our break in Tallin. When we arrived we were checked in speedily and given our room keys. During our stay the staff were excellent and the hotel is wonderful. It is in the centre of Tallin old town and within easy reach of all the sights to see there. We had a very enjoyable stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back and also recommend to people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanaRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here midweek in October 2011. We were arriving quite late but the hotel arranged for a shuttle bus to collect us from the airport. We arrived almost an hour early helped by the remnants of the hurricaine but the shuttle driver had kept an eye on our flight time and was still there to meet us. When we arrived at the hotel we were struck by how amazing it looked from the outside and by how central it was. Evening meals were included in the price and a nice welcoming touch was to be told on arrival that something had been kept aside for us and would be served as soon as we had settled in (fish and potatoes in a dill sauce). With hindsight we should have opted for the smaller of the two rooms we were shown as we hadn't fully appreciated the extreme volume of the screaming that went on outside in the street until about 5am. On the plus side our room did have an excellent view! The room was comfortable, clean and perfectly adequate. The earplugs were vital.

Breakfast was huge! Served in a lovely spacious dining room on the first floor with an endless choice of pastries and hot food. I'm advised the coffee was excellent, and strong.

We didn't make it back for cakes in the afternoons but we did stay for another evening meal one night which was filling and tasty - meat and potatoes(in a dill sauce).

The hotel is in an ideal location for the major tourist attractions, the shopping mall, theatre, cinema (only salty popcorn is available in Estonia!), good value for money, has a lovely quirky lift and a good old fashioned feel about the place. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would recommend this place, but would opt for one of the quieter 'internal rooms' if we were to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annieh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here with friends for one night in August. It is such a lovely hotel and fantastic value - for around 150 euros we got: a 3 bed suite, delicious complimentary buffet dinner and breakfast, and one hour in the private sauna/spa complex which we hired just for our party. The staff were absolutely brilliant and couldn't do enough for you. Our room was very spacious, with a comfortable sitting area, and fantastic "traditional Europe" views over cobbled streets. Definitely do the private spa/sauna, it is so worth it.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite on the 3rd floor, it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misstravelleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#18 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
0.0 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#9 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#15 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baltic Hotel Imperial
Baltic Hotel Imperial
#28 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#23 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons Boutique Hotel

Property: Barons Boutique Hotel
Address: Suur-Karja 2, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Barons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barons Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing