We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First spring tour”
Review of Schooner Kajsamoor - CLOSED

Schooner Kajsamoor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daily sightseeing tours on the Bay of Tallinn with guided tour and lunch. Tours run from May thru mid-Sept.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have checked out the early spring Tallinn sailing attractions – Kajsamoor traditional sailing vessel departing from Maritime museum proves to be the best sightseeing cruise available there. Excursion out on the bay is fun with no doubt, so the salmon soup they offer. Compared to the other excursions in the town the captain-leaded tour was very informative and entertaining indeed. I would really recommend to fellow tripadvisor readers to take the tour – this was fun and educating as well. Concerning the weather in northern Baltics, what was amazing - the real fireplace on wooden schooner! Supposedly original stove from the early days of the ship, when crew was cooking there. Another interesting fact – this ships was originally Norwegian built vessel and was involved in Shetland bus campaign of British navy during the WWII

1  Thank Marika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

17 - 21 of 28 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Old Tallinn skyline with all the towers is very picturesque from the bay. We took the noon lunch tour with our U.S. guests. Captain was spending quite a time telling the fun stories and myths, if you believe half of that you’re well done. But this is more than amusing indeed. Lunch was superior – the thick salmon soup we were served is most likely the best ever we have received.

Thank Cora_Tln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We found this attraction / activity via the Tallinn Visitors Card - it was advertised as a highly rated dinning outing. We booked this dine / sail with another couple and went in July 2012. Prior to booking we both emailed and asked numerous questions about the meal since it said "whatever they catch that day" because two of us do not eat fish. We asked if two of the four of us could get shrimp or something veggie and would pay extra if needed. We both recceived emails back that they would do shrimp and it was not an issue at all.
With the email confirmations that our meal issues would be covered we booked the Kajsmoor using our Tallinn visitors card at 1/2 price. It's been a while but I think at half price it was still around $70 for a couple.
We boarded the ship and again reinterated our meal requests and were told it would be taken care of... The ship departed at the advertised time. It was a full ship for the evening sailing. They provided some blankets for those not prepared for the cool / windy night breeze which was nice. We sat on the padded area beneath the sail so we were comfortable and for the most part everyone on the ship had enough room to sit on the upper / outdoor deck if they chose. Below - down a steep set of narrow steps it was also possible to sit in the galle area out of the weather. Seating in this area was not for those not physically fit to use the stairs - FYI
The captain gave the overview as we left in some lanugage that was not English (which was fine) and then told us he would give the same information in English was he was done to ensure all passengers heard the same history /details of the ship, etc. He spoke about 20 minutes in the non English language, walked over and asked the English speaking guests to gather and he gave the same overview we were told that took about 8 minutes.... We thought the length of time difference between language was weird but we weren't going to let it keep us from having a good time.
The captain announced it was dinner time. So we sort of waited on the first part of the line to decrease before we got in line for food. As we approached the serving station manned by a woman from the kitchen we saw that it was a crock pot with some sort of soup. The soup was served in plastic hotdog containers - meaning they were shallow. They held about 8 oz or 1 cup of soup. When I smelled of the soup it smelled like fish, so we asked what was in the soup and told we were correct it was indeed fish. So we did not eat the soup and just got a piece of bread because it was a "dinner" cruise so we assumed there would be some sort of sandwich or entree of some sort since we did not think soup would be considered the main meal. As time passed and all passengers got their soup - the crock pot was empty and taken back down to the kitchen area. We then asked and were told that WAS the meal and nothing else would be served. They next informed us there were canned chips and cookies for $5 each if we were interested. Needless to say we were disappointed and agin mentioned and showed our emails saying we could have a non -fish dinner meal and from the owner saying "shrimp". They shrugged their shoulders and that was the end of that.
The "sail" portion which was supposed to be all around the bay was to the right of the pier where we boarded, then back past the pier to the left and this went on back and forth for the duration of the journey. They were no going around the actual bay, etc.
The captain next tried to sell post cards for $5 U.S. Dollars each saying they would be mailed from their very own post office downstairs. This sales pitch went on until every passenger was asked and when no one purchased one the trip abruptly ended.
We took a taxi to get to the dock, as did several others. When the ship returned there were NO taxis on site. It was a llittle hike back into town and luckly we were all fit enough to do it, for those that were not I'm not sure how they managed.
Also after the hike back into town it was after 9 pm and we were all starving! Even the two in our group that ate the soup were not full with a cup of soup only for a dinner meal. It was bad enough we paid $75 a couple using the 1/2 price Tallinn Card, but if we had paid $150 for two people and gotten soup I would have probably blown a gasket!
We took a similar pirate ship in Cancun that was about $50 a person. It included pre dinner drinks of rum punch or pina coladas in small cups. The meal was a mini buffet down in the kitchen with a couple of proteins, a few vegetables, rolls and a dessert. So at least we know all excursions on a ship are not like this terrible experience.

1  Thank twosassyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajsamoor G, captain at Schooner Kajsamoor, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

As I can see that was this unfortunate day you were together with another couple (review below by TammyP). It happens sometimes I tell the stories unevenly for the guests of different nationalities. Which is of course no excuse and every guest shall be handled equally. Concerning the no-fish request I am really sorry - as I have answered below. We have to make serious conclusions and improve our booking logistics to prevent such mistake. Usually we always honor the people's request for no-fish and offer veggie version instead.
Concerning plastic containers we had in July one period we had to offer our guests the soup from plastic, that's true. But ever since then we have proper tableware.
I'm terribly sorry for your disappointment. But I would like to thank you for your commitment to let us know - this review will do good for the other guests.
Concerning the soup itself, I shall say majority is happy with that.
Your Captain,
Herkki Haldre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

While traveling during a convention in Tallinn we discovered the Kajsamoor through the Tallinn card. After doing several dinner cruises previously on other trips we were excited about a dinner cruise in the bay. Several of our group did not eat fish so we had emailed ahead of time to make sure there would be other options. We were told there would be plenty of food. The captain did speak several languages and went for twenty minutes of stories in Other languages and then got to our English side and spent maybe 5 minutes telling us stories. Then he announced dinner was ready. Dinner was simply fish soup in a hot dog container. Needless to say several did not eat. We did not go around the bay, instead we went back and forth in the same spot in the bay. We were so happy when it docked and we could get off. We had taken a taxi out to the boat and there was none to be found when we left so we walked back to town and straight to a restaurant to get dinner.

1  Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajsamoor G, Manager at Schooner Kajsamoor, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

This is unforgivable I have contributed only 5 mins to Tammy P and her friends... I feel terribly sorry and I'm sorry. As Tammy P indicated the lunch was served and this interrupted my presentation perhaps. And then there was a confusion with fish soup - I promise whatever happened - this will not happen anymore in the future for sure. From another hand - fishermen soup is something I can not alter. And according to the seamen treatise the one objecting the ships' cook will be disposed overboard.
Sincerely Your Captain.
Herkki Haldre, s/v Kajsamoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great boat and crew! Fantastic! Out trip was 5 days - Tallinn - Kotka (Finland) - Tallinn. During the trip we did stops for swimming, fishing and for just a little walk on the island we had on the way. The captain was very professional.

Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Kajsamoor also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing