We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty old town experience”
Review of Hotel Schlossle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Schlossle
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

In the midst of winter, we had a warm and comfortabe stay in the old lady! The service was excellent, the staff friendly and always quick and willing to assist. The location is ideal for exploring Tallinn by foot. Breakfast was a treat each morning and I can recommend this hotel without reserve.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank MarlenaduToit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for you very kind review of Hotel Schlössle. We are happy to hear that your stay with us was warm and comfortable and you found our service excellent.
We highly appreciate you recommending us and would be very glad to welcome you back at any time.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 552 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

In a city with already a great deal to recommend it, the Hotel Schlossle is another reason to venture to Tallinn. Located in an ideal spot very near to the Town Square in the pedestrian only Old Town, the hotel is superlative. From Anthony welcoming you enthusiastically at the front door, the hotel's staff continues to do its utmost to ensure a pleasurable stay. Dining is superb with food not only beautifully prepared and presented in the atmospheric stone and beam dining room, but the maitre d's eagle eye ensures service is efficient yet unobtrusive. A pre dinner drink or after dinner coffee are equally enjoyable in the marvelous bar downstairs where again, the subtle not too bright lighting and chic furniture are the perfect vehicles to let the hotel's architecture shine. If you really wish to experience the special restoration of these period buildings, book the Schlossle Suite in the loft of the hotel. Here one can touch the stone and exposed timbers, still retaining the pulley mechanism to lift goods in from the street, and feel the house's medieval history existing perfectly alongside wifi! Of course, one loses the benefit of far reaching views from the gabled windows but there are few to be had anyway in the narrow lanes of the old town. Better to focus on the Schlossle welcoming interior and savour its overall excellence after a day's touring and buying Estonian wool sweaters and mittens. And don't forget the sauna to equally warm you - the Suite has one of its very own so you needn't worry about booking the hotel one ahead of time. A special stay in a special city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marjolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
It is our greatest pleasure to know that you not just enjoyed your stay with us, but even recommend Hotel Schlössle as another reason to visit Tallinn.
Thank you for pointing out the features of our biggest and nicest Suite as well as our restaurant and lounge.
Your compliments regarding the service have been forwarded to Anthony and other employees of hotel reception and restaurant.
Hopefully we shall have a chance to greet you at charming Hotel Schlössle some time again.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful old hotel in the city of the old town. Easily walking distance to everything. Hotel staff where excellent, couldn't have been more helpful.
Our room was at the back of the hotel in a separate building with the sauna beneath our room. Room was ok, we had paid for a superior room, not sure how it was superior tho.
Rooms are cleaned twice a day, and very well. Maid also cleaned my make up brushes, trying to be helpful, but personally thought was a bit of an invasion of my privacy.
Breakfast had a good selection, cooked breakfast also very good. Did however learn that if you order pancakes, you get 3 very small designer pancakes, not the stack I was expecting, but maybe they think only kids would order them :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for pointing out the important features of Hotel Schlössle that make our property so special: the location, excellent staff and beautiful old style. Each room of our hotel is different due to peculiarity of medieval building. Sorry to hear that the size of your pancake plate was not exactly what you expected but we are glad to know that it did not spoil your breakfast experience in general.
Welcome back to Hotel Schlössle whenever you decide to visit Tallinn again.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nothing beats the fairy tale type of atmosphere in Tallinn's Old Town in December. This experience was nicely complemented by Hotel Schlossle's combined medieval and modern atmosphere, excellent service, and prime location just a couple of blocks away from the Town Hall Square, where the annual Christmas market is held. The Christmas market is definitely worth visiting if you happen to be in Tallinn just before Christmas.

The service at Hotel Schlossle was first-class. I want to extend my special thanks to the personnel at the reception. Unfortunately, my name memory is fairly bad, but a young, tall lady and her male colleague were very attentive and professional from the very first beginning. The check-in process was prompt, and we were fluently informed of all essential things and opening hours at the hotel. A nice plus was that we were upgraded to a penthouse room on the highest floor. This room was very spacious, cozy, and decorated with a good taste very much in line with the "medieval" spirit of the hotel.

The hotel's breakfast was substantial and made of fresh, high-quality ingredients. The only negative thing was the speed of the service. We placed an order on two omelettes. From the moment of placing the order, we had 30 minutes available until we had to leave for a nearby museum to attend a guided tour. After waiting for almost 30 minutes for those omelettes and trying to find a waiter or waitress to hurry up our order, we gave up and simply had to leave the hotel for the museum. By this time, we had - fortunately - already eaten many things from the buffet table, so we did not leave the hotel as hungry guests. However, it would have been nice to hear from the waitress in advance that preparing the two omelettes will take about 30 minutes because the kitchen is busy or something else.

The cellar floor of the hotel has been turned into a nice lounge bar / living room. Unfortunately, it was almost empty while we were there, but the snacks and drinks there very good and served promptly.

All in all, a very nice hotel with a wonderful location. There are many high-quality restaurants in the neighborhood and pretty much everything is within the walking distance. Combined with friendly and helpful staff, a nice atmosphere, and well-maintained, very clean facilities, this hotel is worth visiting (in spite of the omelette episode...).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkoSHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind and detailed review on Hotel Schlössle. We are happy to know that your stay with us was a nice compliment to beautiful Tallinn experience at Christmas time.
Our reception staff is very grateful for your positive comments regarding the service they provide. As for the „omelette episode“, thank you a lot for bringing it to our attention. Feedback like yours helps us a lot to make improvements wherever they are needed. We apologize for inconvenience caused by slow service at breakfast. At the same time we are glad to know that it did now ruin your overall impression of our hotel.
Thank you for recommending us and hopefully we can see you as our guest sometime again.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of December and snow fell, it was SO beautiful. The hotel is warm, exquisite, comfortable, with excellent beds and a Downton Abbey level of service!! The hotel is right in the heart of the old town, close to the main square and you can walk everywhere from here. The breakfast is very good and I recommend the porridge (unusual!). I cannot recommend this hotel too highly, it is very good value and I bet you won't want to leave!!

Room Tip: Room 27 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarratttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you a lot for giving positive such comments about your stay at Hotel Schlössle and thank you even more for recommending us! We promise to keep up the high level of comfort and service in our house and happy to inform you that your compliments of porridge at breakfast have been forwarded to the kitchen!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Hotel Schlössle.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were made to feel very welcome at Hotel Schlossle. Warm and friendly staff, great service and a hotel with a wonderful atmosphere in the heart of the Old Town. Couldn't have asked for anything more and can't wait to visit again!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Dabow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Warm and positive comments like yours motivate our staff to keep up doing great job keeping hotel guests happy.
We are looking forward to seeing you again Hotel Schlösse.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We went there in early July. It was almost whight night yet. Beautifull city with very freundly people. The hotel comes from the 13th century as the most part of the inner city. Though no aircondition in the streetview room but we did not missed it even in July. The service , the food are ver good as well. When you ask an internet access point they offer you a notebook you can use in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fehervar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear that your stay at Hotel Schlössle was pleasant and memorable. Thank you for mentioning the possibility of using the hotel`s notebook in your room. We are glad to inform you that now all our guests can also complimentary use an IPad in the rooms, so if you choose to visit us again, we shall provide the latest gadget at your convenience.
You are welcome back at any time.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,745 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,442 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
931 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Address: Puehavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $165 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RE-OPENING ON 1ST OF JUNE 2016 The Schlössle Hotel can be found on Holy Spirit Street, with its picturesque cobblestones, numerous historic storage buildings and merchant houses dating back to the 13th century. The Schlössle Hotel, is steeped in history and over the centuries has seen numerous owners, among them members of Tallinn's most distinguished patrician families. Located between the old harbour and the Old Town Square, it offers a prime location to explore Tallinn and a city today classified as a UNESCO World heritage site. The luxury five star Schlössle hotel reflects its unique history with lots of original features in its elegantly appointed bedrooms, public areas, all combined with the latest technology and comfort. In the hotels gourmet restaurant you can discover cuisine reflecting the best of Nordic culinary traditions, and if you are just looking for a casual drink or a private event the Suite lounge in the historical cellars offers the perfect cosy atmosphere. During the summer months the hotels opens its romantic external courtyard terrace, with live music every evening. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing