We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, but avoid room 311”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Petersbourg Hotel
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2011

though quite a good hotel, room 311 had no proper air-con ( just a fan ) and if you opened the windows a constant loud drone of the kitchen extract, plus smell until 00:15.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morlandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 940 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

Hotel St. Petersbourg is a highly recommenable place to stay: Very kind service, comfortable and clean room, walking distance to most of Tallinn's beautiful historical sites not more than a few minutes. I enjoyed my six days very much there!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kulturbegeisterte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Location, rooms, breakfast - everything was perfect.
Rather costy though, but goof quality for price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia_Europe_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

A lovely hotel right in the centre of old Tallinn, with all the sights within easy walking distance. Food in their restaurant is also good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We recently returned from the St Petersbourg Hotel and had a lovely four days there. The hotel is perfectly situated just around the corner from the Old Square. Our room faced the Beer Hall but we had no problems with noise, everything seemed to finish early there (by 11.00pm). Room was spotlessly clean and well equipped, the "turn down" service was a nice touch, when the maid came early evening and closed the curtains, put out complimentary water and chocs, removed the bedspead and turned down duvets She also put down linen "rugs" so that your clean tootsies don't have to touch the carpet when you get out of bed!. In the bathroom there was shampoo, body lotion, dental rinse and bath lotion plus a hairdryer. Two flannels, bath towels and hand towels were replaced almost before you could use them!
Breakfast: a small choice of hot dishes cooked to order and a nice buffet of cold cuts, cereals, croissants, rolls, jam etc.
Reception all spoke good English and were happy to help.
We didn't try their restaurant(s), too many to try in Tallinn (but avoid the Main Square, very expensive and there are better ones in the side streets).
The only downside to the hotel was the lack of air conditioning. I realise this might be difficult to install in an historic hotel, but it meant it uncomfortable to sleep due to the heat (when we were there) even with windows wide open. For this reason alone we wouldn't visit again during hot summer months.
Other than that we can really recommend this hotel.
Tip: Tallin can be spoiled by all the walking tours. We went to Toompea and found it difficult to get around to all the museums etc because of the vast numbers of tours from the cruise ships. Go early in the morning or later in the afternoon to avoid the "Cunard" tours!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Perhaps it was the hot weather in Tallinn that left us so grouchy, but the lack of sleep at the St. Peterbourg certainly didn't help. Even though they advertise air conditioning, apparently this means one small fan. Opening the windows late at night provides slight temperature relief and comes with loud street noises from the bars below. And the beds aren't comfortable....thin mattress, no top flat sheet (only the heavy duvet), and only one pillow. The place may be gentile, but it's also shabby. Service at the desk was friendly and helpful so my criticism relates only to the hotel's facilities, not its staff. Free internet service is one shared computer in lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank econoclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Great hotel, located in the centre of the old town, very close to the main square and all attractions. Very good breakfast, lovely parrot Misha, and very helpful staff. If I return to Tallin I surely stay at St. Petersbourgh Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#13 of 86 in Tallinn
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Petersbourg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petersbourg Hotel

Address: Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $132 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Petersbourg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in Tallinn Old Town. All of our 27 rooms & suites have been individually designed to reflect the Russian merchants’ style.The building itself dates back to the 15th century when a wealthy Russian merchant purchased the property and had it redesigned by the famous architect August Gabler.The latest technological appliances have been discreetly integrated throughout the hotel giving guests the height of comfort in an elegant traditional setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Petersbourg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersbourg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing