We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow what a surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Entrecote Restaurant

Entrecote Restaurant
Ranked #654 of 902 Restaurants in Tallinn
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow what a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Brilliant. Interesting menu with some unusual twists. Excellently cooked and presented. Needs to be better promoted to attract more clientele but represents excellent value to money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed in the Merchant house in January and ate here the 1st night.

One of the best meals i have had in a long time!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simonpicik1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our Hotel restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

One meal with a fillet steak was superb but the entrecote steak was inedible. No comment from the staff or the chef for an uneaten meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jamespars0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Attractive setting, dreadful food, not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

This restaurant is underneath the Merchant's House Hotel and looks inviting. However, our food was dreadful. I had finished what I could manage of my meal before my partner had even had his food. The best desciption of the maincourse I can come up with is that it closely resembled Winalot. To be fair, the waitresses were delightful and very apologetic but the chef clearly could not cook, we could clearly hear him shouting at the waitresses and the manager was elusive when we tried to complain. People at several other tables were also unhappy with their food on the same evening. Best avoided.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilkins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

This is a review of the restaurant, not the hotel. Whilst the young waiting staff were diligent, attentive and helpful they were unfortunately the buffer to poor management and an appalling chef. Our food was an hour in coming and then arrived in dribs and drabs. The quality of the food ranged from inedible to bearable and the food was not to order. When we approached the waiting staff they were directed by the chef and management to placate us and offer us free coffee as recompense. There were 8 of us and it was not fair to expect the waiting staff to manage our complaint as they had not failed us. When we asked to speak with management we were told to come back the following day, which we did only to find that they were "not available". We took the decision to leave it as we did not want the issue to cloud our lovely time in Tallinn. The experience was not worth 138 euros. We also noticed that other diners were unhappy with their meals. Surprisingly, we were also told that the restaurant would find it difficult to cater for 8 people in one go and yet there were about 20 tables!

In essence, the waiting staff were lovely, but not paid to sort out these fundamental customer service problems of poor management and appalling cooking.

Helpful?
2 Thank Issy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Entrecote Restaurant also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Entrecote Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing