We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
229
35
16
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
229
35
16
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass of prosecco prince charles leading hotels of the world pet shop leaders club sunny courtyard atmospheric cellar visitors book bay window high room classic room beautiful hotel old town period features quiet street main building stone walls
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 292 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

Hotel deserves 3 max 4 stars, never 5. Reception run by trainees, no lift, no spa, 14" television. Cheap coffee in rooms, stain/dirt in bath tub. Hotel wants advance payment. Benefits from central location and VIPs having stayed here. Deception...

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank triplg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlossleHotelGroup, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Every guest of ours is entitled to an opinion, sadly yours was rather disappointing. Yes, we do charge for a hotel stay up front, just like airlines charge for a flight ticket up front. And as complex hotel business may seam, at the end of the day - it is a business that wants to protect your interests and much is it's own.

Your remarks are noted and addressed with highest importance where applicable, wishing you delightful rest of the summer ahead!

With Kind regards,

Mara Blaubarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019

A one-night stay in a one-bedroom suite. Check-in/-out worked well. Hotel nicely restored, room furniture a bit clumsy and kitschish. Clean, with windows to the street side and the garden restaurant. Aircon weakish, kept the temperature just tolerable on full 'blast' on a very hot day. Safe not working (bolt locked outside/batteries dead?), and not fixed despite a mention at the reception. Live music in the garden restaurant by a chap who was able to afford a keyboard, but not music lessons (worst playing ever heard; glad it stopped by 10 pm). Excellent breakfast in the garden--having to pay extra for English breakfast was a bit unexpected and does not correspond to the five-star image the hotel intends to communicate. However, a nice hotel alternative to the run-of-the-mill 4/5-star glass towers outside the old town: could well stay again despite some hiccups.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ollie582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlossleHotelGroup, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review made in regards to your recent stay at Schlossle Hotel. Your remarks are noted with highest importance and we appreciate you letting know what wasn't to your liking when on site.

Besides the mentioned above, we still hope you would visit Schlossle again as we truly look forward to look after you in way pleasing your every expectation.

With Kind regards,

Mara Blaubarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019

Our travel agent has booked for us a Superior room in this 5 stars hotel, belonging to the well known international chain The leading Hotels of the World.
What a disappointment to enter a tiny room, with no chair, no desk or table, no place for a 2nd suitcase! The "writing area" was on the window-sill, which hindered the window to open!
When I let know the receptionist our disappointment she answered the room was 15 square meters but if you do not calculate the narraow entrance, it was hardly 10-11 sm.
To use a laptop oe watch TV we had to sit on the bed.
I think this is totally unacceptable for a 5 stars hotel.
Not only, but our friends who had paid a difference for a DeLuxe room had to walk upstairs for 3 floors: the hotel has NO lift, and it is not mentioned on its site!

Room tip: You better choose another hotel!!!
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AdinaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlossleHotelGroup, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Either good or bad, any feedback serves us as a valuable tool to improve our guests experience on site. Indeed few of our rooms are in the size of 15 m2, providing comfort of a basics in a hotel room. These are also the most affordable rooms at the hotel. Unfortunately, due to size of the building and protection of UNESCO heritage, there is not much we can do to change that. Your remarks however, are well noted and we will certainly look for ways to improve our guests experience even in the room you were staying at.

We hope that you would still give us opportunity to serve you to your highest expectations in future.

With kind regards,

Mara Blaubarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

The Schlossle is a small (23 room) boutique hotel on an old cobble-stoned street in the heart of Old town Tallinn. The rooms are nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and a pleasant garden for evening drinks.

We found the staff to be kind and helpful and we especially appreciated the efforts of front of house staff Valeria and Arseni in their efforts to make our stay a big success.

This hotel is perfect for a stay in Tallinn. It fits its surroundings and adds charm to a visit to this beautiful old town. It is not a grand “fancy” hotel as some might expect from the grouping with Leading Hotels of the World but it is a first class hotel that I would highly recommend to all my friends.

Room tip: Upgrade from a classic double
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank susi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maps33814492967, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sending such a kind note our way! It was absolute you looking after you every step of the way. Valeria and Arseni were thrilled to hear you mentioned them in particular. And I couldn't agree with you more that staying in Schlossle is a must to fully experience rich history and ambiance Tallinn has to offer. It is indeed a unique experience hard to find elsewhere.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back some day soon,

With kind regards,

Mara Blaubarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2019 via mobile

Reflecting our recent stay at the Schlössle Hotel we notice room for improvement especially when taking into account what one would expect from a Leading Hotel of the World or any other five star property. The numerous partially loud complaints by arriving or leaving guests as experienced during our stay unfortunately strengthen our impressions and experiences.

Service level of the front office team:

With the exception of the welcoming at the hotel the days after our arrival we again and again experienced discrepancies and very unprofessional behavior of the partly very young ladies and gentlemen at the front office. In general we got the impression that a respective supervisor or front office manager is missing at all at this property as is the case in the restaurant in form of a f&b manager. The really young ladies and gentlemen act like robots as the only conduct those tasks precisely asked for.

On the last evening we spontaneously decided to dine at the hotel‘s restaurant Stenhus. Unfortunately, when asking for a table as an in-house guest to be offered we were told at the front desk that without any reservation upfront one would not accommodate us. Thus we decided to take a look on our own and asked the waitress directly in the restaurant if we may have dinner at the hotel. Although the restaurant was occupied by only 50% and some of the tables have not been set up we were dismissed without any alternative. From a hotel in this segment I usually would expect any alternative and flexible solution to be provided. For example there would have been a load of options in the nicely decorated and vacant rooms next to the lobby or there would have been an option of delivering food to our room. The problem solving ability of the front office team as such as the ladies in the restaurants on site is far away from what we have experienced in other LHW properties or any other five star hotel so far.

When asking for an outside restaurant reservation on the first evening for the second night of our stay we experienced another example of lack of training. The very young gentlemen on the front desk phoned the restaurant and asked for a table at a specified time. Some seconds later he hang up the phone by saying ,,Ok thank you". There was no effort taken to ask for a table at an alternative time nor were we recommended any other restaurants nearby. Another example happened when we asked to check if we may use the sauna of the property - that can only be used by upfront reservation - one hour later as planned. The gentlemen at the front office desk indicated that he would check accordingly and let us know if the sauna would be available. However, we never received any response regarding this.

Breakfast service & restaurant location:

Breakfast is served in the cellar vaults of the restaurant Stenhus. What many guests including us asked during our stay was the fact if the breakfast would also be available to be served in the beautiful and sunny courtyard or the restaurant rooms on the ground floor next to the lobby. Each time respective requests occurred guests were told that this would not be possible breakfast would only be available in the cellar vaults although the sunny weather outside would have been a respective enrichment.
Furthermore with exception of the first two mornings - where the head waitress offered us an excellent and very friendly service - on the third morning the service and food choice offered at the buffet were below any five star hotel or LHW service. When we arrived at the restaurant for breakfast at 09:15 a.m. in the morning the strawberries on the buffet had already been out of stock as had been the black bread (also after asking for strawberries and bread to be restocked). The only fruits offered on the buffet were melons and pineapples. Cherries had also been out of stock. Our dish had rarely been cleared, new cutlery not been replaced.

Check-Out:

Upon check-out no one asked if we had an excellent stay or wished us a pleasant journey. To carry our luggage three storeys downstairs due to the missing elevator also left a negative aftertaste. Although the very young gentlemen whom I would not have wanted to hand over my heavy suitcase asked if he may assist us on half the way of the first floor.

Despite the fact that we had been provided a very nice accommodation the overall impression of the property has not provided us with a feeling of personalized and excellent service à la LHW. In our opinion the deficiencies in terms of missing elevators, inclined walls of our suite and the very basic equipment of the bathrooms might easily be compensated by a respective professional and personalized service provided by a respective well-trained and supervised staff.

At the current state I really wonder - like many other guests wondered too during our stay or wonder as described in reviews on tripadvisor - how LHW granted the respective status to this property.

For us LHW - in contrast to our former numerous former stays at LHW properties - nowadays only is a selling and marketing instrument instead of ensuring for a certain level of service and standard at their properties.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank juergd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlossleHotelGroup, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Schlossle Hotel although I am saddened to hear your stay was disappointing. Any feedback either good or bad is a valuable tool for us to understand how well we look after our guests. Unfortunately we didn't succeed to satisfy your expectations staying yet again at another Leading Hotels of the World property. I truly hope this won't make you loose trust placed within brand of LHW. Your remarks are taken with highest importance and we hope you would give us another chance to serve you to your highest expectations sometime in future.

Please accept our sincerest apology's once again while we continue working on the improvements stated in your note below.

With Kind regards,

Mara Blaubarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews