We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favourite hotel in Tallinn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Petersbourg Hotel
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“My new favourite hotel in Tallinn”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night in deluxe room and pleasant it was. I'm just going to repeat what others say about this hotel: excellent location, nice staff, spacious room, nice breakfast. Really cozy. I found free wifi there as well, I'm just not sure if it was hotel's own or someone elses.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, Front Office Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was lovely to hear that we have reached your service expectations in everyway! We appreciate you taking time to tell us about it. Thank you for choosing Hotel St.Petersbourg while visiting beautiful city of Tallinn. I would just like to confirm that we do provide our guests with free access to wi-fi. Hope to see you back to our hotels very soon!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    206
    37
    8
    7
See reviews for
127
469
59
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We arrived at the hotel from the airport by taxi which cost us ten euro, on arrival we were checked in fast and efficiently by the friendly staff were we were given a map of the old town with points of interest marked on it. Another staff member brought us and or bags to the room and gave us a quick tour of the room layout. The room was large and cleaned daily, the hotel also has a turn down service in the evening which is a nice touch. The location is brilliant, just about 100 yards from the town hall square. our room was over looking the beer house but we never found the noise thanks to the double glazed windows. The old town was beautiful with small cobbled streets with loads of charm and was nice to walk around exploring. overall the hotel was brilliant with really friendly staff and i could not find a fault.

Room Tip: No lifts so you might want to consider a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ger1IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share this experience with us. Our staff is always very keen to hear that their service has been appreciated. Thank you for that!

It is also so great to hear you had such wonderful time in this charming old town of Tallinn. I have to agree, our hotel is truly in the best location there is. Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I made a reservation for a deluxe room more than than three months in advance and the hotel confirmed the reservation. One week prior to our arrival I got a reconfirmation: "We look forward to serving you during your upcoming stay at the Hotel St. Petersbourg".

When we arrived to the hotel the receptionist said: "We have moved you to our sister hotel because we are fully booked". Excellent! Our long-awaited trip to the famous Christmas market of Tallinn was ruined as soon as it was about to begin. We had just sent our taxi away and it was raining. They didn't do anything to order a new taxi (not to mention to offer a limousine service for us which they claim to have) nor to suggest any compensation for our disappointment.

The most grotesque thing was that after we returned home they sent me an email: "Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel St. Petersbourg. We sincerely hope you enjoyed your visit with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations." We certainly did enjoy it.

In my mind, this is not just crappy customer service but almost creating. If they had told me in advance that we can't stay in the hotel there was a risk that I might cancel the reservation. Instead, as close as seven days prior to the arrival they sent me a reconfirmation.

In your position I wouldn't make a reservation to St. Petersbourg Hotel nor its sister hotel belonging to the Leading Hotels of the World (ha!). There are so many excellent and cozy hotels in the Old Town of Tallinn and close to it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank noxo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, Front Office Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that we failed to meet up with your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your feedback is very important to us. You are very right that these shortcomings should not have occurred in the first place since you made your reservation with 3 months in advance. Due to fact that your reservation wasn’t made directly through the hotel, unfortunately the original source your reservation was confirmed by, sent you out such notes as confirming your upcoming stay and thanking for staying at the Hotel automatically.

I apologize also for the inconveniences you encountered about the service not provided by reception staff in regards to complimentary transfer service upon your arrival. This has come to us as a total surprise, as the comments we receive from guests are usually extremely positive about our front desk team and their curtsey towards any guest. I have taken the opportunity to discuss the points that you have mentioned with our front desk team, please rest assured that your comments have been taken very seriously and have been followed up on in detail.

We hope to be given an opportunity to host you in future and convince you of our true hospitality.


Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the St Petersbourg Hotel. Like others, I was also upgraded to a Junior Suite as my original room smelt of cigarettes. The Junior Suite is so spacious & well appointed, it's hard to believe the hotel is so historic! As others have mentioned, there is no lift, but the staff will carry the luggage up & the stairs are quite easy to climb.
The location is fantastic, so close to the Market Square & easy walking distance even to the shopping mall outside the city. Tallin is very easy to explore & it was nice to be able to pop back to the hotel during the day.
I booked the sauna one morning, followed by a massage. It's located in the attic, so it has good views over the rooftops. The sauna is excellent, but you do need to prebook it so it can be heated up for you.
Breakfast was good, lot's of choice. It was nice having eggs freshly cooked. I also dined at the Nevskij resturant twice. After a long day of exploring the city, it was good to be able to dine at the hotel & just walk up stairs afterwards. The food & service was excellent, plus the cappucino was the best one I've had on my holiday!
The only negative for me was the number of times staff seemed to come into the room. I was relaxing after my massage & had maintenance open the door after a brief knock. The maid also folded & stacked all my clothes, which was something I've never had happen before. I can appreciate the high level of service, but as I'm not used to it, it was a bit 'invasive'. However, it didn't affect my very high opinion of the hotel standards & I will certainly stay here on my next trip to Tallin.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is spacious & well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Travelled to Tallinn at Christmas time and arrived by Taxi from the airport. Ten minutes and 15 euro's. Met at the hotel by very smart efficient staff. Very welcoming helping with the bags. The hotel is a oldest hotel in Tallinn with authentic features. However, recently been renovated and looked like a new hotel. Really kept its charm. No lift but all rooms easily accessible. Very large room and could not fault it. It was 200 yards from the centre of town. Could not be better located for those who want to be in the middle of town. However, quiet as it is just around the corner from the noise. We used the sauna which is free before 11.00am but 13 euros after. Worth every penny because you have private use for that hour. The breakfast was superb. A cook made you ommlettes or scrambled egg with salmon every morning. Your choice! Tallinn itself is absolutely fabulous with wonderful cafes and bars. No smoking in the bars which suited us as we were none smokers. All in all could not fault the hotel or Tallinn.

Room Tip: There is no lift but it is a slow rising staircase so no problem really. Only three floors to top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend break. Lovely hotel in a very good location. Comfortable, spacious rooms, very clean bathrooms and good wholesome food. The hotel is very close to all the sights, including the Christmas market in the town square where they sell all sorts of crafts and great hot wine! Very good value for a weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAH810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed here to visit the Christmas market (which was literally around the corner!). We arrived and discovered we had been upgraded for free as there were 3 adults in one room so they had given us a bigger room-very nice!

The staff were all exceptionally friendly and the hotel really couldn't be better located for exploring most of the main sites.

Tallinn itself is beautiful and if you are visiting, I really would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leateach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
851 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Petersbourg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petersbourg Hotel

Property: St. Petersbourg Hotel
Address: Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Petersbourg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in Tallinn Old Town. All of our 27 rooms & suites have been individually designed to reflect the Russian merchants’ style.The building itself dates back to the 15th century when a wealthy Russian merchant purchased the property and had it redesigned by the famous architect August Gabler.The latest technological appliances have been discreetly integrated throughout the hotel giving guests the height of comfort in an elegant traditional setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Petersbourg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersbourg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing