We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Petersbourg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Petersbourg Hotel
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Taplow
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“charming hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hotel is in an excellent location for old town Tallinn, a charming hotel with character.
First the good : staff friendly, breakfast is lovely in a charming room, staff very courteous and friendly, lovely bar staff and prices not too high, log fire in reception gives a welcome atmosphere.
Not so good : no lifts and if room on third floor have to lug cases up flights of stairs, staff will help though. No room is the same which although quaint is irritating in that you are not sure if grade of room is as booked, we booked 4 deluxe (one up from standard) non smoking twin rooms last February for our Dec stay and one was allocated a suite (lovely) on the ground floor, one a family room on the third floor which consisted of a small double bed and a 'Z' type bed and as the floor was being renovated smelled strongly of paint, one was allocated a smoking room on the third floor and ours was a room on the second floor, all rooms had couches apart from ours which only had one armchair and beds were really close to wardrobe doors. Very small beds with small quilts, high ceiling rooms which gave a 'roomy' feel.
We had asked for kettles and mugs in each room (as these were apparently available) we had to ask again when we arrived and were given a small travel kettle each with no cups ! Would have been nice to have had rooms nearer to each other and of similar size.
Apart from the room variation we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: seems to be 'pot luck' as all rooms appear to be different
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersTaplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that in general you enjoyed your stay at St. Petersbourg hotel although you mentioned some details that could be improved.
As you have mentioned, at the moment we are upgrading our hotel rooms and this is why not all of the room types were available during your stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by that.
We shall definitely remind our employees not to forget to bring cups together with kettle whenever requested.
We appreciate that you mentioned the quality of breakfast and the welcoming atmosphere of St. Petersbourg Hotel.
Hopefully we shall have a chance to host you again at St. Petersbourg hotel so that you can enjoy the utmost comfort of our refurbished rooms.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    191
    32
    5
    7
See reviews for
116
427
57
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arriving in Tallinn we arrived at our hotel to a warm greeting from Mari who impressed us with her English and ability to ask us relevant questions in a friendly and efficient way. During our 5 day stay we found all the staff had similar skills and warmth. Our room on the ground floor was impressive - underfloor heating in the bathroom; low level lights that came on when we got out of bed, and in again and out again.... like children we kept trying them out! Maid service was excellent; the in house restaurant for breakfast (not a meagre Continental but a full spread and eggs, bacon etc cooked to order); also excellent for evening meals. (Be prepared if you order the pork knuckle - a monster meal!). Decor was good with Christmas preparations underway. A hotel not be faulted in my opinion. Just a few yards from the Main Square, in an historic area of Old Town. (NB try the restaurants out the door to the left and right just a few yards, excellent too.

Room Tip: We were downstairs, the first from the reception, but heard little noise although we overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Our hotel employees were really happy to hear that you noticed their professionalism and friendliness. I personally forwarded your compliments to Mari at reception who impressed you with her English skills.
We are very glad that you enjoyed the amenities of your room and found the breakfast excellent. Thank you for emphasizing such important detail hotel`s location as well.
You are very welcome to visit us again at any time!

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orsett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent three nights in this hotel last month. I have to say it was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in ( and we have stayed in a few over the years!) The staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel is well positioned in the old town, and we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for mentioning St. Petersbourg hotel as one of the nicest hotels you stayed at. We are glad that you enjoyed the property itself as well as our service.
We hope that you will choose us again whenever you will decide to come back to Tallinn.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
205 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a nice stay at Tallinn´s oldest hotel (if I recall). We got our triple room updated to junior suite, iPad to lend.. Exellent reception staff, very kind and sweet! Comfy beds, and cosy bathroom with a window.

Only negatives were a bit time-worn furnitures at room, and strange act to check minibar&refill it before our checking out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank File101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write this very positive comment on our stay at St. Petersbourg hotel and mentioning the small things that make our service special such as the Ipad.
We are glad to inform you that right now we are upgrading all of our rooms, so that our guests could enjoy the brand new furnishings in every room.
Hope to get a chance to welcome you back to St. Petersbourg hotel soon.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

All the other rave reviews on St.Petersbourg Hotel are spot on! This hotel is special. This is mainly due to the superb staff - to name but a few, the eloquent Stefan at reception, the wonderful housekeeper Olga and the so friendly and cheerful (married to an Irishman!) Katre Deen at breakfast. On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant porter at the taxi to carry our luggage. Stefan and his equally articulate colleague at reception could not have been more helpful. What an innovative gesture to give an Ipad per room to familiarise us with the hotel and keep us up to date! Things only got better. Wonderful ambience, lovely decor, spotlessly clean surroundings, superb quiet rooms with plentiful supply of toiletries, complimentary water and chocolates each evening, most meticulous room cleaning and preparation. Breakfast was a treat - selection of juices, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cold meats and fish, cheeses, olives, jams, honey, selection of breads and cakes, freshly cooked eggs,bacon,omlettes,pancakes - a veritable feast!! Our only regret over the 5 days was that the Nevski restaurant was booked out on our evening of choice. Hotel St. Petersbourg must be THE place to stay inTallinn.
P.S. Balthazars Garlic restaurant in the square is a must visit.

Room Tip: 2nd/3rd floors had more light and brighter than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest
It is hard to describe how happy we are to receive such positive comments from you! We have forwarded them to Stefan, Olga and Katre who are very pleased to know that their efforts have been noticed and appreciated.
Thank you also for mentioning the lovely decor, the ambience, cleanliness of the hotel and quality of our breakfast.
We hope that we can welcome you back to St. Petersbourg hotel some day!

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the St Petersbourg towards the end of June, Wednesday to Sunday, and we really loved it. It was a gorgeous hotel, really pretty, and so perfectly located within Tallinn - basically smack in the middle of the Old Town, really close to the town square and easy walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go, as well as a bunch of really nice restaurants.

The hotel was beautiful, and the room was really nice - comfortable room, I wouldn't say huge or anything, but a nice size, and really nicely furnished, with a comfy bed! It was kept really clean, and I think except for like a lightbulb that had run out or something we didn't have any problems. The bathroom was lovely too.

The staff were one of the best things about the hotel; they were really helpful but more than that, really, really friendly. And my boyfriend absolutely loved the breakfast, which to be fair was very nice - the restaurant was very cute, and there was an excellent buffet, as well as really nice hot food served to order. We never tried the restaurant in the evening though!

It was good value for money, and we honestly didn't have any complaints. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel perfectly located in between the main square and the Toompea area. Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, deluxe room was a bit cramped but otherwise this hotel is perfect for your stay in Tallinn.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed the location of St. Petersbourg hotel well as our
breakfast and service.Thank you for recommending us as the perfect place to stay.
Wish you a successful 2013 and welcome back at any time.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Petersbourg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petersbourg Hotel

Property: St. Petersbourg Hotel
Address: Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Petersbourg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in Tallinn Old Town. All of our 27 rooms & suites have been individually designed to reflect the Russian merchants’ style.The building itself dates back to the 15th century when a wealthy Russian merchant purchased the property and had it redesigned by the famous architect August Gabler.The latest technological appliances have been discreetly integrated throughout the hotel giving guests the height of comfort in an elegant traditional setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Petersbourg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersbourg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing