We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful city”
Review of Tallinn City Tour

Tallinn City Tour
Ranked #13 of 66 Tours in Tallinn
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Did you know that every city has something that makes it special and unique? Especially a city with a long and impressive history like Tallinn. Tallinn City Tour Hop-On-Hop-Off London-style double-decker buses take tourists to several different routes through Tallinn. There is a Red Line covering the town center, Kadriorg and the Seaplane Harbour, a Greed Line connecting Pirita, the TV Tower and the Botanic Gardens, and a Blue Line that takes you to the Estonian Open Air Museum and to the Zoo. All three lines start from Viru Square, in the centre of the capital city, in front of the Viru souvenir market. Information for each location provided in 10 languages by Audio guide and rides can hop on and hop off at any stop. In high season from May to September our buses goes to ride every 20 minutes. If you're in Tallinn for the first time or you simply don't know where the museums are and how to get there, Tallinn City Tour Bus & Museum packages are an excellent solution. The Bus & Museum package gives you the opportunity to enjoy the sights of Tallinn from our comfortable double-decker buses. You can also visit the most memorable and interesting museums in Tallinn, which have something for everyone. The bus will take you close to the museums and sights, and pick you up from the same spot afterwards – your ticket is valid for a whole day! Bus & Museums package includes: * 24 or 48 hour Tallinn City Tour ticket, can be used on all three lines. * 2 museum tickets of your own choice (Seaplane Harbour, Open Air Museum, TV-Tover, Art Museum of Estonia Kumu). All our buses have free WiFi! • 1 ticket valid all day and for all 3 different lines • Every line takes 1 hour • Bus rotation is every 20 minutes • Tickets are valid for 1 or 2 days. • Beginning every day from the Tallinn Cruise Pier BOOK ONLINE, SAVE 10%!
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful city”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Beauty city with lovely environment, I surprise with the old building that bring me back to my fairy tales memory.
The old building is fabulous, the alley and street is full of lovely shop with good service.
There is no need to take an official tour as its really nice just to wander around on your own and take everything in, and this really a great place for photography.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mellisa_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityTourTallinn, Manager at Tallinn City Tour, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Mellisa_1988!
It is so nice that our city brought you back to your fairy tales memory. We can say with proud that our small Tallinn is a big fairy city with it´s long history, old suburb and beautiful Old Town. We are glad that you got so many impressions from Tallinn.
Best wishes, Tallinn City Tour team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    44
    24
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyne & Wear UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Beautiful City”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have visited Tallinn in the summer numerous times and in the winter it is a truly beautiful city, the old town is quite large and is fabulous. There are countless beautiful buildings and many quaint alleys and side streets all full of lovely shops and restaurants, bars etc and fabulous food. There is no need to take an official tour as its really nice just to wander around on your own and take everything in. The old town is traffic free and in the summer there are sometimes street entertainers and the restaurant staff are outside dressed in national costume. There is a vantage point which you can walk up to and look over the city there are also numerous pretty shops and restaurants up there and a beautiful church. Tour buses operate in the summer there are 3 different routes and you can buy one ticket for all of the routes which cost ar £20. The tours take you on the outskirts of Tallinn so I wouldn't recommend them if your only visiting for the day as they take you to places like the miles and miles of tower blocks which were constructed in the soviet rule and where people still live. The Port in Tallinn is only a 15 min walk form the old town, its has regular ferries to Helsinki which take around 3 hours and there are also lots of visiting cruise ships.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityTourTallinn, Manager at Tallinn City Tour, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Martherine!
Thank you for sharing your memories with us when visitig Tallinn.
Tallinn City Tour buses are the best way of meeting outskirts of Tallinn. Othervise you will not see the beautiful view from the TV-Tower (Tallinn City Tour green line) or Estonian Open Air Museum with our long history (Tallinn City Tour blue line). And don´t forget our newest attraction Seaplane Harbour, where Tallinn City Tour all 3 lines are taking you to the door.
Best wishes for next time, Tallinn City Tour team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you think Soviet then it's quite funny”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Estonia hasn't been a Soviet state for 20 years. Yet, if you take the Tallinn City Tour then you're transported back in time. I don't think they do it deliberately. I don't think they could do it so well if they DID do it deliberately.

Sit in the old bus. Put on the old headphones. Relax and listen to the recording of the proud narrator drawing your attention to buildings we'd campaign to pull down in our home country. 1960s tower blocks where "half the population of Tallinn sleep", a functional ferry port, a TV tower.

If you go into this expecting to see gems then you'll be disappointed. If you go into this wanting a glimpse of the glorious life of the common person in the Soviet Union then you're going to be entertained.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hamish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“The worst city tour of the lot!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We've done many of these tours around the world in various cities but this has to be the worst of them all!! Lets face it, there's not much to see in Tallinn so how can they spread it over 3 seperate tours that all duplicate the 'attractions'? Even in New York, there's only 2 routes!! Ropy old buses, one of which had no heating and steamed up so we couldn't see anything through the windows. Had to endure Russian tourists swilling lager in the seats behind us and talking loudly on mobile phones.....couldnt wait to get off! Give this one a miss and pay the 14euro each to a local taxi driver to show you the sights; much more comfortable and you'd do it in half the time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ahj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sight seeing in Tallinn”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There is really no need to go with an official, and usually expensive, formal tour of Tallinn as it is easy to get to from Helsinki as a day trip and the Old Town has more than enough of interest to see to fill a whole day walking. If you want to see further afield, the hop-on, hop-off buses are a good option as they show you how most Estonians live, rather than just those lucky enough to be able to afford a place in the Old Town, which is so beautiful and traffic-free. The emphasis on tourism means that the Old Town is vibrant and alive with tourist-pleasing sights and experiences, especially the restaurants, many of which have staff in national costume and feature fun dishes like roast bear. We were also entertained by a market in the square on the day we visited, with a fire-twirler and many interesting stalls. Just walking around and admiring the architecture, old and new, made it a great place to visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TimtamBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tallinn City Tour also viewed

 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Tallinn City Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing