We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alessandro is great!”
Review of Il Gallo Nero

Il Gallo Nero
Ranked #14 of 944 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Originally a delishop for wines and hams that came through Raekoja plats, it was transformed into a wine bar and general store. After the 2008 flood the cellars were restored. Under an old ceiling, Swedish style, is now possible to eat in this suggestivs, 18th-century location. The furnishings, partially reconstructed with antique materials, re-create a typical wine bar atmosphere of Tuscany. Since 2006 the place has been run by the Giomi family who offer a traditional Tuscan menu, based in panini, antipasti, salads and a broad choice of wines.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
334 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Alessandro is great!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Alessandro is the waiter who has this typical italian "touch" that makes you feel like a long lost friend! Very tasty Mortadella, a little disappointed by the truffle steak but the tirami su made it all good again. Very nice wines by the bottle that you can also take home with a discount of 30%. Reservation beforehand is definitely needed as the Trattoria only has a few tables. Great Espresso - typical italian!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleksander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
754Marco, Direttore at Il Gallo Nero, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Aleksander22,
thank You to leave Your comment. Also from our Alessandro and Angelo (chef).
Probably, this comment is destinated not for Winebar (Osteria Il Gallo Nero) but for our Trattoria located Lai 32. In TripAdvisor, Trattoria is mentioned in different page.
Very soon we will be back with some news concerning fresh truffles. We are just waiting the proper season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    128
    29
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lublin, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best one”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

One of the best restaurant ever. Great soups especialy fishsoup.
Great service.
Tipical italian free starters.


Highly recomended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anetteso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the place to go for that special occasion, you wont be diapointed”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

all my friends come to this resto, for a quite meal for your family or a party, the food is tasty, and the resturant very clean, the service is great, and the price is resonable compared to other resturants. you have to call to reserve because most of the time it is full, that is another reason that tells you that the resturant is good

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony-cica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the wine”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We ordered a plate of cheeses and meats for a late ngiht meal which was lovely and generous. The atmosphere was great, as was the service and decor. Sadly when we got the bill, we saw for each small glass we had ordered (2), we had been charged 9 euros. We thought we were getting the house wine. I thought this was extortionate. The food was only 13 euros and much better value. The overpricing of the wine overshadowed our experience a bit unfortunately.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank superpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
754Marco, Proprietario at Il Gallo Nero, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Mr. Superpix,
thanks for Your comment and the compliments for food & atmosphere. Very pleasent.
Concerning the wine, our house wine is Chianti Docg for 3,9€ (or Rosso di Maremma).
With 9€, You are right, We start to open already important reds as Super Tuscany, Piemonte Riserva etc.
So, mean, Did You ask clearly House Wine (in menu) or glasses of good wine?
In our winebar all prices are exposed. Even late night, as it was.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Where's the beef? E 'qui!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This review is for the trattoria on Lai, not the osteria (wine bar) on Rataskaevu. First, come early (before six) or make reservations, as the trattoria doesn't have a lot of tables. If you are only in Tallinn for a few days, or a vegetarian, then the annoyance of not being able to find a genuinely excellent steak at a decent price won't be of much concern. However, for the expat medium-rare red meat carnivores, look no further. The wife had an excellent pasta dish and I had a petit beef filet in a truffle sauce that cut like a marshmallow and was accompanied by a fine glass of Amarone and roasted potatoes. I could mention how friendly and helpful the staff was, or how we thought the decor was spot on for a trattoria, or extol their great wine list ... but really, it was the excellent fare, thoughtfully prepared, that will bring us back to "The Black Rooster".

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank N0T-the-Momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Gallo Nero also viewed

 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Il Gallo Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing