We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
179
25
9
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
25
9
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prince charles welcoming drink pet shop visitors book purple lighting leading hotels of the world beautiful hotel hotel including quiet street stone walls bedroom suite old town restaurant downstairs is classic room on arrival the bed was extremely comfortable small courtyard
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good location and a fascinating hotel due to the 500-year-old building in which it was located. Our room was quite spacious but several other people said their rooms were much smaller and verged on being uncomfortable. This hotel is not suitable for people with mobility problems as there is no elevator and one must use the stairs. Two rooms, 18 and 19 I think, were only accessed via a steep, narrow, spiral staircase that had very worn steps and looked quite dangerous – definitely two rooms to avoid.

The dining room was downstairs in the basement and was well fitted out. The amount of space meant there a limited choice for breakfast but it was very good quality and quite adequate. We had a group dinner here one night and the food served was very good.

Room Tip: Limited mobility people should carefully enquire first.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara B, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Bob,

Thank you so much for so many kind words sent our way. Yes indeed, hotel is located in a very old building dating back to 14th century and is UNESCO protected. This in fact alone does not allow us to put in an elevator or do any major changes for the building inside and out. However for the guests with mobility needs, we do have a spacious room with access from street.

We are very glad to hear how much you enjoyed dinner and breakfast in our restaurant Stenhus.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back some time soon,

With kind regards from all of us at Schlossle Hotel,

Mara Blaubarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very beautiful hotel with the 5 star service and breakfast. Great location in the old town. At least the rooms facing the yard were quiet.
The bed in the classic room was too narrow. Not more than 120 cm. Would be nice to know in advance..
if you appreciate the service, this is your hotel. If not, you get nicer rooms for the same price from other hotels. Still recommend!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Satu I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara B, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Satu,

Thank you very much for your kind review despite the fact that you found bed to be too narrow. Double beds in our classic rooms are 140 cm wide. Unfortunately room size doesn't allow us to fit in larger beds. There are only 4 rooms at the hotel with this size measurements of bed, rest are 180 cm wide and above. Besides remark on bed size, we are very glad to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed the excellent service by team provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back some other time in case your travel plans would bring you back to Tallinn,

With kind regards,

Mara Blaubarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A hotel to stir the imagination 'if walls could talk!' Historic with stone walls, beautifully converted to incorporate a comfortable lounge/reception area and bedrooms offering a very high standard of facilities and exeptionally clean. Situated in the Old Town amongst the cobbled streets and a few minutes from the Square, we were grateful for our flat shoes.
Without exception the staff were very attentive and helpful during our three night stay. After a lovely warm welcome with complimentary drink we did not wish to have a 'full lunch' so they made us a 'Club Sandwich' - delicious with a side order of chips!
What a treat to have a 'turn down' service - with bottled water and chocolate & slippers by the bed!
Our visit to Tallinn has left us with happy memories of a unique hotel and friendly Estonians.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara B, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Diana,

Thank you so much for sending so many compliments our way! We couldn't be more pleased to hear what a great stay you had!

We hope that sooner or later you will have another opportunity to stay with us, as we cant wait to pamper you even more.

With kind regards from all of us in Tallinn,

Mara Blaubarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hotel Schlossle is located in the Old Town in Tallinn. It is in the lower part of town, toward the port. We had no trouble walking from the ferry to hotel, although it is about a kilometer (and the streets in the old town are cobblestone).

The location is just where you want to be. It is on a quiet side street, quite close to the main square. The building is historic. Breakfast is served in the restaurant in the basement, a cozy space with stone walls and vaulted ceilings.

We arrived about 11:00 a.m., too early for check-in. The hotel happily took our bags. When I asked for a room with a view, we were "upgraded" to a suite. UPgraded to the top floor of the hotel -- three flights up. This is not a hotel for the stair-shy. They also helped us book a ferry to Helsinki, guiding us through a web site in Russian (there are lots of languages in Estonia).

The bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom was great. We had good water pressure, despite being on the top floor of a centuries-old building in an ancient part of town. The "view" from the room was the courtyard. Oh well. The hotel is between a narrow street and courtyard, so views are not really on offer. Happily, the windows had real blackout shades, and the room offered air conditioning so we did not sleep with the windows open. I'm guessing, though, that sounds would be minimal even if the windows were open.

Breakfast is quite good, including eggs and pancakes to order and the standard Baltic breakfast buffer (hope you like salmon!).

We really enjoyed both Tallinn and Hotel Schlossle. The biggest regret is that we stayed only one night.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if you have trouble with stairs, this may not be the place for you.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GL_from_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara B, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Schlossle Hotel. Even though for one night, we are so glad to hear how many wonderful memories you have taken home with you. Tallinn indeed is a unique place to visit and Schlossle hotel only compliment history it presents.

We wish you many more trips as wonderful as this ahead for the rest of the year to come and cant wait to possibly welcoming you back soon!

With kind regards,

Mara Blaubarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

We stayed here for one night. The rooms are cute and well-furnished, and the Estonians are helpful. I stayed with an elderly woman who has trouble on stairs. The hotel, built in the 13th century, has only stairs. Because of this, the staff moved us to a suite so we could be lower. The breakfast is pretty good too.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hursha6b5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara B, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a kind review and for choosing to stay at the Schlossle Hotel! Having you stay with us has been our true pleasure.

We certainly hope to see you back some day soon.

With kind regards,

Mara Blaubarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews