We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Schlossle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Schlossle
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

the staff is very young but very friendly and helpful. I got a nice junior suite. There is no air conditioning in the hotel or in the rooms, so if you visit during one of those hot summer days, your room could turn into a sauna.
In the bathroom, the wc is incredibly ill-positioned, making it almost impossible for a normal person to use it properly.
Some of the tables of the restaurant are in the backyard, so if your windows face the backyard, your room could be noisy up to late at night, particularly if you need to keep the windows open.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aqualong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    65
    16
    11
    8
See reviews for
70
273
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Swissotel, but I would have done anything to stay here. It's so charming, beautiful and impeccably decorated. The terrasse outside is adorable, and my favorite part of it all was the downstairs cavern bar where transylvania meets Andy Warhol!

If you want to splurge, this is THE best place in Tallinn

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank intheTDOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night and absolutely loved it. The building is amazing. Loved the courtyard! In the evening they had live music which was great. The service was superb. However we did have a small misunderstanding. We have asked about getting a drink at the bar downstairs (very amazing space) and were told that it is closed for the summer. However walking by later at night, I saw people drinking and hanging out there. Maybe it was a private party...
We did not eat dinner at the restaurant but the breakfast was absolutely amazing. It is probably the best breakfast I had in a hotel. In addition to very extensive buffet you could order hot dishes off the menu and my Eggs Benedict were one of the best i ever had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youlia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our group of 4, loved staying at this hotel! First, it was built 30 years before Columbus sailed to The Americas, and had such old world charm. Anthony took great care of us, even bringing a fan to our room on a hot day! I have family that live in Estonia, and their saying is "don't be upset about our hot day, we have only one day of summer"! The hotel has a fantastic courtyard, and the chef offered personal attention to us when we desired something that wasn't offered on the menu!
We loved our stay here, and will return for another visit!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindvest, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Schlössle. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Tendo Lindvest
Hotel Manager
E-mail: tendo@schlossle-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is world class. Do not believe any negative review about it!

I have been traveling around the world and stayed in the best of the best of hotels - and Schlössle belongs to the very top f them all.

The building and the rooms are pure fairytale. Some small, others a little bit bigger.

And yes - it is sometimes hot in the rooms and yes, sometimes there is some unpleasant smell from the sinks...

BUT WHO CARES? Stay in Schlössle and relive your chilrooms dreams of a fairytale castle. With impeccable service from the incredibly skilled and friendly staff.

I would not dream of staying in another hotel in Tallins beautiful historic and medieval old town.

Oh - did I forget to mention the restaurant - the MC Grill? Well, this is a wonder in itself. So beautiful inside and outside (in the yard). And great food to ok prices.

Room Tip: Ask for room 11 - a small suite with windows facing the quiet yard. Good for fresh air during the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torbenDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited in December for the Christmas markets and despite the cold outside the hotel was warm, cosy and welcoming. The restaurant was superb and the grotto bar downstairs was unlike anyplace ever been and very cosy.....highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toptottie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is my 2nd stay at the hotel and Im shocked at their Impeccable service and Excellent location. The services preemptively try to do what you might need. they are very accomodating and even though we were a loud group of 16 people they were extremely cooperative and very forthcoming in adjusting to our requirements. The only one concern is there is no airconditioning in the rooms which is true for all restaurants and places in estonia so avoid the extremely temperate months of may-July and you should be fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skhemka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
1,620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
2,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Property: Hotel Schlossle
Address: Puehavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RE-OPENING ON 1ST OF JUNE 2016 The Schlössle Hotel can be found on Holy Spirit Street, with its picturesque cobblestones, numerous historic storage buildings and merchant houses dating back to the 13th century. The Schlössle Hotel, is steeped in history and over the centuries has seen numerous owners, among them members of Tallinn's most distinguished patrician families. Located between the old harbour and the Old Town Square, it offers a prime location to explore Tallinn and a city today classified as a UNESCO World heritage site. The luxury five star Schlössle hotel reflects its unique history with lots of original features in its elegantly appointed bedrooms, public areas, all combined with the latest technology and comfort. In the hotels gourmet restaurant you can discover cuisine reflecting the best of Nordic culinary traditions, and if you are just looking for a casual drink or a private event the Suite lounge in the historical cellars offers the perfect cosy atmosphere. During the summer months the hotels opens its romantic external courtyard terrace, with live music every evening. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing