We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must see”

Patarei Sea Fortress Prison
Book In Advance
More Info
$166.24*
and up
Walking Tour of Tallinn Old Town and Kalamaja
Ranked #24 of 292 things to do in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Patarei fortress-prison is a culture park with rich history, providing various opportunities to spend your leisure time. Discover Patarei on a guided tour or organise your own event in Patarei with an option to order prison-catering for your event! Make your reservations via e-mail or over phone or register through our webpage. Check for more information under attractions! Culture Park Patarei presents the history of Patarei sea fortress-prison and also carries out various events throughout the year. Scheduled tours are available almost daily. Please sign up for a tour at our homepage. Please note: we regret to inform you that as per decision made by the Estonian State Real Estate Ltd., the Patarei fortress has been closed to public access.
Rajamäki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just follo the marked walking path and you will reach the patarei prison...the beach is also lovely!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mustikkainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    132
    46
    19
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“See this while you can”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

The best €3 I've spent in years. Pointless trying to describe this surreal experience - just do it. 15 mins walk from Tallinn old town centre. Half a dozen people there on hottest day of the year. Very moving. Photo opportunities are unbelievable. No restrictions on where you can go and what you can touch. Looks like a film set from Silent Hill but sadly it's a bit more sinister than this. Brilliant cafe on beach side of prison but within complex. Finished visit sitting on sun loungers looking out to sea drinking local cider behind razor wire. This will not be here forever. Redevelopment already being spoken of. One of the most impressive and thought provoking places I've ever been to!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A disappointing place to visit.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

I am not usually disappointed but this place managed to rise to the occasion. The prison is rundown (fair enough) but one would expect some signs giving information about the rooms/chambers etc in the place. There are none and there is no information about the place ie when it was in use, who was imprisoned etc, so why you are charged at all is beyond me.
Take a tip and avoid this place, as a bonus save 3 Euros.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very interesting visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Patarei prison is located a bit far from the city centre. The building is almost in ruins, dark and dirty. An old woman will sell you the tickets and will provide you with a torch (in the prison there is no electric light). Any way it worths a visit, especially if you like dirty rusty places (I do). Once you are here, you can really imagine how was life in a prison during the soviet era

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JB_CAT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Its there but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We took a walk around the groudns of the prison and found the bar and sunbathing area at the back that had great views over the harbour but did not find any signs that it was being maneged as a visit location. After an hour of finding our way around it we left and moved on to the Seaplane Harbour

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrianCowanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patarei Sea Fortress Prison also viewed

 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Patarei Sea Fortress Prison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing