We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Knight House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knight House
Ranked #4 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Pros -
• Safe were friendly and helpful. They let us in to the hostel well before check in as our ferry had arrived at 930am
• The Wifi is really good even in the rooms downstairs
• The beds were comfortable – but the pillows need replacing!!
• Place was clean and tidy – they make you take your shoes off and you can wear the slippers provided.
• Good value for money we paid £74 for two nights
• Breakfast is good – pancakes, cereal, coffee
• It’s not a party hostel
• Good self-cooking facilities
• It’s really close to everything and within easy walking distance to all the attractions.

Cons-
• Place is listed as a bed and breakfast – it’s not it’s a hostel. B & B’s have bathrooms in each room normally and full cooked breakfasts.
• The heating was on consistently and didn’t need to be – it was really warm over Easter.
• The room over looked the drive way and we were woken one morning with the rubbish men moving the bulk bin
• There is three showers and two loos – and one of the loos had a leak which has been there several months (I looked back at reviews)
• Rooms 3 & 4 are not the best double and twin rooms – 3 is by the front door which has a noisy door bell and 4 is kinda by the front door and noisy drive way (at times – not always)
• You can hear the noisy clubs if they were open quite easily
• The place is open 24/7 and it doesn’t need to be – it’s not a busy hostel/

I would recommend this place to travellers that want that one step up from a hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZKirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 234 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

A quirky, creative and friendly atmosphere.

We had a twin room which was very spacious and nicely decorated, though next to the front door (with thin walls) which was a bit noisy at times.

The breakfast was adequate with cereal, bread, jams and pancakes. Free tea's and coffee's was very nice. The kitchen is well equiped for making your own food as well. There isn't much room in the kitchen ans sitting area, which wasn't a problem for us as it was quite season but can imagine it gets a little squashed if busy.

It is very clean, helped by the request to remove shoes at main entrance, but slippers are available and it feels very cosy.

The location is great for staying in the old town, on a quiet street within walking distance of all the pretty sights.

Overall a nice, pleasant stay that was good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Knight House was cozy and much more like a bed and breakfast than a hostel! The location was right in the old city, the pancake breakfast was tasty, and the whole atmosphere was inviting. This is not a party hostel; just know that going into it. If you are a solo traveler hoping to meet tons of other travelers and party it up, then this hostel is not for you. I enjoyed having a quiet and calm place to go back to each night, so this hostel was perfect for me.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheninr0am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I visited Tallinn in December and stayed in Knight House with friends. I would definitely recommend the hostel to other travellers. The biggest plus is the fantastic location. The hostel is within the walls of the old town, and just a short walk away from the major attractions. It's only a 20 minute walk to the harbour as well, if you do a day trip/visit to Helsinki.

The hostel had 24 hour checkin, and even provided guests with slippers, which was great given the cold weather. The hostel was warm, cosy and well equipped, and the dorm we stayed in had lockers (if you bring your own locks) for the cupboards. There was a kitchen, where we were able to cook one night, and the hostel provides breakfast (including pancakes!), which was a definite bonus. There was also plenty of information on hand about Tallinn.

The only minor downsides to the hostel were the varying water pressure - sometimes the showers were cool (rather than hot) after several people had used them - and there was a slight lack of living space in the communal areas. However, I would certainly recommend Tallinn as a place to visit, and Knight House as a good value place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheArtfulBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Knight House was in a really great location, only a few minutes from the main square in Old Town and from Freedom Square. The hostel itself had a nice chill atmosphere. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. They also make fresh pancakes for breakfast in the morning! The facilities were freshly renovated and the WiFi was super fast. It was also the most comfortable bunk bed I have ever slept in! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crmsnprd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Tallinn is a cross point for many Scandinavian visitor's, Traveller's usually hop on to ferries from Helsinki, to fetch Cheap Liquor and Cigarettes mainly.

I found knight House 2km away from Central Bus station, But, What we mainly cared was it's close distance to main tourist attractions and being close to 20mins walking distance from the harbour, We were really amazed with hospitality of the staff and the amazing building, which is hundreds of years old,

We booked double bed room, with shared bathroom, If was spacious, comfort and ducking in the quilt felt great after sightseeing. The common kitchen is attached with Balcony. Receptionist were really kind and offer Pancakes for breakfast from 8am onwards, But if you happen to check out early let them know in advance as the desk is running 24-hours.

There is plenty of information to seek and exchange at the common area, as we were heading north and the visitors more down, we exchange our expeditions and learned more as what we are looking forward to.

I hope your enjoy your stay and say hello from us..

Cheers

TravelPunter

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RohitJoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hostel was perfect for a family trip with three teenagers; a bit hippy, "eco spirited", cosy atmosphere, in the center of the old town and with wifi connection. A very good option for people who dont require five stars service and still want to live in a tidy, cosy and beautiful hostel. One little minus for a noise at night from the street, but its not the hostels fault!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilliart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
The Monk's Bunk
The Monk's Bunk
#1 of 123 in Tallinn
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Old Town Alur
Hostel Old Town Alur
#2 of 123 in Tallinn
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tabinoya
Tabinoya
#1 of 44 in Tallinn
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Welcome Hostel
Welcome Hostel
#23 of 123 in Tallinn
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Emperor Bar and Hostel
0.4 mi away
Tallinn Backpackers
Tallinn Backpackers
#11 of 123 in Tallinn
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knight House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight House

Address: Rueuetli 18 | Old Town, Tallinn 10130, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range: $17 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With only 7 private rooms we are cozy, central, and full of character. The hostel occupies a house that is over 600 years old, and you walk out of the door into the centre of the Old Town. Newly renovated, we have a large common area with sociable balcony and BBQ grill for everyone to chill out. Free laundry, Free towels, Free WIFI, Free computer in lobby, Free filter coffee and tea, Free BBQ grill on terrace. Bikes to hire, Large rooms, Comfortable beds (no dorms or bunks), 3 separate toilets. The Knight House is in a UNESCO listed historic monument next to the Town Hall Square and the location is unique. The building is the former residence of the Knights of the Livonian order who ruled Tallinn in the 13th Century, also known as the Teutonic Brothers of the Sword. In the next door building is the former mint and medieval prison for Tallinn. We are directly beneath the Danish Garden, where legend has it the Danish Flag first fell to earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knight House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing